AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th April, 2005, 04:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 5

conflicting temp monitors

i was wondering if you guys could help me decide which of my temp monitors is more accurate. i just installed a water cooler because with the stock hsf the computer was always running 68 C or higher underload and 49 C at idle. the water cooler has dropped my temps considerably but the motherboard sensor and the water cooler sensor are telling different temps. at idle the water cooler is showing 36 C and the mb cpu sensor is showing 42 C and underload the cooler is showing 48 C and the mb cpu sensor is 56 C. i have the sensor for the water cooler on the socket right next to the cpu under the water block. the book said not to touch it to the cpu but get it as close as possible, which i don't think i could get much closer. the main board is an epox 8kda3i and the cooler is a evercool wdc 202. i've felt the water block on the cpu and its warm but not near hot. the gpu water block is considerbly warmer but still not "hot". just need some input.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th April, 2005, 06:07 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

How does your water block mount?!?!? Did you use some AS? (artic silver)
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th April, 2005, 07:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 5

it mounts with a bracket the goes across the block and screws onto the stock plastic fan mount on the board. i didn't use arctic silver i used the stuff that came with it. says 10% silver on the tube.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th April, 2005, 10:29 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Ok HOW tight did you set the screws?!?!
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th April, 2005, 04:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 5

they are pretty tight. not as tight as they could be. didn't want to break the board or hurt the core.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th April, 2005, 06:04 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Well, since you said that the block was warm, I'm pretty sure it's proabably seated correcty and doing it's job.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th April, 2005, 06:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 5

it seems to be working really well. i'm just not sure if the which of the temp sensors is more accurate. like right now at idle the cooler says 36 C and the cpu says 43 C. i've been reading alot about motherboard sensors being inaccurate and i'm not sure if the 8kda3i is one of those inaccurate boards.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th April, 2005, 06:44 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Honestly, I wouldn't worry about it. Just set your bios to shut down if the temp reaches over 53c and all should be fine.

I've had my water setup running 24/7 for the past two years. I came home one day to find my computer was OFF. Turns out the pump died, so the bios did what it was suppose to do and shut the system down.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th April, 2005, 09:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 5

alright man thanx for the help i'll check to see what i have my shutdown temp at. hopefully it lasts me a few years
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2005, 01:44 AM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzyrulez
i was wondering if you guys could help me decide which of my temp monitors is more accurate.
Actually both. Your motherboard's sensor should be taking its value from a diode embedded in the CPU core. It's only accurate to about +/- 2ºC but that's near enough to determine that it's "OK" or "too hot". Your watercooling circuit will probably use either a thermistor (cheap) or thermocouple (not cheap) with a more accurate temperature transmitter. It will be mounted at a distance away from the actual heat source, though, so will display a lower temperature. My guess is it's actually monitoring the coolant outlet temperature, hence the 8ºC delta.
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitors Favu General Hardware Discussion 33 18th July, 2007 03:54 AM
TFT Monitors Chaz Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 6th July, 2006 08:27 PM
monitors bonesaw General Hardware Discussion 13 19th April, 2006 05:14 AM
LCD Monitors calhoun General Hardware Discussion 9 12th November, 2005 10:29 PM
LCD/CRT Monitors where to buy in WA? Chesso General Hardware Discussion 4 24th February, 2005 12:14 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0