AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2005, 05:51 AM
drewnashty's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 28

Temp monitor

What's a good program to use that is universal with most motherboards that monitor's temp for cpu and northbridge?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2005, 12:47 PM
bossa's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 118

You could try these
http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php
http://www.podien.de/

Dunno about the north bridge I guess it depends if it has a sensor
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2005, 01:31 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Speedfan should work with anything that has a temp sensor in your system including GPU and hard drives.

I use motherboard monitor as it has a nice dasboard and system tray app for voltages, fan speeds and temps
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2005, 07:33 AM
drewnashty's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 28

Thx fellas
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th May, 2005, 12:17 PM
radcon56's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Somersworth, NH
Posts: 160

Go to lavalys.com and download everest home edition for free!You can monitor to your hearts content with this program.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th May, 2005, 12:19 PM
radcon56's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Somersworth, NH
Posts: 160

Go to lavalys.com and download everest home edition for free!You can monitor to your hearts content with this program.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2005, 05:44 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Temp monitor

I just downloaded Everest Ultimate Edition and i checked the CPU temp under sensors in the computer section, it displayed 35 degrees at 100% CPU usage, yet when checking Speedfan it displayed the CPU's temperature as 60 degrees. Strange, can anyone think of an answer to this?

Everest Ultimate Edition (Trial)
Attached Thumbnails
Temp monitor-temperature.jpg  
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2005, 06:30 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

It does happen to be exactly the same temp as the motherboard, are they always the same or is this a coincidence? If they are always equal then it seems like the same sensor reading is being taken for both.

What cpu is it? 35°C is a little low for anything other than a A64 winchester/venice or sempron
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2005, 07:01 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

The mobo has a constant temp of 35 degrees, but the CPU's temp varies. The processor is a Celeron D 2.4ghz Skt 478 in a EP-4SGM8I mobo.
Attached Thumbnails
Temp monitor-temperature.jpg  
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2005, 09:08 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

theres no way that prescott core is only putting out 35°C during load, not without some hair dryer of a cooler on it, it must be being misread
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2005, 09:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Software Temperature monitors do that. I use motherboard monitor still, but once it tried telling me the CPU, under full load, was at -110C. Yes, that's a minus.
I hear that Mobo Monitor are no longer updating their motherboard lists, so whether it'll work with a newer mobo I do not know.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2005, 05:21 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Cool

Yeah i guess you're right because 35 is very low. Even the best processors don't have temperatures that low. What would you say the 'norm' is for prescott core CPU's?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home

Last edited by Got EpOx; 13th June, 2005 at 05:28 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2005, 06:20 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

50-70°c
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2005, 05:13 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Yeah sounds resonable without a proper cooling system.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2005, 05:17 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Hey did you know you can cool a system with dry ice (Solid Carbon Dioxide).

Check out this website, to find out how.

Dry ice cooling system
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2005, 05:34 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Yeah people have used dry ice for a while to reach one off crazy oc's

It does destroy the hardware though
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU temp monitor unrealistic! saquib AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 15th November, 2005 02:02 PM
Temp monitor MONKEYMAN AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 14th March, 2005 05:24 PM
monitor temp SwedishChef Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 2 27th October, 2004 04:16 AM
Temp monitor on Ep 8RGA+ Deadfish EPoX MotherBoards 7 21st April, 2003 12:55 PM
how to secure temp monitor? drow_elf Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 2 24th July, 2002 06:02 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0