AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2005, 02:33 PM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

Exclamation 3200xp temp?

i have just added a new fan for my old 3200xp cpu but the temp is around 35c no load but as soon as i start to play games it go's to 52c thats the maxs i'v seen it at. would the cpu be all right at this temp i am useing the arctic silver 5 plus there is a 6800gt(temp 65c max) running to so thats pushing the temps case up!! the cpu fan rpm is 3900 i think!! thats with the high speed setting all the games are playing at top speed & graphics with no slow down i played c&c generals for around a hour with no slow down

2x80mm front intake 2x80mm back blowout 1x cpu & gpu =6 fans

what do you all think then ???
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2005, 02:37 PM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

If it helps I got a 3000XP - only a slight overclock to 2250Mhz - as im convinced my room is like a greenhouse anyway so will stick with that; Motherboard Monitor reports my temps at 24 40 44.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2005, 02:47 PM
tottyspotter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 246

My 3200XP was at about 30 C idle, up to around 40 C under load, that's with no overclock though - waiting to get home tonight to fit new BIOS chip that will hopefully revive my motherboard so I can experiment with some OC'ing

I have 120mm & 80mm fans on front and 120mm fan on the back and arctic cooler on the 9800pro, as well as my Zalman on the CPU.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700 San Diego
1024 MB Corsair XMS PC3200XL CAS2 2-2-2-5
Gigabyte GA-K8NSU-939
NVidia 6800GT
Yesico FL-420(T) Fanless 420W PSU
2 x Maxtor DiamondMax 10 80GB SATA RAID0
Silverstone Temjin TJ05S-T Case
Hyundai ImageQuest L90D+ 19" LCD


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2005, 03:04 PM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

Wo thats pretty low - you using air? Having said that not sure how my temps would drop if i open door/window and let air flow. Just loose privacy and get noise then - so its a compromise i guess.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2005, 03:12 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

15c span from idle to load is normal for air. I have a 3200+ running @ 65c 24/7, almost(only off when the breaker resets)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2005, 03:16 PM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

i'v had the 3200xp for 1 year know and with the jet cooler it did hit 49c maxs under no load it was around 32-35 but the jet cooler was to loud!!!! any one tryed the tornado vantec very very loud!!!!!!!!
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2005, 03:16 PM
tottyspotter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 246

Yep, just air. I have a silverstone Temjin TJ05S-T case. It's amazing what a difference it makes, i had a tiny little case with one 80mm fan on the front and one on the back before, with a Coolermaster Aero 7+ cooling the CPU.

After I changed the case and got the bigger fans and the Zalman on the CPU, plus chucking the heat for the graphics card straight out of the back with the arctic silencer, I was amazed at the drop in temperature! I never used to quite believe they could be that low before, as mine was usually running 50C idle and 60C load!
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700 San Diego
1024 MB Corsair XMS PC3200XL CAS2 2-2-2-5
Gigabyte GA-K8NSU-939
NVidia 6800GT
Yesico FL-420(T) Fanless 420W PSU
2 x Maxtor DiamondMax 10 80GB SATA RAID0
Silverstone Temjin TJ05S-T Case
Hyundai ImageQuest L90D+ 19" LCD


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2005, 03:26 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Keep in mind as well that you have quite a hot case there. A 6800GT puts out a huge amount of heat, as does your cpu, but dont forget your PSU or hard disk. 10k rpm disks are renowned heaters of cases, as are PSUs that are inefficient, or just plain hot.

You are still nowhere near dangerous or unusual temps so let it slide. Set your bios up with a kill switch @ about 75 degrees or so.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2005, 03:46 PM
tottyspotter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 246

I guess i've got a lot over overclocking headroom then dsio; if these chips can stably run that hot
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700 San Diego
1024 MB Corsair XMS PC3200XL CAS2 2-2-2-5
Gigabyte GA-K8NSU-939
NVidia 6800GT
Yesico FL-420(T) Fanless 420W PSU
2 x Maxtor DiamondMax 10 80GB SATA RAID0
Silverstone Temjin TJ05S-T Case
Hyundai ImageQuest L90D+ 19" LCD


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th April, 2005, 01:43 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Mate, that isnt hot at all. You dont know the meaning of hot!

Buy a prescott 3.8 and overclock it. AMD include a heatsink/fan in their retail boxes for athlon64s. Intel skip the heatsink/fan, and include a fire extinguisher instead. And a bit of heat shielding for your motherboard.

