AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2004, 04:38 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

Water cooling

ok so... this is a pretty basic question, but having had nowt to do with watercooling, other than oooo'ing and ahhh'ing at its greatness... i dont know much about applying it. Can u use it with any board/processor? or do you need specific boards/processor's?
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2004, 04:55 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Some waterblocks require that you have mounting holes in the mobo around the CPU, others don't. So similar situation to air coolers.

In general it is possible to cool any CPU on almost any mobo. Some blocks and kits come with mounting brackets for every type of Intel and AMD CPU, with others different brackets can be bought separately.

There's two types of water cooling. The most common and cheapest type is a simple rad and fan set-up, the other type uses some form of refrigeration to give much lower temps.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2004, 04:55 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Pretty much any system you care to mention. The principles behind it are the same regardless of the type of system.

All you need to make sure is you you have the correct type of waterblock for the type of cpu you have. Even thats more to do with the method of securing the waterblock to the motherboard. Most manufacturers cater for all the AMD and Pentium options

So, you thinking of getting your feet wet?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2004, 04:58 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

I am considering it. how does the noise compare with that of fans? cos noise of fans does annoy me!
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2004, 05:07 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Fans or at least one fan is needed. But if you w/c all your components you can ditch all those case fans.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2004, 05:14 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

which components would i need to WC tog et rid of fans? CPU, GFX...?
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2004, 05:18 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Well depends on what your doing, personally ive kept all my case fans due to the fact my new card aint got the waterblock on, but ive seen people with just two 120mm fans which if you get quality ones that spin slow are fairly quite, with a decent setup youll find your PSU is probably the loudest thing.

Edit: oh and if you do go watercooling, its worth getting a quality one, not the likes of a globelwin thingy!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2004, 05:23 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

just now on my main rig i think i got 4 fans. PSU, CPU, GFX and 1 case fan, makes hellaracket

edit in response to razorfish's edit: quality all the time matey (not always higher prices though )
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2004, 05:24 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Certainly the CPU and GFX would need to be w/c. It would be a good idea to w/c the NB as well.

You can still achieve air flow through the case with w/c by positioning an internal rad on the case fan holes. The rads fan will draw air into the case. Also, the PSU fan will blow air out.

I use an external w/c unit which is normally very quiet even though it has 3 fans on the rad. 99% of the time they spin slowy with a low noise level.

What do you want the most? Low noise or low temps for overclocking?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2004, 05:31 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

What be the NB? (have pondered this for a while, all i can think of is mother board, with a typo)

for just now i think would like to achieve low noise levels, potentially going towards OC'ing
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2004, 05:34 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

NB is the NorthBridge chip, i.e. nForce2, etc. on the mobo near the CPU.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2004, 05:36 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toro
for just now i think would like to achieve low noise levels, potentially going towards OC'ing
It is possible to buy a totally noiseless w/c unit such as the Zalman Reserator. It has no fans. It may not be so good for o/cing.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2004, 05:41 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

ah right so. i know the chip you mean. usually has a fairly sizable heak sink innit?

as for overclocking... never done it before... so want to be sure i think i know what im doing with it first
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2004, 06:07 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Danroks system is a shining example of a properly thought out watercooling system, but i feel it my duty as a Asetek fan and customer to introduce you to the Asetek Waterchill systems, they have great write ups and an amazing after sales team to sort out problem should they arise,they are so easy to set up with push fittings, great beginners kit! cost is an issue but quality assured!

Check out www.asetek.com and browse the forum, i think youll be impressed,

but each to their own, i totally admit that there are some amazing systems out there but do your research!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD - Water cooling madmoe Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 17 17th September, 2004 09:00 AM
Will water cooling be better than air cooling (PLEASE READ) Blackmyst Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 34 17th August, 2003 01:42 AM
Water Cooling - Cooling Agents? bradmax57 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 5 18th July, 2003 05:58 PM
My Water Cooling System and White Water EluSiOn Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 6 4th February, 2003 04:47 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0