AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2002, 02:53 PM
nullCRC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 270

Are these temps ok?

Greets everyone.

I run a 8KHA+ (2116bios), 1600XP, 512 ram, and a Volcano 6cu. In W2K, running RC5 at a priority of 1, my CPU temps are steady at 46-47C. Is this normal, good, bad? The case is a Enlight EN-7237AZ, and I have a fan exhausting right below the PSU. I am getting these temps using the Epox temp monitoring software.
__________________
Press ALT+F4 to learn more

"If you can't make it good, make it look good." - Bill Gates, 1995

Defeat Autism Now!
Athalon XP 1600
Epox EP-8KHA+
Thermaltake Volcano 6cu
512MB Crucial DDR PC2100
Enlight EN-7237 AZ MT Case
Gainward GF3 Ti200 64MB Power Pack Golden Sample
Adaptec 2940UW
Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB SCSI
HP 9200i SCSI CDRW
Sony 50X IDE CDROM
Iomega 100 Internal Zip SCSI
Sony CPD-E500 21" Trinitron
NetGear RP114
RatPadz mousing surface
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2002, 03:37 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

For an Athlon that's damn good.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2002, 03:50 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Sounds about right. For reference, my 1600+ runs @1542 folding and is in the 41-43c range. What's your case & ambient temp?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2002, 03:52 PM
nullCRC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 270

Case temp is roughly 80F. Ambient outside is 70F. I think I need to put a intake fan on the front of the case as well.
__________________
Press ALT+F4 to learn more

"If you can't make it good, make it look good." - Bill Gates, 1995

Defeat Autism Now!
Athalon XP 1600
Epox EP-8KHA+
Thermaltake Volcano 6cu
512MB Crucial DDR PC2100
Enlight EN-7237 AZ MT Case
Gainward GF3 Ti200 64MB Power Pack Golden Sample
Adaptec 2940UW
Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB SCSI
HP 9200i SCSI CDRW
Sony 50X IDE CDROM
Iomega 100 Internal Zip SCSI
Sony CPD-E500 21" Trinitron
NetGear RP114
RatPadz mousing surface
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2002, 04:12 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by nullCRC
Case temp is roughly 80F. Ambient outside is 70F. I think I need to put a intake fan on the front of the case as well.
That will definitely help. Also, taking off the side panel will indicate the cooling potential of your setup.
My case has 2 fans blowing out of the PSU, 2 more under the PSU, and 2 blowing in from the front bottom. 5 are 8cm, 1 is 9cm.

All fans are quiet but the PSU, dang.. Shutting 4 fans down make no change in noise at all since this dang PSU is so loud.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2002, 04:24 PM
nullCRC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 270

The odd thing is that the Volcano 6cu is rated to be a 4500rpm fan, yet in BIOS bootup it says it's spinning at about 5,100rpm. So it's a bit louder than the advertised 30-31db.
__________________
Press ALT+F4 to learn more

"If you can't make it good, make it look good." - Bill Gates, 1995

Defeat Autism Now!
Athalon XP 1600
Epox EP-8KHA+
Thermaltake Volcano 6cu
512MB Crucial DDR PC2100
Enlight EN-7237 AZ MT Case
Gainward GF3 Ti200 64MB Power Pack Golden Sample
Adaptec 2940UW
Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB SCSI
HP 9200i SCSI CDRW
Sony 50X IDE CDROM
Iomega 100 Internal Zip SCSI
Sony CPD-E500 21" Trinitron
NetGear RP114
RatPadz mousing surface

Last edited by nullCRC; 22nd January, 2002 at 08:26 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2002, 07:23 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

My Xp-1600 is running at 38*c idle and about 44*c load.
1.85v at Xp-2000 (1673mhz) with taisol760 cooling and no case.

This taisol only cost me £14, it kicks ass
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th January, 2002, 03:36 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

As long as the system is stable at the speed you want to run it at then those temps are fine . . . .

