AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2005, 03:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 38

Aerogate 3 installation w/ antec quick release rails

I just bought an Aerogate 3 so I can turn down the speed of some of my fans so it doesn't always sound like the space shuttle is launching.

The tabs on the side are only 2" or so long, but my Antec case uses quick release drive rails. So when I install it with the quick release rails, they flop around. It will stay in if I fiddle with it, but when I press the buttons to adjust the fan it pushes the unit into the case.

Anyone know of a solution or a frame of some sort to keep the drive rails spaced properly at the rear where there is no support?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2005, 05:31 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Most of my cases uses rails, so I can visualize your dilemna. Are you using the rails in the right spot? Usually when fully inserted, the rails will snap into place and not go further. Do your rails uses screws? make sure they are tight. If the drive rails are plastic, maybe you could add additional holes to match the aerogate and stabilize it.

It would be easier to think of suggestions if you could post pics or links to the aerogate.... Maybe you could jam some cardboard or other flat item between the device and the DVDrom to add stability?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2005, 05:57 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

the thing with antecs is the rails do go further when the device they are attached to only uses the first set of screws. Whats needed is a stiff brace between the 2 rails at the other end
Attached Thumbnails
Aerogate 3 installation w/ antec quick release rails-rail.jpg  
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2005, 11:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 38

Nice drawing Thats exactly what I need. I guess I will have to fabricate something. Or buy another case
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
drive rails? dabaerman General Hardware Discussion 7 16th November, 2003 10:31 PM
Anyone own an AeroGate II? K_King Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 1 29th August, 2003 02:29 AM
12v rails are climbing toward 13v help! perc EPoX MotherBoards 4 12th April, 2003 04:03 AM
Antec PP-412X vs Antec PP-403X on the 8KHA+ 5150Joker EPoX MotherBoards 23 26th February, 2002 06:26 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0