AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2002, 06:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 3

Tell me about my Temperature

I've got an
AMD XP 1800
KR7A-Raid
ThermalTake Volcano CU6+ (7200 model)

my Idle temp is : 46 ~ 47

my Load temp is : 51 ~ 52

Is that good or bad?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2002, 06:55 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

is that at stock settings??
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2002, 07:54 PM
kplonk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 101
Send a message via ICQ to kplonk

sounds a bit hot to me, but then I'v got a water cooler
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2002, 08:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Guild, TN
Posts: 53

IMHO anything under 60*C is fairly safe at full load. But your temps are higher than what I like seeing on my system. My full load temps are under 40*C with air cooling.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2002, 12:37 PM
Noundi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sweden, Leksand
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to Noundi

hmm

sounds a big too hot to me too... but im not braggin about no water cooling ... anyway... this is how it looks for me...

I've got an
AMD XP 1700+
8KTA3
ThermalTake Volcano 7

my Idle temp is : 43 ~ 44

my Load temp is : 45 ~ 46

my FULL Load temp is : 47 ~ 48

im using a digital doc 5 to measure the temps so these figures are pretty exact...
__________________
- ExclusivePC.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2002, 02:00 PM
nullCRC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 270

Well, I've got:

Athalon XP 1600
8KHA+
Thermaltake Volcano 6cu (4500rpm)

Idle: 37-40
Load (dnet client): 45-47
Slammin load: 47-48
__________________
Press ALT+F4 to learn more

"If you can't make it good, make it look good." - Bill Gates, 1995

Defeat Autism Now!
Athalon XP 1600
Epox EP-8KHA+
Thermaltake Volcano 6cu
512MB Crucial DDR PC2100
Enlight EN-7237 AZ MT Case
Gainward GF3 Ti200 64MB Power Pack Golden Sample
Adaptec 2940UW
Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB SCSI
HP 9200i SCSI CDRW
Sony 50X IDE CDROM
Iomega 100 Internal Zip SCSI
Sony CPD-E500 21" Trinitron
NetGear RP114
RatPadz mousing surface
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2002, 12:35 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome to the neighborhood, mickeypo! The temps you report aren't bad. However summer is a comin' and there isn't a linear relationship to room temps and CPU temps. In other words, a 10F increase in room temp can make for a 14F increase in case temp and a 18F increase in processor temp. The noive!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2002, 02:48 AM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

Go for an Alpha 8045 and all your thermal problems will be solved.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2002, 03:14 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

mickeypo,
What is your case temp and your room temp?
From a functionality stand point, you are OK... But I tend to think you can get your temps down a bit.

My main rig (see sig) is basically running like a 1800+ stock should (stock voltage) and under load I get 42-44c. My case temp is in the mid 20's about 1c higher than room. From what I've heard, your heatsink is pretty ok, and if your case temp is in the 30s, try adding fans, if possible.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2002, 02:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 3

i've got 5 80 mm fans in this antec server casing.

Abir KR7A-RAID
2 hddisks
3 optical
32mb GTS (Hercules)
SBLive value
Realtek 10/100 card


Case Temp : 32.00c
CPU Temp (idle): 45.50c
CPU LOAD: 47~48c
CPU full load : 50~53c

I'm uneasy abt my temps cos i used to run a p3 and now i'm running a hot AMD.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2002, 03:29 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Nice case. I use the 1030 myself. 32c case seems high tho. Of the 4 case fans, I even turned off 1 in back and 1 in front since my case temp ran so cool. Your room must be pretty warm.

You are only 20c over the case temp under load. A better HSF would only get you a few more degrees improvement. At 53c, the CPU should be fine. Most AMDs I've seen don't seem to become unstable until 60c or so.

Keep in mind that if the air in the case is 32c, that's the theoretical best temp the CPU can hope for. With as many fans as you have on an Antec case, I tend to think your room temp is the ultimate cause. So unless you are planning on cooling the whole room, you probably won't see drastic improvement.

BTW, did you use AS2 or the generic TIM on the HSF? That might be good for 1-2c, too.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RDA6+ PRO CPU Temperature michel EPoX MotherBoards 2 4th April, 2006 01:44 PM
Temperature kymarkh EPoX MotherBoards 4 11th April, 2003 02:19 PM
CPU Temperature mcentee EPoX MotherBoards 10 6th March, 2003 11:34 PM
Temperature Sensor JohnK EPoX MotherBoards 10 18th December, 2002 05:59 PM
Temperature??? Iceman Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 15th May, 2002 02:01 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0