AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2002, 02:19 AM
Jazz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 1,105
Send a message via ICQ to Jazz Send a message via AIM to Jazz

that makes it a bit more dificult.... let me do some figureing
__________________
AOA Team fah
"Remember there is a time to pray and there is a time to fight, anything can be a weapon if you are holding it right "
Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
"Folding protiens and taking names"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2002, 10:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 146

I feel left out.... I never use filters and my comp has been running for atleast 4 months without a cleanout and it looks just as clean and tidy as the day i put it together (hardly any dust) Although i only have about 15cfm throught the entire system.....


My sisters comp (thats what she calls it,,,, I call it my server) has 2 delta68cfm 80s, one intake, one exhaust, and another on the cpu hs... Its been running for around 3 months and still no dust.
I wonder why? we dont have any animals in the house, but i still dont understand why there is so little dust in the atmosphere..
__________________
Dave - Spode's Abode

Dogs can never have too much fun! See Marge, Weee, weee, woo! wayhey! weeeeeeeee!!! -Homer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2002, 11:53 AM
kplonk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 101
Send a message via ICQ to kplonk

You must be very clean how new is the room where the copm is located. I have no problem in my case, as all it has is one 80mm fan in the psu, my problem is with my rads any dust on the fins acts like an insulator and reduces my efficiency so I need to crack this on the new rig.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2002, 06:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 146

House is about 70 years old..... the carpet is about 8 years old.... vacuumed once a week ish...

I wouldnt say its particurlarly clean, I'm a bit of a slob to be honest.. Im thinking it may be due to the cold damp climate round here?
__________________
Dave - Spode's Abode

Dogs can never have too much fun! See Marge, Weee, weee, woo! wayhey! weeeeeeeee!!! -Homer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2002, 09:12 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I wish that the cold and damp climate of Seattle kept dust out of my boxes. This shouldn't be a dusty place, but it is. Granted, I'm not Johnny Homemaker, but we have a lot of dust. I dunno where it comes from, there are no alkali flats or dry lake beds within ~75 miles.

Perhaps the prevailing Westerly wind brings it in from Japan, China, or Mongolia?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2002, 09:46 PM
kplonk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 101
Send a message via ICQ to kplonk

Yer some times it really makes you think, where can all this come from, but remember that a lot of it is dead bits of you
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2002, 11:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 146

I've just realised how to avoid intake filters altogether! seal your house up, and wear a plastic suit all the time.. GENIOUS! PURE GENIOUS!
__________________
Dave - Spode's Abode

Dogs can never have too much fun! See Marge, Weee, weee, woo! wayhey! weeeeeeeee!!! -Homer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2002, 11:59 PM
kplonk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 101
Send a message via ICQ to kplonk

yer sweet, where can i read about how to do this
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2002, 12:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 146

I know, I'll make a tutorial for spodesabode, could be funny!
Now I;'ve finally picked my digicam back up from my grammas (although i did leave the Driver CD.. doh) I can actually do some content!!
__________________
Dave - Spode's Abode

Dogs can never have too much fun! See Marge, Weee, weee, woo! wayhey! weeeeeeeee!!! -Homer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2002, 12:13 AM
kplonk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 101
Send a message via ICQ to kplonk

you could also put a positive pressure in the house to ensure that no dust can creep in any cracks that should appear.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2002, 12:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 146

Hell yeah...
One problem tho.... U;d have to have an intake filter on yer house!
__________________
Dave - Spode's Abode

Dogs can never have too much fun! See Marge, Weee, weee, woo! wayhey! weeeeeeeee!!! -Homer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2002, 12:23 AM
kplonk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 101
Send a message via ICQ to kplonk

Thought of that, I say you get a really long duct and run it to space, then add a supper powerful fan that can compress pure energy form outer space into matter that is 100% clean (whatever that means) and then pass it down the duct to pressure rise your house.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2002, 12:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 146

Phew,,, its lucky that i have such the contraption in my bits box.. i think its called a "Delta38"??? I stopped using long ago when it tried to eat my finger
__________________
Dave - Spode's Abode

Dogs can never have too much fun! See Marge, Weee, weee, woo! wayhey! weeeeeeeee!!! -Homer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2002, 06:32 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

ya know I was toying with the idea of using an old Fabric sheet. ya know the kind that you use in the drier. It's thin enough and it will keep your case smelling nice and April fresh.

Or some scotch brite might work too. Not as thin.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2002, 07:05 AM
Ploaf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 130
Send a message via ICQ to Ploaf Send a message via AIM to Ploaf Send a message via Yahoo to Ploaf

I'm just using a cheap fiberglass furnace filter that I cut to fit. It seems to do the job and hardly costs anything. It fits perfectly into the front of the antec sx1030
__________________
Folding on a pencil and paper
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2002, 08:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Uptown, MN
Posts: 55
Send a message via ICQ to SickBoy Send a message via AIM to SickBoy

I got those little black plastic thingys that sandwich a piece of foam and screw on to a 80MM fan. I've got one on my only fully exposed intake fan and it works pretty well.

