AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2003, 09:49 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Check out my new WaterChill kit!

I wrote a review of this kit for Spode's Abode, but I will add a couple of pictures here as well. Go read the review here: http://www.spodesabode.com/content/article/waterchill

I am most pleased with this kit!
Attached Thumbnails
Check out my new WaterChill kit!-img2.jpg   Check out my new WaterChill kit!-img3.jpg   Check out my new WaterChill kit!-img16.jpg   Check out my new WaterChill kit!-img21.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2003, 11:20 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Allan, how does this system compare to your previous watercooling setup? Has it allowed for an increse to your OC?
I've read your review and see that you have the radiator outside the case, will it fit in the case or are the tubes too stiff?

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2003, 12:43 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

It is significantly better than my previous water cooling setup, and I have gained another 150 MHz in the overclocking department + I now have water cooling on both north bridge and video card too.

I am going to put the rad in the top of my case, which won't be a problem. I just need to borrow a dremel and cut a hole in the top of the chieftec.
No problemos, just need to find the time and the tools.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2003, 01:28 PM
warp1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 163
Send a message via MSN to warp1 Send a message via Yahoo to warp1

Help with my technical lingo

Remember that I'm still pretty new...... but I'am confused. Through the forum/guide reading I've been doing I thought water "chilled" signified that the water was cooled by some means below ambient temperature and water "cooled" was when the water was cooled by a standard, air to water, heat exchanger.

Other than my title confusion, the kit looks very well manufactured.

Nice job on the overclock!
__________________


XP2500+ @ 12.5*200(2.5Ghz), 1.95V, 12 degrees C while folding, ABIT NF7S ver 2.0, custom chilled water cooling with DangerDen Maze3, 512M PC3200 OC System RAM 6-3-3-2, Thermaltake 420W power supply, ASUS GF4 ti4200 (290/499), windows2k SP4
AOA Team fah

- You can tell how big a person is by what it takes to discourage him.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2003, 01:33 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I do think you have a good point here, and I understand your confusion. In this kit, the water isn't chilled with anything other than room temperature air...

I think I will push the OC a bit more pretty soon. 2400 MHz shouldn't be impossible...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2003, 01:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 34

I have also just purchased the Waterchill kit but only CPU at the moment, I have to remove the bottom shelf of my chieftec to put the Rad up against the front of the case. my idle temp is now only 2'C above ambient temp and max load is about 10'c above. I am very happy with the performance of the kit and the quality, the only down side is that the RAD is too big for most cases (with the 120mm fan attached) and you dont get a tool to remove the connections from the acrylic top to connect them to the smaller plate for my Epox 8Rda board (stupid Caps get in the way). I did rig a pipe outside and onto the Rad while it was cold a few nights ago and managed to get the idle down to 17'C

All in all a good bit of kit...
__________________
Barton 2500 333 @ 205 x 11 (2.26Ghz)
512 Twinmoss 3200 @ 412mhz DDR
Epox 8rda+3 V1.1
Gforce 4 4600TI deluxe 128mb @ 301/703
WaterChill CPU kit CPU/CASE Idle 32'C/28'C Load 40'C/29'C
120gig 7200 2mb cache
60 gig 7200 2mb cache
3dmark2001 - 13554marks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2003, 01:58 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Allan, would you say its worth buying the whole WaterChill kit or buying bits and peices from different manufacturers?

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2003, 02:53 PM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

at last ..

Hi all,

Well lol I posted a q about whether anyone had experience with the KT03 waterchill system , then allan goes one better with the KT120. I had my eye on one , it`s now in the post ( lol hopefully , what with the current postal strike ! )

Also got myself 2x256 Corsair TwinX PC4000 from a guy in the states for £113 incl postage ( ok , they`re second hand but as new cond)

Now to see how much further I can take my chip

LAz a lot of people advocate buying the individual parts to cut on cost, but as I`m a first timer re watercooling and wanted inter-part compatibility etc , I went for a kit . Instructions always help
__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2003, 02:56 PM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

noise ?

Hi,

Doogie , how did you find the noise of the 120mm Sunon @12v ?? Is it worth considering getting , say a Zalman 120mm for lower noise levels ?
__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2003, 05:38 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
Allan, would you say its worth buying the whole WaterChill kit or buying bits and peices from different manufacturers?
For the price, the WaterChill cannot be beaten IMHO. You can get better performing kits out there, but they are more expensive.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2003, 05:40 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neoprene
Hi,

Doogie , how did you find the noise of the 120mm Sunon @12v ?? Is it worth considering getting , say a Zalman 120mm for lower noise levels ?
How important is noise to you? At 7 V, the Sunon is ok. If noise if important to you, get something with fewer dB.. At 12V it is a bit too loud for me, but 7V is fine.

Good luck with your kit, m8! If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2003, 06:16 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
Allan, would you say its worth buying the whole WaterChill kit or buying bits and peices from different manufacturers?

