AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2004, 10:19 AM
nki69c's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Where all the vegietables grow in California
Posts: 136

Peltier Cooling

I was wondering if anyone had any experience with peltier coolers. I am thinking about making one work with my watercooling just to see what it can do. All of the ones that I have seen have bare leads so that you have to connect it yourself. The recommended way of putting it through your 12v rail doesn't deliver the max voltage nor amperage that the pelt needs to run at max. Is there a way to get around this while still having the pelt connected through the PSU? Or do I need to connect it to a seperate power unit that delivers the right amount of regulated power?
__________________
2600+Mobile@12x200, NF7-S v.2, 2x256MB PC3200, Sapphire 9800XT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2004, 12:48 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

For a high power peltier, a seperate power supply is really a must. Ensure that your peltier is more than capable of cooling your heat load, otherwise you'll kill things quickly!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2004, 02:28 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Make sure you cool the Peltier aswell.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2004, 09:19 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

how about those kits that dd sells with thier maze4s? what powersupply can that run off of?
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2004, 09:46 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

The Peltier TECs that DD sell are all between 15 and 24.6V. The only power supply they seem to offer puts out 12V.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 02:39 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

This would make an excellent PSU for a 15v high wattage TEC.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 04:35 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

thermaltake has a peltier/hsf combo that uses a pci card that has a power outlet to plug ionto the wall for power...a secondary source is abosolutley nessecary. the draw on your psu with a pelt wold affect your psu way too much for your system to be stable.
as well..i don't know if ANY psu would give you what you are asking for...unless you maybe make an inverter?!?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 09:07 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I seem to remember that the thermaltake system didn't do a wonderful job of cooling. As Cadaveca says, a peltier TEC will put a heavy load on any PSU, to the point where many PSUs will give up. The largest TEC I've seen is about 230W or so, but requires nearly 370W of power to run. If you have a 500W PSU, then that leaves the rest of your machine with 135W to run on - rather short, especially as you'll want to overclock

It is possible to modify a PC PSU to provide what you're after, but it's a fair bit of butchering to do so, as you're effectively redesigning the output side of the PSU. Peltiers were better when CPUs didn't kick out so much heat, but now they're rather unwieldy items to put in place. Phase change can handle the heat far better!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 10:05 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

what about the aux line that noone uses...what's up with that?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 02:41 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Which aux line do you mean?
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 03:31 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

you know.. the orange connector that noone uses...flat connector...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 04:06 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Not really much use for Peltiers. It's just connected to the same places in the PSU as all the other connectors, so loading the peltier up on it is the same as putting it on a molex.

I think there might be one or two negative voltages on it too, putting a peltier on those would be a fast way to kill the PSU!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2004, 07:33 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

i used to pelt cool my vid card using freezing watta but i stay with the good'ol phase change, no pelts...


frost kept getting bigga and bigga and starts to pushing over the caps around the socket and even the NB heatsink....



http://portfolio.iu.edu/skrska/phase_change/1.JPG





http://portfolio.iu.edu/skrska/phase_change/3.JPG





http://portfolio.iu.edu/skrska/phase_change/6.JPG





http://portfolio.iu.edu/skrska/phase_change/7.JPG
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 24th September, 2004 at 07:18 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2004, 08:22 AM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

you let that thing grow in your house? how wet is everything when the power goes out
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2004, 04:23 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

water gets collected in the tray underneath the case.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2004, 08:09 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Roflmfao!
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2004, 08:10 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Roflmfao!
What is wrong?
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2004, 09:05 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

normally you would have the block and hose insulated to prevent from frosting and condensating but i haven't bothered with it. Part of it is to show you the frost.

with it all insulated it takes more work to get the block off and reinstall for whatever reasons.. i just leave it not insulated for now..
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 24th September, 2004 at 09:19 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2004, 03:24 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

you might short your motherboard
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2004, 05:22 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkerhead
you might short your motherboard
nope...
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help needed thermal electric, tec ,peltier cooling gordon996 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 15 15th May, 2006 08:04 PM
Peltier questions jrwaggs Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 2 30th November, 2005 10:29 AM
Use a peltier to chill air ?? Cacker Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 29 25th August, 2003 07:19 AM
what's a peltier? barneygumble742 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 23rd July, 2003 11:20 PM
Peltier chris4521 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 19 4th April, 2003 12:14 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0