AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2001, 03:43 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Overclock-Watercool "Big Momma"

For all those interested in these radiators, you can go to your local auto salvage yard and yank the heatercore out of a Pontiac Fiero for $5, it's the exact same part . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2001, 06:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Exeter, CA USA
Posts: 67

And I might add, no need to deal with Chip's flaky business practices.
__________________
Knowledge is useless, it’s what you do with it that counts.

If the supercooled, overclocking crowd discovers how fast duallies feel, there will be a stampede to build SMP rigs that will make the California gold rush look like a few little old ladies pushing shopping carts at the supermarket.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2001, 05:14 PM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

i am going to watercool what kind fo radiator will work with my Lian-Li PC70 with haeavey modding>>
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th October, 2001, 11:57 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by phiber
i am going to watercool what kind fo radiator will work with my Lian-Li PC70 with haeavey modding>>
I don't know, got any meassurements of were you want to put the radiator, and do you have any metal working skillz and toolz(for making fan shrouds and the like) . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2001, 04:14 AM
Jen Jen is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 138

Go here to decide what fits your needs. Then go to your local junk yard or auto parts store and buy it there.


http://www.heatercore4u.com/Make.htm
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2001, 05:25 AM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
I don't know, got any meassurements of were you want to put the radiator, and do you have any metal working skillz and toolz(for making fan shrouds and the like) . . . .
i will get you sizes later
but i want it on top of my PSU on the top corner of the case
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2001, 06:22 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

I mounted my radiator hehind the psu outside the case so that the psu fan cooled it off. I haven't had a problem with it yet. that setup is for those people who have computer noise and don't want extra fans on.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 22nd October, 2001, 03:37 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman
I mounted my radiator hehind the psu outside the case so that the psu fan cooled it off. I haven't had a problem with it yet. that setup is for those people who have computer noise and don't want extra fans on.
I think I would advise against this, or any other method, that forces warm air through the radiator. It is with a pretty good understanding of thermodynamics that I can say that every degree cooler the air passing through the radiator is, is a degree cooler the CPU should be. This is why companies like BeCooling recomend having fresh air pass through the radiator, with the radiator residing in the lower front portian of the case(remember that the lower the intake is in the room, the cooler the air is too).
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd October, 2001, 03:39 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
I think I would advise against this, or any other method, that forces warm air through the radiator. It is with a pretty good understanding of thermodynamics that I can say that every degree cooler the air passing through the radiator is, is a degree cooler the CPU should be. This is why companies like BeCooling recomend having fresh air pass through the radiator, with the radiator residing in the lower fron portian of the case(remember that the lower the intake is in the room, the cooler the air is too).
Yep. Sounds quite logical to me. But also, isn't the radiator causing an obstruction to the PSU exaust. It must slow down airflow at least a bit.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 22nd October, 2001, 04:41 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

I have a rad that i bought for $3 and its the Overclockwatercooled big momma.

Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd October, 2001, 11:59 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

I saw those points before I did it, and still decided to because A. it's 1 of 2 radiators running on the sytem. B. the air coming out of my psu isn't that warm at all(it's a high quality sparkle psu), and C. I ran that system fine without any fans cooling the radiators for about 6months and never had any problems, so this is still an improvement. Now that I'm out of a super-cold state though, things may be different.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latest ATI "R600," "R610" and "R630" details danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 9th January, 2007 10:44 AM
"cpu overclock failure" message and rainbow colors gplracer EPoX MotherBoards 1 18th August, 2003 10:21 AM
8rda+ Bios "cpu frequncy changed or overclock failure" Rhom EPoX MotherBoards 6 17th January, 2003 03:24 PM
HELP ! "WARNING! Cpu has changed or overclock fail" wrx1 EPoX MotherBoards 9 3rd January, 2003 07:02 AM
8KTA3+Pro: Why do I see "CPU is overclock fail", with no overclocking? Flarkit EPoX MotherBoards 9 28th December, 2002 10:54 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0