AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 12:12 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Mcx462-v

Got this today and put it on w/ AS5 and my tornado and the temps are up 3c more than w/ my Tt SilentBoost HS

whats the deal?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 12:20 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

3c is within margin of error in paste application. try re-applying the paste. Ther could be an issue with your airflow as well.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 12:25 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

is the fan slower than the "silent" boost?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 12:49 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

nope, same exact Vantec Tornado
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 12:53 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Had you lapped the silentboost? They are quite good thin fin copper units, it's just the base which lets them down.
Other than that I'd say it's just the new AS application thats to blame, within a week or so you may well see those temps level out, or not if the weather is getting warmer, I know here in the uk we've just had a sudden increase in temps over the last few days, added a good 3-4°C to all my temps
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 12:59 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

never did anything to the Tt, but i did have the fan outside the case w/ a Pringles can acting as a duct to the heatsink. Now i have the fan inside the case with no duct. Case temp is 32-35c

I'll try a couple of things later but right now i have to go to Fry's to get a new Router YAY!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 02:35 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

So you had air from outside the case being ducted to theheatsink that you now don't have? This seems the most obvious cause, proably along with a new AS application
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 03:21 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

well, theres still the hole in the acrillic window where air is still being sucked in so i dont see why there is a rise temp difference when i put in a "better" HS
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 03:22 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I suppose the only way to rule it out would be to test the same duct you had with the thermaltake to see if there is any differance
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 05:10 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

i semi tested it by sticking the duct through the whole in the window.......it dropped the temps by 1c so i think it is something else i did wrong, im doing my HW right now, but after i will reseat the HS and see what happens
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 07:11 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

im starting to cry 'tear'..........sniff, sniff............i dont know what to do temps are the same after reseating 48-49c w/ fan on low........46-47c w/ fan on screaming high.

these temps are when the cpu is IDLE
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 09:58 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

sounds like a bad AS application then, how did you clean the surfaces between installation?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 06:02 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

isopropyl and Q-tips
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 07:32 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

I took the temp sensor of my case and stuck it inbetween the HSF and CPU(next to the core) and the temps are 8-10c cooler than what is reported by MBM5, or is it b/c the sensor is next to the core it just seems cooler
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 01:11 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

it probably a combination of inaccurate readings and the differance in temp between an onboard diode and the thermal sensor
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 02:08 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Dont get too hung up about the slight difference in temperature, though I'm sure teh Swifftech cost more!
My temps have gone up significantly over the past few days, 60C'ish now and thats with watercooling! Something may be up but so far nothing has crashed so I'm not too worried.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MCX462-V & ductingmod on EP8RDA6+ linuxrulz EPoX MotherBoards 0 3rd February, 2005 06:55 PM
My MCX462+ killed my 8RDA6+ linuxrulz EPoX MotherBoards 6 22nd January, 2005 03:18 PM
mcx462+tec installation help on p/s utherwun Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 10 23rd December, 2002 06:59 PM
8RDA+ and Swiftech MCX462+ HS gap BadBadNeil EPoX MotherBoards 6 17th December, 2002 09:53 PM
Mcx462 sonny Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 8 14th November, 2001 09:42 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0