AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 26th January, 2002, 02:16 AM

Question 51c is this too hot???

Hello everyone. I'm glad I found this forum, its very informative and contains very useful information about my epox 8kha+ mobo.
I'm very happy with my motherboard but i do have a question.

These are my current specs..

AMD XP 1800 @1533mhz default.
EPOX 8KHA+ bios 1/08/2002
512 mb pc2100 ddr ram

I have a cooler master 6I31 A heatsink with fan.
According to my mobos temp
my cpu runs @ 51c
my system temp is 89f
room temp is 66f

I was wondering if my cpu is too hot?
My system seems to run fine but I'm a bit worried about these temps, especially when I see other users with my same processor posting temps of 38c 40c

I'm thinking about getting a Dynatron DC1206 BM-L

Thanks for any replies.
Old 26th January, 2002, 04:16 AM
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion

If that's idle, that's a little high.
If that's under load, it's acceptable. I have yet to see a coolermaster do a good job. The only one I've seen came from a friend's system, and it was no better than the retail HSF. (I don't remember the model.)

You have a cool room temp, and your system temp seems high. Are you using any case fans? A 23 degree F difference gives you a lot of room to work with. Getting better airflow through your case will go a long way to getting your CPU temps down as well. Minimum, you should have 1 fan in and 1 fan blowing out.

BTW, getting a good HSF may help a little, but if the inside of the case is hot, the HSF potential cooling is not going to be good.
Old 26th January, 2002, 04:42 AM

Yeah I have an extra fan blowing the air outta my case and I also have a fan in the front blowing air in. The tower is roomy so air definetly travels.