AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2004, 12:13 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Watercooling recommendations....

Ok I'm toying with the idea of dabbling in some watercooling. I'm looking at three possible "kits" to start off with.
1) Asetek KT03-L20
2) Asetek KT03A-L20
3) Mix and match: D-Tek LRWW waterblock, Hydor L30 pump, Thermochill HE120.1 radiator with 120mm silent fan., no res. Bits and pieces from here

You'll probably notice I've gone with a large capacity pump, this is incase I decide to get a NB and VGA waterblock in the future.

What would you recommend/suggest would be best?

Laz
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2004, 03:43 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Well the asetek Antartica matched with the rest of their old kit will without a doubt kick some @$$!

Hows your kit coming m8?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2004, 04:40 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

I'm stuck at work!!!! Cant wait to get home and set things up.
I received the VGA and Chipset waterblocks that they "missed out" this morning. Got the Distilled water yesterday, I've got a spare PSU to test it all with too!
Thanks for all the help Allan!

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2004, 07:40 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Be sure to put it all together first, and let it run outside the case to check for leaks for a while, before you actually install it. I haven't had any leaks, so I'm sure you want have either - but it never hurts to be on the safe side.

Btw, how does your reservoir look like? I think that is one of the things they changed from rev1 to rev2. That and the radiator...

Be sure to post pics when you have some ready!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2004, 08:40 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

hmmmmm....I've just assembled the Chipset and VGA waterblocks, (did yours come unassembled?) taken most of the bits out of my case to try and measure it all up before I cut pipes etc. I'm trying to fit everything in the case nice and tidy, but its difficult!
The res. looks just like yours. In fact the only difference between our kits looks like the radiator, mine is HUGE, im having trouble finding a home in the case for it.

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah

Last edited by Lazgoat; 3rd April, 2004 at 09:03 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2004, 10:33 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

All the waterblocks in my kit came assembled, but I had to change out the top on the CPU block to make it fit the NF7-S. This wasn't a problem though, as asetek supplies two different tops/lids, and changing between them only takes a minute.

Sorry to hear about your problems though. Talk about a bad reseller... at least the price was right!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2004, 10:34 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

My rad seems pretty big too, I still haven't found a permanent spot for it in my case. Doesn't matter though, I normally don't have the side on the case anyways.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2004, 10:08 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

I had this same kit a while back although I think theve improve the connection to the radiator now as thats where I sprung a leak, luckily for me the rad was outside the case ..... I looking at one of these at the moment

http://www.thermaltake.com/coolers/aquarius/a1681.htm
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2004, 03:12 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Well, I've had to accept that this case, Tt Xaser II, just isn't big enough! I've seen W/C setups in similar cases but they were modded to fit the Rad and I didn't want to cut huge holes in it just yet.

So, I took out the lower HDD cage and the lower fan cage, and drilled out the rivets that hold the tray it sits on. The HDD now sits in the next cage up, where the floppy cage is/used to be. Who uses floppy now regularly?
I dont have the guts to cut a hole in the front of the case for the Rad. There is good ventillation anyway and I've drilled more holes as well.
It all loots like it will fit nicely. I've made some Aluminium "elbows" that attach the Rad to the front of the case and its slightly raised off the bottom so I can put in some rubber matting to stop fan vibrations.
I'll post pics later when I figure out how to work it!

Later,

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for DVD burner recommendations! TrevorS General Hardware Discussion 12 6th May, 2006 05:51 AM
Need memory recommendations... Lazgoat General Hardware Discussion 8 27th July, 2005 09:25 AM
HS/F recommendations? Logan Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 1 18th August, 2004 06:59 PM
PSU recommendations please :) Random Nonsense General Hardware Discussion 17 21st January, 2003 01:36 AM
Switch recommendations Rackne Mobile Devices and Networking 19 9th September, 2002 02:32 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0