AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2005, 02:36 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Talking Strange old Rig 1st time cooling

I have been given a very old rig
And I am wanting to OC it

It has ISA slots - 2

AMD K6-2 'chomper' 350MHz Socket 7
PC-Partner VIB878DS motherboard
Chipset VIA Apollo VT82C598MVP
Northbridge: VIA VT82C598MVP
Southbridge: VIA VT82C586
64MB RAM dont ask what type its old!!

I can have 2x64MB in the 72-pin SIMM socket
and 2x128MB in the 168-pin DIMM socket

Anybody even remember computers with them

Some stuff on the Mboard
http://www.pcpartner.com/support/man/via/887801.pdf

I would like to know how far I could push this chip – could it only go another 50 to 100MHz or could I potentially double the speed

I am looking at TEC cooling with water
I looked up the chip and the max thermal dissipation is 19.9W

So was thinking 1 peltier about 70W direct onto the CPU and adding the max dissipation of the CPU + 1st peltier + a bit, place a second directly on top of the first that is about 170W.

Then water cool the lot – including small water cooled heatsinks on both the southbridge and northbridge.

I am planning to build the custom water cooling myself,
which is no problem

Any suggestions on further cooling areas

I am wanting to use it as a server / firewall to my main rig and maybe do some folding on it
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2005, 03:29 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

K6-2's are set by jumpers i believe. So you can get whatever your board will give, provided you have sufficient cooling.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2005, 03:30 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

the later K6-2's would do 450-550 outa the box, but 550 is about all they would do if I remember right
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2005, 03:43 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by surlyjoe
the later K6-2's would do 450-550 outa the box, but 550 is about all they would do if I remember right
I'm pretty sure that 350 should do AT LEAST 400, but I'd shoot for around 450. I had a 450 that did 550 but I think I had to use a TEC to get r done.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2005, 04:27 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

the voltage can be set from 1.8 to 3.5V by jumpers on the m'board, it the same for the bus speed, multiplier and the dividers
The TEC and waterblock should give about 250W of cooling hopefully get temps down to about -40c
Just wondering if worth it, if I can only get about 100MHz out of it I wont spend so much - but if I can double it
Just wasn't sure what they would do
Also couldn't find anything about the old K6 on any of the forums
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2005, 06:06 AM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

K6-2 CPUs weren't very good overclockers. Fifty MHz was typical, 100 exceptional. The .18 micron K6-2/3+ mobile CPUs were better overclockers, but not by a whole lot. The full speed L2 cache was their biggest advantage. If you wanted to improve performance, one of them, or a standard K6-3 would be your best bet. But I don't really think that is the point here.

That board can run as fast as 600 MHz, maybe faster if there are settings for over 100 MHz FSB. The multiplier is in the CPU, 6x is the maximum. To get 6, set the motherboard for 2x. Your 350 probably has this, but I doubt it will do you much good. The chances of hitting 600 MHz with that chip are very slim, no matter how you cool it.
__________________
AOA Team fah

It is the dull man who is always sure, and the sure man who is always dull.
H. L. Mencken
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2005, 08:25 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

the VIA MVP is the overclocking K6 chipset to have. Keep in mind the fact that it can use 168-pin SDRAM, OR 72-pin EDO ram. Not both at the same time. It will boot, but it either doesnt address one bank, or does both extremely slowly. Whichever, it hampers performance considerably.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2005, 10:56 PM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Thankx guys

Think I'll just go with one ~150W Peltier and water cooling.
I can get one for about $35NZ (~$20US)
I'm hoping there will be enough room for watercooling the northbridge and southbridge.

Will keep you posted
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
doesnt boot first time, boots second time. sweety CRASHED! 5 22nd July, 2004 12:48 AM
Will water cooling be better than air cooling (PLEASE READ) Blackmyst Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 34 17th August, 2003 01:42 AM
Water Cooling - Cooling Agents? bradmax57 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 5 18th July, 2003 05:58 PM
New System first time water cooling RandyB Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 10 10th December, 2002 12:55 AM
"Your machine's time isn't synched to MSN's time. 25. cloasters OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 8 10th October, 2002 03:39 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0