AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2002, 09:48 PM
demonX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 229

Vantec

Just got my Vantec 6035D cpu cooler in mail, took off my old heat sink and fan combo, cheap aliminum one and applies some artic silver 3 to the new heatsink and a tab on the cpu. Started her up and the tempature monitor is reading the same exact temp as my old cheapo fan
What the heck could be going on, this fan spins at 6800rpms+ almost twice as fast as my old cpu cooler
Yet tempature is still the same.

I also got a crystal orb, but the fan wont spin on it, so guess im going to be sending it back
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2002, 10:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Guild, TN
Posts: 53

First off, on the Crystal Orb make sure the pretty little fan guard has not been pushed down ontop of the fan. One of the ones I got in was like that.

Secondly a lot of thinks effect the performance of the cpu cooler. Case temps and general air flow are the two biggest factors. So what type of case temps is your hardware monitor showing?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2002, 10:41 PM
demonX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 229

26 degress cel case temp.
My old chip cooler was a real cheap one came with chip, this one is supposedly a good one, but tempatures are basically the same
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2002, 10:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Guild, TN
Posts: 53

Yes your temps should be lower.

You did clean the old thermal material off of the cpu before you applied the AS3, correct?

How much AS3 did you use? The thinner the better. It shouldn't be any thicker than a single sheet of paper IMHO. If I'm reading what you wrote correctly you put AS3 on the cpu and the HSF. You might have too much on it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2002, 11:16 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

To steal and warp the lyrics from a popular Broadway musical of yesteryear, "It's gotta be thin." It's hard to believe that "a little more" thermal paste is a bad idea. I added a bit of AS--for safety recently. After getting un-lazy, I removed all the AS from the HS and CPU and re-applied a paper THIN layer on the top of the CPU. Shazam, my CPU temp dropped a solid 4C. Less can indeed be more.

I hope this aids your temp sitch. If not, I also have a Vantec CCK-6035D that I haven't installed yet. Two unhappy campers? Argh.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2002, 11:28 PM
demonX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 229

Ok thanks, Im paiting my case so all my comp parts are out anyways

So will try cleaning off the heatsink and cpu, kinda scared to mess with the cpu though:nervous:

What should I clean them with?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2002, 11:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Guild, TN
Posts: 53

I always use Rubbing Alcohol and a Q-Tip to clean the cpu off. Just make sure you get all the lent from the cotton back off of the cpu.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2002, 12:16 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

B-12 chemtool, or lighter fluid are the things that really work. that most people will have
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2002, 02:59 AM
demonX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 229

Thanks all
Got the crystal orb rocking now, just had to raise the grill as mentioned earlier.

Cleaned off the cpu, and vantech cooler, reapplied a thin layer of artic silver3 to it, just waiting for my case to dry and then will test it out and see
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2002, 06:24 PM
demonX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 229

Alright, case dried, hooked everything back up, cleaned off cpu and heatsink applied a thin layer to cpu.

Old idle cpu temp where 57-59C
New idel cpu temp are 35-38C

Old load temps where 58-63C
New load temps are 45-48C


Vantech fan is nice, loud but nice
Going to do some overclocking later and see what happens.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2002, 08:12 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Excellent!! It's great when advise actually works. My faith in the inexpensive(yet rated ~15th in a list of the many HSF's that OCer's.com has tested) Vantec CCK-6035D is restored. Whew!

In a perfect world, the Delta 38 banshee fan would be quiet. Delta REALLY did their R&D for their 38cfm 60mm fan. How many HSF's with good performance don't use the Screamer? Yeah, yeah, expensive Swiftech and the giant Alpha aren't included here.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2002, 09:37 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

my bro uses the 6035, its an awesome heatsink, he needs more airflow through the case for it to reach its true potential though.

and i dont think the delta is all that loud! i am gonna be putting my two 120 mm YS techs back in, now they are loud!

the PC literally makes a throbbing droning noise as all the fans rotate at slightly different speeds. god its awesome
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2002, 12:27 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Spoken like a hardcore geek! Ya tell it like it is, Random Nonsense. All the same, I've listened to The Screamer(s) TM, Marca Registrada for at least two years. My ears tire of their obnoxious whine.

I bought a 68cfm 80mm Delta(these aren't your Grand Mother's 80mm fan. They are fat and heavy boogers) with an eye toward using it plus a 60-80mm adapter to replace a Screamer.

I know that the truly hardcore would simply sinter the plastic of the fan to an aluminum adapter/funnel, and repeat for the copper to aluminum bond. And that's that. I flunked out of advanced welding--the shame!