If you get filters on your intakes and run a slightly positive case pressure you should never have to clean the inside of the box.

SB
__________________
Member #100

Abit KT7A-Raid----TBird 1 GHz@1333------Alpha PAL8045--------1.8v
MSI K7D Master---2x Duron 1.2@1320-----Glaciator II and SK6----1.75V
Asus A7N266-VM-----XP 1800+----SVC GC12----1.75V

"People want to know what I'm on. What am I on?!? I'm on my bike, six hours a day."

-Lance Armstrong, cancer survivor, father, and four-time Tour de France champion
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2002, 08:58 PM
kplonk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 101
Send a message via ICQ to kplonk

Quote:
Originally posted by SickBoy
I got those little black plastic thingys that sandwich a piece of foam and screw on to a 80MM fan. I've got one on my only fully exposed intake fan and it works pretty well.

If you get filters on your intakes and run a slightly positive case pressure you should never have to clean the inside of the box.

SB
I don’t see how this can be done, as there is dust in the air that the fans suck into the case to create the positive pressure in your case, did I miss the point??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2002, 11:00 PM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by SickBoy
I got those little black plastic thingys that sandwich a piece of foam and screw on to a 80MM fan. I've got one on my only fully exposed intake fan and it works pretty well.

If you get filters on your intakes and run a slightly positive case pressure you should never have to clean the inside of the box.

SB
Quote:
Originally posted by kplonk


I don’t see how this can be done, as there is dust in the air that the fans suck into the case to create the positive pressure in your case, did I miss the point??
Quote:
Originally posted by SickBoy
...filters on your intakes...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2002, 02:47 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

If I remember correctly, ScotchBrite pads are Dr SurlyJoe tested and approved. Running a slight overpressure(more intake than exhaust cfm) might help keep the dust devils out of ye boxen.

The anti-static/Springtime Fresh sheets that are used in clothes driers work just fine. They should be used in a drier first. Unused ones are a little too "fresh." And probably make the intake fan work too hard, too. They filter out finer particles than used one's do, but PC fans are not designed to work under load.

The hassle with drier sheets is that they must be replaced after 6 days--your mileage may vary. Taping them in place is a bit of APITA. I ponied up the dough for the thin foam ones. Rinse, wait for them to dry, then replace. If you put them into a "sandwich" of paper towels and press them dry three times it doesn't take long before they're free of tiny water droplets. Or live dangerously.

The cut-up house VAC filters sound excellent. I'll try 'em sometime.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2002, 09:45 AM
patti ~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Skirts of Seattle. SW exposure
Posts: 431

We have "particular-ly" serious issues in our home. The cats and I like to drag crap in from the yard constantly. The birds fluff off their down plus a lot of super-fine talc-like dander. Daniel smokes so we ALWAYS have windows open and circulating fans running. The old forced-air furnace ducts haven't been cleaned in about 6 years, but I do keep little washable Scotch-Brite type filters in each floor vent and change out the big one often. We MAY get around to vacuuming, dusting and mopping once a month or so.

Our office is actually in a hall, open to the rest of the tiny house. My case HAS to sit on the floor next to the return air grate. Guess you could say that 'puter serves as a nice pre-filter for the furnace. It catches just about EVERY kind of thing!

As far as intake fan filters go, if something thin with with low resistance is required, various parts of pantyhose or tights work well. Available in many colors if appearance matters. Hit the 2nd hand shops for super bargains! If you're looking for something special, check out yardage at a big fabric/craft outlet.

If you have enough inside clearance or are mounting outside of the
case, an embroidery hoop can make a quick frame for stretching fabric. Most are about 1/2" thick, available in very small to very large sizes, round and oval. (Suggest plastic rather than metal or wooden ones for quickest wash and dry.) Again, check the 2nd hand shops, then the craft store if you must. Stretch your fabric, then trim or tuck and attach with Velcro spots or ?

BTW: Recycled dryer cloths & Scotch-Brite pads - !!! SCHMART!!!
__________________
"Just do what you're told." DKE
"Submit. SUBMIT!" DKE
LOL

patti ~

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air-intake! intense Case Modifications 16 1st October, 2005 04:28 PM
CPU Fan Side Intake Duct RussianMissile1 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 12 18th October, 2003 10:38 PM
new rundll.exe crash? photoshop filters phenonamus CRASHED! 0 8th September, 2003 04:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0