Laz.
I don't know how much those water chill kit's cost but I just put my water kit back together (from over a year ago) and I'm pretty sure the prices "were" (at the time of purchase off the forums)

Block $25
Rad $20
Pump $30
Hose $2
Misc $15 (fan, hose clamps etc)

total $92

I just put it together yesterday and took some pix, I haven't had a chance to post yet but I will.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2003, 07:59 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

The WaterChill kit costs 2 times that, but you cannot really compare new vs. old prices. After a while you may be able to get a WaterChill for cheap, if you buy it used...

What waterblock do you use, rob?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2003, 04:52 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan
The WaterChill kit costs 2 times that, but you cannot really compare new vs. old prices. After a while you may be able to get a WaterChill for cheap, if you buy it used...

What waterblock do you use, rob?
I think it's a Maze something, it has a swirl pattern (from center out) and I got it from Spyder. He'd know exactly what it was I think?!?!

I "think" I took pix of it, if not I need to and post. Care if I borg your thread or should I make my own?!?!?! hahahah
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 8th November, 2003, 02:55 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Also Robbie the WaterChill kit has the GPU and NB water blocks included. In the UK they complete kits like Allan's are availale for about £200.

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 12:46 AM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

Waterchill experiences ..

Hi all ,

Well I got my new Asetek KT03 kit yesterday , and spent most of today assembling it. It took a while , as I had to completely rebuild the comp around it. I had an SLK 800U with a 92mm Zalman fan pushing 56 CFM before , so had to remove that from the mobo first which took a bit.

Instructions are pretty clear ..although there is nothing in the manual about the fact that on , for instance an ABIT NF-7S , the standard plastic overlay for the block wont fit due to some transistors. Hats off to Allan in his guide for mentioning this and saving me some time.

I guess I was pretty nervous about my first watercooling setup, visions of my system exploding with water damage. The kit is pretty foolproof tho !

I really didnt want to have any parts outside the case , so fitting it in a Lian Li PC65 case was a very tight fit. I managed to take off the grill box behind the case fans , moved the HD up, and lo and behold the Radiator just fitted .

Both the pump and reservoir are now also inside the case, I used very little tubing but enough. The manual says to use 1L of water..I found my sys was completely full at about 400mls !

At 12v the 120mm Sunon is pretty damn loud. Two issues arose for me ..1 power to the control unit is via a floppy style power supply ..so I had to use my floppy connection and hence now have no floppy drive !
2 the control unit does not seem to be working ..no fan power, but if I use a mobo connector with a Zalman voltage regulator it works just fine . Faulty control unit ??? I really dont want to have to send back the whole kit after spending 6 hours assembling it all !!

Finally noise and temps. At 7v idle I`m running 49.5 vs the SLK800u`s temps of about 51-52 ..these are figures with the CPU overclocked. But the Waterchill set @7v is a good deal quieter than the 92mm Zalman fan .

Overall seems fine at the moment , tho a bit pricey in the UK @ £148 .My cables have now managed to become a mess again so have to address that. Whether my gameplay/load temps are a significant improvement I `ll have to see. But it is quieter !!

Again , thanks to Allan whose giude on Spode`s Abode made things a lot easier .

__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)

Last edited by Neoprene; 10th November, 2003 at 12:54 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 01:45 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Front page stuff! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 03:18 AM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
Front page stuff! ":O}
Sheesh ! Lol well I just played BF1942 for an hour and temps made it to 52.5 .. a good 4-5 degrees C lower than with the SLK800U. My next plan is to put the Zalman 92mm in front of the radiator to increase air throughput, while I can vary the fan speed via the Lian Li front fan controller, and see if that helps .

I still keep looking down at the case waiting for sizzling circuits
__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)

Last edited by Neoprene; 10th November, 2003 at 03:23 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 05:02 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie
I think it's a Maze something, it has a swirl pattern (from center out) and I got it from Spyder. He'd know exactly what it was I think?!?!

I "think" I took pix of it, if not I need to and post. Care if I borg your thread or should I make my own?!?!?! hahahah
Rob
That was sigma's old block, a Gemni or something or other swirl block...

And I am afraid I dont agree with how you chose to review this. By placing the radiator outside the case, it is only cooled by the ambient air. This vs. it being inside a "normal" closed case is going to affect temperatures, and not give results a common user might achieve. (Ofcourse no one is going to try and perfectly recreate your setup and temps... lol)
Just something to think about...

other then that it looks to be a good kit...
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 10:02 PM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

Hi,

Well Spyder my temps are with the entire system contained within the case. Likely smaller tubing length and therefore less total water volume will somewhat reduce the cooling potential. I placed the 92mm Zalman in front of the radiator pulling air in ( at 7v , barely audible) , as well as the 120mm drawing air through it also . This dropped my temps to 46C @ idle on the overclocked system.

My only concern is that of system temps which have risen to 31c, due to increased heat from the radiator. Still, cant win `em all !!
__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asetek WaterChill Xternal BobRoss Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 21st June, 2006 02:22 AM
Locating a Waterchill in the US of A Exile69 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 0 12th August, 2005 10:51 PM
Asetek WaterChill Kit karbon86 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 10 27th August, 2004 04:45 AM
X800XT & Waterchill kit karbon86 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 6 4th August, 2004 07:15 PM
WaterChill kit? karbon86 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 17 24th June, 2004 09:13 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0