AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 12:25 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

AMD - Water cooling

ok guys im planning on upgrading in the long run to better CPU and Mobo etc, but i want rid of noise first, hehe, ive seen a good kit on tekheads (the cheapest one cuz im a student) anyone got any similar, i need it to cool CPU only as the rest of things i have fans for that arent a million decibels :P

thanks in advance
martin
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 12:33 PM
karbon86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 195

If you want a good kit go with Asetek but if you want to get just a cpu cooler for cheap your best off piecing a kit yourself from a site like www.frozencpu.com
__________________
Main Rig
AMD64 3200+ @ 2.0ghz
MIS K8TNEO FSR
Asetek Waterchill Antartica
2x512 OCZ Platinum LL pc3200 @2.6v
2xSeagate 80 gig SATA raid-0
ATI 9800pro (460/800)
SB live 5.1 (old)
Pioneer 16x DL+DVD burner
Dell M992 19"crt 1600x1200 .24dp

Soon to be added

ATI x800XT-PE

Server
P4 1.6
Dell 4550
80gig IDE
512mb DDR PC-2100
Windows Server 2003 EE
[url=http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=45]
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 07:17 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Hey madmoe, the best deal I've seen is at Chillblast.co.uk. Navigate to their Watercooling section and you want the Asetek Waterchill KT03-L20 kit. At under £70 inc VAT its a good deal. You get just the CPU block, pump, radiator, all the pipes and connectors etc

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 07:20 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

thanks guys
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 01:46 AM
DiabloAbogado's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 345

just make sure the CPU waterblock can be used on other model MoBos and CPUs. I know my Koolance block comes with mounting for Skt A, P4s, but bracket for 64 was extra. Definitely read many, many reviews before buysing. Getting something crappy now may allow only crappy upgrades in the future.
__________________
AMD 3200+ 2.2 GHz, MSI K8N NEO Platinum, 2x512 OCZ 3200 EL Plat , 2x60GB SATA (Raid 0), MSI DVD+/-RW, Koolance 300-V13, Hydor L30, Black Ice Xtreme (120mm), GF7300 GT
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 12:00 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

tru tru, what you guys thing of this one?
reviews ive read are good, sound like upgrading it in future will be easy?

Thermaltake AquariusII™ II Liquid Cooling
Product Code: 601830 Manf. Model: TWINX2048-3200C2PT

(found on tekheads.co.uk)
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 02:17 PM
DiabloAbogado's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 345

What's the max you're looking to spend? Under $100?

Anyway, the Aquarius II isn't a bad kit and it's definitely easy to setup. Might want to look for something with an outside-the-loop pump. The heat given off by the pump won't directly transfer into the water like a submersible pump will. On the otherhand, it'll ad a little to the price.
__________________
AMD 3200+ 2.2 GHz, MSI K8N NEO Platinum, 2x512 OCZ 3200 EL Plat , 2x60GB SATA (Raid 0), MSI DVD+/-RW, Koolance 300-V13, Hydor L30, Black Ice Xtreme (120mm), GF7300 GT
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 02:21 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

well

well im from uk so under £100 hehe i like the look of it, so buy another pump and resivoir , might be a better option as my case isnt exactly roomy hehe
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 03:18 PM
DiabloAbogado's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 345

Okay, from what I've seen (in only 10 minutes, so take it for what it's worth), for a really cheap setup, okay performance, and upgradability, you can get GlobalWin Silent Stream for around $60-65 US.

Personally, for better performance and quality, I'd save up a little more money and go for the basic Asetek WaterChill Entry-Level Kit for around $120. It supports Skt A, P4s and all AMD 64s. Really excellent quality parts. WaterChill CPU block, Black Ice Pro Radiator, Hydor L20 pump, and everything has "PlugNPlay" tube connectors. (Sorry for sounding like an advertisement, but I'd hate to see someone go for a lot less quality without saving a whole lot of money.)
__________________
AMD 3200+ 2.2 GHz, MSI K8N NEO Platinum, 2x512 OCZ 3200 EL Plat , 2x60GB SATA (Raid 0), MSI DVD+/-RW, Koolance 300-V13, Hydor L30, Black Ice Xtreme (120mm), GF7300 GT
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 03:34 PM
DiabloAbogado's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 345

Nevermind, if you have around L100 (sorry don't know how to put in the real pound symbol), you can get most basic kits. Space would be you're biggest limiting factor. My case had a spot for a 120mm fan at the back, but the Black Ice Extreme 120 didn't fit into the space. I ended up having to cut out holes for the tubing to mount the radiator onto the back of my case. (Personally, I think it still looks tidy!) So definitely get measurements and double check if a kit will fit!
__________________
AMD 3200+ 2.2 GHz, MSI K8N NEO Platinum, 2x512 OCZ 3200 EL Plat , 2x60GB SATA (Raid 0), MSI DVD+/-RW, Koolance 300-V13, Hydor L30, Black Ice Xtreme (120mm), GF7300 GT
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 07:41 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

ive seen that look ok, not got much potential to upgrade though. on that globalwin one thikn ill do a bit more reasearch on this side of the sea :P then ill get back to you guys and see what you gotta say to stuff i find
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 09:20 PM
DiabloAbogado's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 345

What doesn't have upgrade potential? The Asetek or the GlobalWin? If you're going to check out the GlobalWin, don't be expecting awesome results. It'll cool the cpu and quiet the machine, but I don't know how much it will give you if you're overclocking.
__________________
AMD 3200+ 2.2 GHz, MSI K8N NEO Platinum, 2x512 OCZ 3200 EL Plat , 2x60GB SATA (Raid 0), MSI DVD+/-RW, Koolance 300-V13, Hydor L30, Black Ice Xtreme (120mm), GF7300 GT
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 09:24 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

the globalwin one..
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 10:02 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

If you're careful you can put together a really good set up by getting 2nd hand components.

I've got a LRWW A64 block, BIX120 rad, LRWW GPU Block, hydor L30 all for less than £100. Took a while to find what I wanted in the condition I was looking for but well worth it in the long run.

Only thing I bought new was the tubing.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 10:11 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

where u get all that from? EBAY?
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 10:27 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

I got the pump from ebay, actually when I think about it, it was new. The rest was looking about various classified sections on forums.

Here's a quote from one that's available just now:

Thermaltake Aquarius II used watercooling kit without pump (or you can have the dead pump that came with it) - good condition, used for 12 days and pump died
£22 incl delivery

Edit: I also know of a LRWW AMD block for £22.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 11:45 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Personally, dont go for the thermaltake or the globelwin, do what dod says and get enthusiast level kit from ebay or get the entry level Asetek waterchill, it is very easy and has nothing but rave reveiws. www.overclockers.co.uk do all the Asetek gear and their entry level kit is £70! check it out @
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...r_Cooling.html
Asetek are also great at after sales. Ill be writing a reveiw of their service soon.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 17th September, 2004, 09:00 AM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

thanks again you guys ill look into them
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What To use for water Cooling Microgers87 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 2 27th August, 2003 11:45 AM
Will water cooling be better than air cooling (PLEASE READ) Blackmyst Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 34 17th August, 2003 01:42 AM
Water Cooling - Cooling Agents? bradmax57 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 5 18th July, 2003 05:58 PM
My Water Cooling System and White Water EluSiOn Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 6 4th February, 2003 04:47 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0