AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2005, 07:04 AM
JC Denton's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 201
Send a message via MSN to JC Denton

Question AMD 64 3000+ CPU Temp./Fan RPM

ok...i was watching this closely since i m running F@H all nights ( got 34 WUs done yay ) and when my CPU is at 100 % load it goes to a constant temperature of 53 C. now i know its not dangerously high but i noticed teh CPU fan RPMs and it looks kinda that teh fan is barely able to keep teh CPU at this low temp. the RPM is about 6000 (freaky huh? )

so is this ok or should i get additional cooling ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2005, 07:12 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

You may wanna 86 the "pad" that came on the bottom of the stock HSF and clean it all off and apply some Artic Silver.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2005, 07:14 AM
JC Denton's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 201
Send a message via MSN to JC Denton

ummm..ok....can u explain it a bit easier...cus im a n00b in this obviously...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2005, 07:29 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Well, what ever Heat Sync that you got probably came with some "gummy" material. Clean it off. But FIRST make sure you get yourself some Artic Silver (it can be had at just about any computer place now adays) Apply a thin later of it on the CPU (be sure to apply THIN and don't get it all over the place)

Also while I was writing this I'd be willing to be your case temps are probably pretty high. Take off your side cover and see how much your temps drop. If they drop alot your going to have to work on your case ventalation.
HTH
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2005, 02:48 PM
JC Denton's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 201
Send a message via MSN to JC Denton

yeah i think teh casing and the position of teh PC itself is teh problem.

its almost totally closed ( only one exhaust chassis fan ), the casing is METAL and teh position is also bad:
rear against the wall
left side by the desk's side

the PC position picture
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2005, 04:03 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I'd say you need at least ONE more fan in there if not two.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2005, 04:08 PM
JC Denton's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 201
Send a message via MSN to JC Denton

how about 5 into the side panel opposite of the MB?

yeah...i have only 4
CPU
GPU
PSU
chassis

and to add that only the chassis fan is the one that blows the air out of teh casing.

gonna make a few holes (where did i put that circular saw...just kidding )
__________________

Last edited by JC Denton; 14th November, 2005 at 04:14 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2005, 05:15 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Its not the best idea to take the side of your case off..
Its always best to have a controlled air enviroment, if you apply AS5, add a couple case fans, and maybe even a CPU fan (clean out dust too) then seal it back it, you'll be just fine.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2005, 05:48 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

ARRRRRGGGGHHHHHH!!!!! Beverage near the keyboard!!!!

Oh yeah, i would say you should get some arctic silver or if not that, get something like the chicago stuff (think that's the name), it's like a cheap version of it but is quite good. For AS though, take this into mind: 1 tube of the stuff will cover 16 athlons and i was told somewhere that the ideal thickness is about 1/16th of an inch. Don't know how correct this is but it seems about right.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2005, 06:44 PM
JC Denton's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 201
Send a message via MSN to JC Denton

Quote:
Originally Posted by skool h8r
ARRRRRGGGGHHHHHH!!!!! Beverage near the keyboard!!!!
LOL! well yeah...playing games can make u thirsty
dont worry...havent spilled it on my keyboard...yet
but i did it on my optical wireless mouse once. luckly i dried it and it continu working but i have a new one anyway.

i decided not to play with that paste nor even venture near my CPU ( im just not a technical guy when it comes to fine electronics ) so i decided i ll put 5 fans into teh side cover.

3 sucking air in and 2 personal jet engine exhaust nozzles

i think its better than messing with that weird gooey thing and theoretical all 5 fans cant fail at once.

http://users.volja.net/jc_raptor/fans.jpg
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2005, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Caaardiff
Posts: 27

You should buy another cooler and Artic silver if your really worried about it they do seem a little high for a 3000+ but that might be faulty mobo temp readings. How are you getting the temps anyway? My 4000+ (non OvC'd) barely touches 30c idle and 40c full load with stock cooling, but i do have Artic silver not AMD gunk, shaves off a few c's! Like said before if you do get AS, make sure its a THIN layer you put on.

edit: Isnt that the side your mobo tray is on? those 5 fans might not make any difference apart from loads of noise, lol. What are the other temps like in your case?
__________________
Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego
EPoX EP-9NPA+ Ultra (v1.1)
4x 512MB Corsair (TWINX1024-3200C2PT x2)
Connect 3D X800XL 256MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
2x Western Digital 80GB SATA 150 (160GB in Raid 0)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2005, 10:42 PM
JC Denton's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 201
Send a message via MSN to JC Denton

got it fixed a bit...moved teh PC on ym desk ( more open space ) and cleaned the interior...pheww....dusty dusty dusty...

but i m still going to buy a bigger casing ( this one has all hte guts crowded together ) and 5 fans with neons .

lost about 15 degres and relieved the CPU fan for 2000 RPMs.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2005, 12:06 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

My Socket 939 Athlon 64 3000+ Venice runs at 25c's with the stock cooler according to my motherboard and PC Wizard (from www.cpuid.org). The second I got it wiped the goop that came on the bottom of it and just replaced it with some cheap thermal paste applied correctly. While folding my processor also runs at 100%, which is what I would expect seeing as how I don't fold while doing any serious task such as gaming.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A64 3000+ Temps on WC carlo75 64 Bit computing 14 16th June, 2005 03:34 AM
oh dear, 3000+ ajopz CRASHED! 15 21st May, 2005 02:33 AM
Another gig in my AV8/A64 3000+...= slower? tianlian AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 31st March, 2005 07:26 PM
Big Red Breaks 3000 !!! Southern Man ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 9 8th January, 2003 12:46 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0