AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 05:53 PM
subseb's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: READING, EXETER
Posts: 12
Send a message via MSN to subseb

Intergrated water cooling

Hey I was looking at water cooling my PC, I currently have an XP2700 (2166Mhz) thoroughbred-b, running at 2337Mhz (14 x 166FSB, 1.75Vcore, 55 degrees full load), but thats as far as it will go. I was thinking if I could get the temps down to a few degrees then maybe I can get more out of it, and make some insane overclock to say 2.75 or ideally 3Ghz. The motherboard on the KT600 chipset can do much more, and the cpu needs a boost.

manufacturer homepage:
http://www.qtec.info/products/product.htm?artnr=13793

review:
http://www.informanews.net/scripts/article.php/93.htm

its in french so use this to transalte the site:
http://www.freetranslation.com/web.htm

Anyway what I noticed was a cheap intergrated water based cpu cooler. It fits in the 5.25 inch bay, but I plan to run it external to stop heating the pc case. Has anyone else had any experience of this device. The cooler has been reviewed lightly and seems to run at near room temperature normally. It seems very very simple, and I was wondering with the addition of a peltier if I could get nearer zero degrees.

I am really interested in how much heat the water cooling kit and get rid of. Since it would have to cope with the heat generated from the pelt itself in addition to the cpu heat. Any suggestions for this would be appreciated. It seems worth a go, and if the kit cant handle the heat then I can always take it back, the documentation doesn't mention anything about pelts, he he he.
__________________
AMD XP2700 @ 400FSB 2.31GHz, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro @ XT speed. ST audio C-Port soundcard,
EPOX 8KRA2+ Mobo, Crucial 1024MB PC3200, RAID0 2x40GB Western Digital Caviar 8MB, LG GMA4020
DVD-RW, Jeantech 450W 12cm PSU, Coolermaster Wavemaster case.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 06:23 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I've got to say that it doesn't look like it's really up to that much. I suspect that a good air cooler might well do the same job. The pump onboard is a bit on the light side (18.5GPH), and I've no idea about the radiator...

My suspicion is that it would handle peltiers very badly...
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 07:14 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I think you'd be better off with something like:
http://www.chillblast.com/customer/p...roductid=16499

You can always upgrade components as needed.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 07:53 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

those all in one bay-res units are more of a gimmik me thinks
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 09:13 PM
subseb's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: READING, EXETER
Posts: 12
Send a message via MSN to subseb

hmm I was thinking of introducing a voltage controller into the setup, so I could control the voltage of the peliter. This should allow me to regulate how much heat is transported away from the cpu, I dont wont to overload the water cooler nor do I want to freeze the cpu, just get it to a couple of degrees, this will probably take so experimentation unless its thermostatically controlled. I could probably program a PIC for this.
__________________
AMD XP2700 @ 400FSB 2.31GHz, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro @ XT speed. ST audio C-Port soundcard,
EPOX 8KRA2+ Mobo, Crucial 1024MB PC3200, RAID0 2x40GB Western Digital Caviar 8MB, LG GMA4020
DVD-RW, Jeantech 450W 12cm PSU, Coolermaster Wavemaster case.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 09:25 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

keep in mind the heat involved in a peltier. A watercooler like that may not be up to dissipating more than 150W of heat, while even with a modest peltier, your heat output is going to be over 250W. Peltiers in a weak water system ADD to overheating and can triple your computer's heat output easily. By the way, its a good idea to stay away from anything that is called "integrated" as its marketing slang for cheaply made badly designed built in component.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 10:35 PM
subseb's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: READING, EXETER
Posts: 12
Send a message via MSN to subseb

Umm ok, after reading all the posts I will make my own system. Unfortunately I dont have a four bolt mounting on the cpu that a lot of cpu blocks use, so I cant use the kit suggested by Danrochttp://www.chillblast.com/customer/p...roductid=16499)

I will probably just try using a basic pump, maybe make my own reservoir to fill the 85mm square hole in the top of my wavemaster case. Anyone know where I can get some plastics and glues for such a thing in the uk. Bearing in mind I am a poor student, any help would be appreciated.
__________________
AMD XP2700 @ 400FSB 2.31GHz, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro @ XT speed. ST audio C-Port soundcard,
EPOX 8KRA2+ Mobo, Crucial 1024MB PC3200, RAID0 2x40GB Western Digital Caviar 8MB, LG GMA4020
DVD-RW, Jeantech 450W 12cm PSU, Coolermaster Wavemaster case.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 10:39 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

You don't actually need a res, a piece of verticle tubing with a bung in the top of it is all that is needed. I think Aedan uses and recommends this method.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2005, 12:01 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
You don't actually need a res, a piece of verticle tubing with a bung in the top of it is all that is needed. I think Aedan uses and recommends this method.
The bung and pipe method is an extremely effective idea. At one stage i was using this $60 bleed/fill resovoir that looked extremely cool with UV reactive dye in it, and was good in theory, but was a complete pile of crap. I had to drag the stupid thing out of the case each time i filled or refilled the thing, as no matter how well designed it is, only the brave and stupid fill INSIDE their cases, and it spilt regularly.

I was turned onto the pipe and bung method, and it was so much easier, not to mention cheaper. I used a pair of butterfly clamps to securely attach it to my DVD burner's rounded IDE cable to keep it upright and out of trouble. When it needed filling, two flicks and it was loose, hanging 30 CM OUTSIDE of the case where it was easy to funnel fill the pipe.

Sometimes the best ideas are the cheapest!

Old Res below _
Attached Thumbnails
Intergrated water cooling-rez.jpg  
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2005, 12:22 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Basically, all you need is somewhere to allow the liquid to expand a bit as well as somewhere for any trapped air to bubble up into.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2005, 11:00 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

thats the res i use, just need the right funnel
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2005, 11:23 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by XeroHouR
thats the res i use, just need the right funnel
O yea? well your res sucks!

i tried a funnel, i tried a funnel with a pipe on it, i tried the petrol siphoning method, but all i got was spills spills spills.

Luckily i dont have any cards below my Audigy 2 with is in slot 3 else they would have been dowsed. Designed by a damned comedian that thing was. It borked itself on the floor when i finally got so frustrated with it that i lost my temper. God that thing sucked!


you must be quite a contortionist LOL.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 01:07 AM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

gotta go to the right target to get the right funnel i guess
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water cooling WonderBread Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 20 14th March, 2005 02:59 PM
Will water cooling be better than air cooling (PLEASE READ) Blackmyst Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 34 17th August, 2003 01:42 AM
Water Cooling - Cooling Agents? bradmax57 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 5 18th July, 2003 05:58 PM
water cooling Mr.Wells Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 20 13th May, 2003 07:34 AM
My Water Cooling System and White Water EluSiOn Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 6 4th February, 2003 04:47 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0