AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2005, 09:01 AM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

Cool new system running cool !!!!!!

i have just got this new system running.....

enermaxs 600w psu
amd 64 3800
9npa-ultra
1 gig of kingston hyperX
74 gig sata 10,000 rpm
dvdrw
cdrw/dvdrom combo
geforce 6200tc it's only a 64 mb card but it can go to 256 but u need 512mb of system memory to support it (pci-e)

it's only a cheap graphic card but it's playing most of my games on high any way plus i am only running this on xp home and it's fast on that. how much faster would it be with xp46??


temps r even batter then my 3200xp system the cpu temp at highest is 40c it's norm is only 32-33c and thats with the stock cooler and the arctic silver 5
paste the graphics card is getting hotter at around 51c maxs but norm temp is only around 35c plus i think i am pushing this little cheap card as much as i can only cost me 20 pounds on ebay as new

i think i will sell my old 3200xp-6800gt (agp) so i can buy a batter graphics card on pci-e 6800gt ultra or the 850xl? i started off with ati but i could not get a game working right so i got the nvidia card been with them from around 2001 i think i will go for the 6800gt ultra pci-e ??
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2005, 02:43 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

If you can afford it. Get a 6800 Ultra. Although I own a ATI. I would recommend a nVidia. My next card will be nVidia. The high-end ATi's are beastly cards. But currently available cards do not support SM3.0. 6800 Ultra's do. This isnt the biggest issue today as I dont know any games that support it. But, tomrrow (figuratively speaking) SM3.0 will be a pre-requisette on high-end systems. And currently ATi dont make the grade. ATi users blame dsio for my conversion.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2005, 03:00 PM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

i think i will. would love to get the 512mb 6800ultra but at £500 it's not cheap i'l get the 256 6800ultra pci-e i can pick that up at around £369 so not that bad!!!! i do have the 6800gt agp and thats very good whats it's going to be like with pci-e can't wait !!!!!

i need one fast the 64mb is crap in bf1942+ games just as not got the power for top grahics if any one wanna help me save please fill free to send some money LOL!!!!!!
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2005, 03:17 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I'd recomend a Radeon X800XL, you get around 6800GT performance for £200. While they are missing SM3.0 support they are still good performers.

If you want an nvidia then just go for the 6800GT, the price increase for the ultra just doesn't equal the performance gain, and in many cases they will overclock to ultra levels or beyond.

In the mean time give rivatuner a try on that 6200, I don't know if it holds true for the turbo cache version, but there are 4 pixel pipelines to unlock with the 6200 core, of course memory bandiwdth is the biggest problem with the 6200 but it can't hurt.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2005, 12:03 AM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

what would you say about the 512mb 6800gt card pci-e then it's lot of money but would u say it's batter then just the ultra256mb?
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2005, 12:14 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Don't get an Ultra, they are a waste of cash. A GT is alot cheaper and will overclock past Ultra speeds.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2005, 12:32 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

some of those 6200's are 6600 cores...got some pics of your card?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2005, 12:50 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

512mb is excessive at the moment, short of doom3 using uncompressed textures I know of nothing that benefits from more than 256mb

The 6800GT is a real gem, they overclock great
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2005, 01:07 AM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

Wink

well i have togo with a 6800gt then whats the norm temp? the 6800gt cards then? my agp runs around 60c maxs 57c norm would the pci-e temps be like that?

NVIDIA introduces the GeForce 6200 GPUs, featuring a revolutionary design that delivers best-in-class performance on today’s hottest games and applications. The only GPU in its class to support Microsoft DirectX 9.0 Shader Model 3.0, the GeForce 6200 powers the latest effects without compromising performance. In addition, support for the latest bus architecture PCI Express increases both graphics and overall system

performance.Specification
Memory Clock: 350MHz
Core Clock: 350MHz
Memory Interface: 128-bit
Suppiled with HDTV Lead, PowerDVD and a Driver CD.

this card is useing 256mb as i have got over 512 of system (ram 1 gig hyperX 2x512 kit) the only down is that with this one xpert vision is it's only a heat seek not fan as u can see!!!!!! this is a very little card compaired to others
Attached Thumbnails
new system running cool !!!!!!-69_1_b.jpg  
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2005, 01:55 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Ewwww Passive Heat Sink
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2005, 01:57 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

The 6200 is great for what it does, especially with the possibility of unlocking to the full 8 pipelines found in the 6600 on which it's based.

A 6800 should run at about the same temp regardless of it being agp or pci-e, so those temps are likely what you would get from a pci-e card.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 17th April, 2005, 02:57 PM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

i have just got a very good deal on ebay xfx 6800ultra as new for only £333 the cheapest xfx 6800ultra i could find on the net is £375 at overclockers.co.uk
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New System up and running PCIe BobyJo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 10th November, 2006 01:40 AM
System was running stable, now the same crash keeps comming Wolf2000me CRASHED! 16 17th January, 2005 10:27 PM
How do you cool your system? danrok Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 12 4th July, 2004 06:01 AM
Trying to get new system up & running. Mindfields CRASHED! 20 31st December, 2002 05:17 PM
Antec 300W ps running whole SYSTEM!!! The Spyder General Hardware Discussion 5 10th April, 2002 05:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0