AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2005, 05:06 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

120mm Zalman on Ultra-D, RAM Interference?

If I put a 120mm Zalman HSF with my DFI NF4 Ultra-D, will I be able to put my RAM in the preferred slots 2 & 4 (the orange slots)? I was reading a review and came across this pic and realised that my slots were even closer to the cpu.
Attached Thumbnails
120mm Zalman on Ultra-D, RAM Interference?-zalman-interference.jpg  
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th August, 2005, 12:23 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Well, it appears that the 120mm Zalman 7700 will fit on a DFI Lanparty UT Ultra-D. Barely...
Attached Thumbnails
120mm Zalman on Ultra-D, RAM Interference?-zalman-7700-dfi-lanparty-ut-ultra   120mm Zalman on Ultra-D, RAM Interference?-zalman-7700-dfi-lanparty-ut-ultra   120mm Zalman on Ultra-D, RAM Interference?-zalman-7700-dfi-lanparty-ut-ultra   120mm Zalman on Ultra-D, RAM Interference?-zalman-7700-dfi-lanparty-ut-ultra  
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th August, 2005, 09:23 PM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

So you now have to remove your CPU fan in order to take that stick of ram out? I guess most people dont fiddle as much as I do.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2005, 08:49 PM
JALOOS's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 34

Look into the thermalright xp-90 heatsink. It has more clearence than the zalman and provides the benefit of active ram cooling as air will be blowing across your ram all the time LOL
__________________
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
AMD ATHLON 64 3500+ NEWCASTLE @ 2.60GHZ 260 mhz FSB
DIY SWAMP THING WATER COOLER
1024MB PC3200 DDR400 2.5 3 3 6 1T @ 432mhz
XFX 6600gt @ 600/1200
PCMARK04 : 5047 3DMark03 : 9813 3DMark01 SE :21374 Aquamark : 64909
Everest 1.51 MEM: READ: 6345 MB/S WRITE: 2575 MB/S Latency: 47.2 ns
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2005, 06:12 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

thermaltake big typhoon. beats all other heatsinks, and does not get in the way of changing ram. very lite, too, for it's size. my venice @ 1.65v only hits 36c...in 14c ambient.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2005, 08:43 PM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

i was lookin at the big typhoon...i might actually switch to one...its not too expensive, and would like to compare the two...
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of industry, pricing, loss, and media interference Gizmo Random Nonsense! 60 21st June, 2007 01:13 PM
Zalman NB47J on Nforce3 Ultra smiffy EPoX MotherBoards 3 21st March, 2007 03:55 PM
Graphics interference. MONKEYMAN Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 20th October, 2005 12:52 PM
cpu 120mm fan? sasrob Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 15 12th May, 2005 12:35 AM
Water pump causing monitor interference Lamentation Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 11 13th November, 2002 01:47 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0