Somewhere on AMDs site is the thermal limits for their CPUs. It used to be 2Ghz or lower were 95C and over 2Ghz was 100C. Those are the dangerous temps for damaging a CPU, not temps it can run stable at, but keep in mind what they are.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th April, 2005, 03:28 AM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

a top system with a top cpu and gpu plus 10k hardrives do give alot of heat but i think 9 fans should keep it running ok. psu has 3 fans as follows 1x120mm 2x80mm the case has got 2x80mm front 2x80mm back. i think the reason why the 3200xp is running hotter is that the 6800gt are big and it's blocking most of the fresh air comeing into the case. i have got the 10k hd in front of the 2 80mm fans near the bottom but as i said the graphics card seems to be blocking most of the air. temp of 6800gt are 60c+ do any one know what temp the ati 850xl runs at i think it's the 850xl

my new system is the 9npa-ultra that will be running ......
amd64 3800......6800ultra....fans 1x120mm front 2x80mm back 2x80mm on psu 1x psu & gpu i have ordered 2 fans to fit in a pci slot to help keep the beast (6800ultra) cool
9 fans again i must say i am very happy with the cpu maxs temp is only 44c with stock,heat,seek cooler but i'm only running a 6200tc graphics card so it could go up when i get the 6800ultra only time willl tell??? i like the layout of the pci-e slot nice and low to give more air to the cpu nice move epox!!!!!!
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th April, 2005, 07:27 AM
tottyspotter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 246

Why don't you get the Arctic cooler NV5 for your card from here http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...c_Cooling.html along with some arctic silver 5 thermal paste (which will get you much better results than the goop they supply with it) from here http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...erials_27.html

If it's your graphics card that's the main culprit, this will work a treat as it will chuck all of the hot air from it straight out of the back of your case.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700 San Diego
1024 MB Corsair XMS PC3200XL CAS2 2-2-2-5
Gigabyte GA-K8NSU-939
NVidia 6800GT
Yesico FL-420(T) Fanless 420W PSU
2 x Maxtor DiamondMax 10 80GB SATA RAID0
Silverstone Temjin TJ05S-T Case
Hyundai ImageQuest L90D+ 19" LCD


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 19th April, 2005, 07:38 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

To be honest, its more the fact that the damn card is there, blocking airflow, than the heat that it puts out. The NV5 may just be larger and more airflow impairing than not having it. That said, they are quite good. I just wouldnt bother spending the money for such a very small difference in performance. A little ducting or even better, removing the hard drive cage adjacent to the card will make a bigger difference to your CPU temps than a new GPU HSF will.

When I removed my bottom HDD cage my temps lowered by 6 degrees on the CPU, and 3 in the case. Between the cage, and the card in my case, (thermaltake XASER II 6000 aluminium, practically the same internally as the old school antec / chieftec cases) there was no room at all for ventilation. Takeing that sucker out made all the difference.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 19th April, 2005, 08:20 AM
tottyspotter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 246

Yeah, I guess that's a smaller case than mine so my experience with exhausting the graphic card's heat out of the back has been different. My case can actually be used as a server case, so blocking airflow isn't really an issue!

Oh, you said about the CPU temperatures, that 65C isn't hot - just out of interest, what temp is your winchester running at? What are they rated to go up to? That's some mean overclock!
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700 San Diego
1024 MB Corsair XMS PC3200XL CAS2 2-2-2-5
Gigabyte GA-K8NSU-939
NVidia 6800GT
Yesico FL-420(T) Fanless 420W PSU
2 x Maxtor DiamondMax 10 80GB SATA RAID0
Silverstone Temjin TJ05S-T Case
Hyundai ImageQuest L90D+ 19" LCD


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 19th April, 2005, 10:45 AM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

i have got the 6800 ultra running and it's temp is very good i think it is becz the pci-e slot on the 9npa-ultra is set very low so the 120mm fan is cooling it at around 50c the highest is 61c playing C&C for 2 hours no problams happy with that big heat seek on it and it is close to the ide cable but just fitted!!!!!!!!!
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cpu temp captaincurran Case Modifications 2 12th May, 2005 12:20 AM
8RDA3+ 3200xp and twinmos memory pc reset dave_reap CRASHED! 15 10th November, 2004 12:54 PM
8KRA2+ & 3200XP Probs Not Stable Help beardedboss EPoX MotherBoards 19 18th August, 2004 08:50 PM
Temp changes? Monkeyboy Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 19 12th June, 2002 12:59 AM
Is this temp ok? dmdstar Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 8 30th March, 2002 05:16 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0