I'm using an original Glaciator on a PPGA Celeron. So far, no complaints from the S370. This leads me to believe that the moment(leverage exerted by the 80mm Delta, plus HS) on the Socket A's HSF mounting lugs won't be too much of a gamble. Gulp!

Or maybe I'll just save up for an Alpha PAL-8045. No worries with it!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2002, 01:38 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

no no, cloasters this is true hardcore:

a copper box on CPU with a small amount of ethanol and a big amount of dry ice! all of this in a giant fridge at the south pole

i want to try out dry ice

noise doesnt really bother me at all, i play with noisy stuff all the time! anyway my hearing is on the way out i think.... too much sitting 2 ft in front of my m8's model gas turbine.... soon it will be rebuilt and im gonna attach it to a PC case sucking air out.... just to see if the noise/temp tradeoff is worth it

60 db delta? pah thats gutless! 110 db gas turbine? mmmmmmm
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2002, 08:48 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

So your mate's miniature gas turbine(read turbojet engine) will have a place as an exhaust fan in your case. I'm certain that only the turbine's air intake will be affixed to the case---right?

You call that hardcore? Why I.... can't compete at all with such madness. Pardon me for not keeping up on the gas turbines used in model airplanes, OK? Did any madman build a high bypass engine yet? How about a low bypass with reheat? Are modeler's casually building jet-powered airplanes that attain Mach 1.6--or even Mach 2.2? Yet?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2002, 02:17 PM
kplonk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 101
Send a message via ICQ to kplonk

is it a jet cat, if so are they really as good as they say
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2002, 12:51 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Jetcats suck !

Microjet engineering are WAY better

www.microjeteng.com

no bypass engines yet reheat has been done. Im involved in model speed record project, probably hit about 400MPH,(if we go ahead with the twin engine reheated BAC lightning) i know a guy who is aiming for Mach 1 in a year or so. With any luck me and my m8's will try for that too.... but those kind of speeds will require use of a chase plane... lucky one of my dads friends brothers was in RAF... trained the Red Arrows a few years back... gonna ask to "borrow" a tornado mwuhahahaha!

Yeh only the intake strapped to the case.... i would love to try one further.... we have a pair of Rolls Royce RB211 engines in the hangar at college..... 43 000 lbs thrust.... imagine having a computer in the airstream from the fan duct..... now thats the ultimate in air cooling!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."

Last edited by Random Nonsense; 12th February, 2002 at 12:53 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2002, 08:46 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I looked at Microjet Engineering. Holy horsefeathers, Batman! Their largest turbojet engine is four times as powerful as when the last time I looked. The 1.5 liter/minute fuel consumption is unsettling--at first. The largest of their present catalogue can power a very substantial airframe.

Is 400 MPH a lot faster than the fastest piston powered model aircraft can go? Just curious. A chase plane is required? Uhh... understandable. B-but no normal "private" plane comes close to attaining that speed.

Thank you for posting this report on present doings in the micro-turbojet world!

Afterburner already experimented with. Wow.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2002, 10:56 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

their biggest one drinks 2.3 L a minute, 150Lbs thrust non reheated, add 50% more for reheat.

The guy behind it all, Phill, is an absolute genius, this guy scares me! does work for Rolls Royce aero engines etc. he offered ther RR boss a job as his tea boy at microjet

current official record is held by a BVM Bandit heavily modified and using an AMT olympus, developing 42 lbs thrust.... the Phoenix Mk4 with some modifications can produce 35lbs dry thrust, add 50% for reheat and it is smaller and lighter, and the plan is after trying out reheat on my friend andy's model, we buy a model BAC lightning and fit a pair of these engines!

current record is 252MPH but ive heard of piston engined ones reaching 280, and pulse jets over 300, pulse jets are not classed as models though, flying fire hazards is more accurate.
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2002, 05:50 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Finding the sweet spot in thrust per fuel consumption per all-up weight per...jeez, not easy to work out all of those variables! I bet someone's using a PC to help figure it out!

I'd think that a pulse jet would be a non-starter in Britain. Some folks who heard Hitler's version are still alive. Objection, may it please the court!

Speaking of those bad old days--anyone know what power the first turbojets were capable of? They were amazingly wimpoid.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vantec Lapcool 3 Review Gizmo Mobile Devices and Networking 3 11th September, 2006 02:25 PM
Vantec or......? WonderBread Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 5th January, 2005 06:07 AM
SLK 800 A Vantec (Sunon) Tornado mental AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 5th September, 2003 12:52 AM
slk-800 or AX-7 on nf7-s w/ vantec Iceburg NB hsf LkyOldSun Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 9 13th July, 2003 11:16 PM
Problem with Vantec Iceberq hchu Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 27th June, 2003 11:00 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0