The CPU would have to be in the 80-90C range to actually fry . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2002, 07:01 AM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

my athlon xp overclocked to 1540 runs at about 37-39 with full load and at about 30-34 at idle/boot-up....lol....this is with the retail fan that came with my Athlon XP 1600+ retain CPU box....whatcha think bout that, lol, and I'm think bout gettin another fan that should cool it even more, lol, anywayz, just wanted to throw that in there, ttyl
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2002, 07:03 AM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

oh yeah, I meant to mention the choice of fans I'm considering....tell me what u guys think

Thermaltake A1135 Dragon Orb 3+ Copper Base 7000RPM
Thermaltake A1139 Volcano 6CU Copper Base 7000RPM

Which would u guys consider??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2002, 10:06 AM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Unless you have infinite confidence in the strength and durability of the Athlon core, you might want to put the Dragon Orb to the bottom of the list.
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2002, 12:52 PM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

well, would it be the better HSF if I also bout a shim for it to go in between the CPU and HSF?? Or is the Volcano the better overall choice??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2002, 12:41 AM
Jazz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 1,105
Send a message via ICQ to Jazz Send a message via AIM to Jazz

Err avoid the dragon orb on my athlon 1.33 it kept my cpu at a toasty 70c but when i switched to a swiftech mc462 it droped to 42, both temps were idle.
__________________
AOA Team fah
"Remember there is a time to pray and there is a time to fight, anything can be a weapon if you are holding it right "
Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
"Folding protiens and taking names"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2002, 05:23 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Im a huge fan of the taisol 760 myself.

Im now running a XP-1700 @ 1436 (memory stability testing at 169fsb)

Running foldin@home load temperature on 8kha+ is only 34*

With the chip at 166x10 1.85v the load temp goes to 43.

Thats running a YS-tech 60mm fan.
A bit noisy for my liking so ive turned my speakers up
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2002, 08:30 PM
nullCRC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 270

Quote:
Originally posted by CNUCompGuy
my athlon xp overclocked to 1540 runs at about 37-39 with full load and at about 30-34 at idle/boot-up....lol....this is with the retail fan that came with my Athlon XP 1600+ retain CPU box....whatcha think bout that, lol, and I'm think bout gettin another fan that should cool it even more, lol, anywayz, just wanted to throw that in there, ttyl
I am thinking that cannot be an accurate temp reading. Is that from the little diode that is inside the socket area, or what? I am not familiar with your motherboard. I would say no as when I put that same retail HSF that came with my XP1600, it was quite a bit warmer, but I don't recall the temps.
__________________
Press ALT+F4 to learn more

"If you can't make it good, make it look good." - Bill Gates, 1995

Defeat Autism Now!
Athalon XP 1600
Epox EP-8KHA+
Thermaltake Volcano 6cu
512MB Crucial DDR PC2100
Enlight EN-7237 AZ MT Case
Gainward GF3 Ti200 64MB Power Pack Golden Sample
Adaptec 2940UW
Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB SCSI
HP 9200i SCSI CDRW
Sony 50X IDE CDROM
Iomega 100 Internal Zip SCSI
Sony CPD-E500 21" Trinitron
NetGear RP114
RatPadz mousing surface
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2002, 09:37 PM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

yes, that reading is from the sensor that touches the core of the CPU. I will take the CPU off today, just to make sure that it is in fact touching the CPU and not just reading the heat that the CPU let's off....ttyl
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2002, 09:45 PM
-oden-'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Orlando, Fl.
Posts: 103
Send a message via ICQ to -oden- Send a message via AIM to -oden-

Another thing that works really well for the onboard thermistor is putting a tiny dab of Arctic Silver on the diode, then bending it up to make sure it comes in full contact with the bottom of the CPU. Mine has so much pressure, when I drop the chip in place, it doesn't seat all the way, I have to push it down, then seat it. It gives you the best readings possible from the onboard sensor imo. Just a tip
__________________
whats this brown goo oozing out of my processor?

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2002, 10:02 PM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

Ok, null, I checked it last night and the sensor was not on it completely, my temps are a little less than double that with the retail HSF, it's about 62-66 with full load, but that will change shortly, lol, getting new HSF and gonna get some Arctic Silver 2, rather than the crap that's on this HSF, lol.....anyways, I'll let u guys know how things come along.....BTW, I just bought the Logitech Z-340 speakers and they rock....I had to turn the bass all the way down because it thumps too hard for my picky neighbors, lol, damn townhouses, lol, and when the bass is all the way up it rocks cuz it's still crystal clear....I also bought an ACER 24x10x40 CDRW, so I'll let ya know how well it is, and the last thing I bought was a 60.0GB 7200 Western Digital hard drive....hopefully not a dud, but we'll see, ttyl
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my temps RON JEREMY Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 5 4th October, 2005 11:32 AM
temps WonderBread General Hardware Discussion 11 11th April, 2005 05:59 PM
Do temps tend to go up over time or is it the warm weather causing high temps? mookydooky AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 15th November, 2003 06:56 PM
How are these temps ffactoryxx AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 22nd August, 2003 08:18 AM
Temps Draqo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 12 6th June, 2003 10:01 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0