AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th July, 2004, 05:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 4

NewCastle Temps

Hey guys, I just got a new NewCastle cpu 3200+. I use to have a 3200+ Clawhammer that only overclocked to 2.4ghz max and that wasn't very stable so I decided to go the newcastle route.

However my temps seemed to have changed a lot. The clawhammer I use to run ran at full load with 1.75volts at 38-40c with water cooling and an ambient temperature of 30c.

The newcastle however runs at full load of 50C with an ambient temperature of 30c. Same voltage on both cpus. Same cooling. I've redone the contact between the NewCastle and my TDX Block numerous times. The temps however remain the same.

The clawhammer was ran at 2.4ghz and the newcastle runs at 2.6ghz to match the clawhammer performance.

The only difference between chip installations is that with the clawhammer I ran it on Stock Cooler for 2 days and the TIM on it completely melted on it. With the newcastle however I just ran it with AS5 and never touched the Stock cooler.

If anyone has any suggestions on how to lower my temps it would be greatly appreciated. I can not afford a phase change system tho. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th August, 2004, 01:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 3

I am in the same situation??? Can't get these temps down!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th August, 2004, 09:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 57

I wouldn't worry about those temps. The fry temp is 75 degrees and I've seen AMD cpu's running at 95 degrees. My friends runs stable at 85 degrees although I bet it will fry soon. As long as your CPU is stable at those temps it's fine.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A64 3500 NewCastle, Free BobyJo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 14th October, 2005 05:26 PM
Help! Anyone! please. amd3500+newcastle MeT_Badger AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 25th August, 2005 12:31 AM
Winchester or Newcastle? RichardF 64 Bit computing 15 15th March, 2005 10:34 PM
Fun with a 8KDA3J and an A64 3200+ NewCastle... Jeff F. EPoX MotherBoards 6 11th July, 2004 09:39 PM
Do temps tend to go up over time or is it the warm weather causing high temps? mookydooky AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 15th November, 2003 06:56 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0