AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 14th December, 2004, 03:50 AM

Water deposits

I've been using a new radiator on old pipes for a few months now. The water was deionized with some water wetter and cheap UV dye mixed in.

I've got a wierd brown deposit all over the system now. It looks like rust, but the only place rust can be coming from is the radiator. And the radiator was new, and specifically produced for computer use (chilltek-uk the suppliers have vanished so I can't find out who the manufacturer was anymore).

Is it possible that the combination of those agents caused some kind of reaction or could it be rust? Seems strange that a radiator would rust (everything else about it is higher quality than the black ice rad I broke before).

I tried bleaching the whole lot, but that had no effect. Scrubbing removes it fairly easily it's just awkward. I'm ordering some new pipes for the rebuild and I'll have to just scrub the water block and pump innards.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 14th December, 2004, 04:27 AM
AOA Staff

Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Could be some sludge like I was getting.
Rob
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 14th December, 2004, 08:30 AM
AOA Staff

that sludge has to come from somewhere, you has some sort of reaction going on somewhere , what parts are you running? are they all copper/brass?
Old 14th December, 2004, 12:06 PM
Member/Contributer

Could be the cheap dye? Try just water and water wetter and see how that goes.