AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2002, 12:36 AM
Poseidonf4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Help!!!!

I just installed a watercooling system in my pIII 550 computer w/ a soyo 6ba+IV motherboard. In order to get the whole rig to fit, i had to remove some stuff (like the cpu mounting bracket on the motherboard) and now my bios is reporting temps ranging from 220 to 32 degrees fluctuating up to 188 degrees each time it updates from teh sensor on my motherboard! can someone please tell me why this is? Did I break the temperature sensor? it is obviously not correct, cause windows would NEVER have started at 220 degrees, and it seems pretty stable.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2002, 01:19 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Does the Hardware Monitor in BIOS give you the same wacky temperature reports?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2002, 01:41 AM
Poseidonf4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

yes it does, but hardware temperature monitor pro gives me the EXACt same temps as when i had my stock hsf installed, which is obviously bull****.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2002, 02:24 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

You will reach system bus speed limitations with a 550E before you will reach temperature limitations. Water-cooling simply is not needed with P3 500-600E's . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2002, 01:29 PM
Poseidonf4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

yeah i know, i just want to reach the system bus limitations. The reason i built the water cooling system is,

1. i got a crazy good deal, less than $40 for the whole thing, w/ no skimping on anything, and

2. I am planning on upgrading my motherboard and processor pretty soon, in which case i will need water cooling.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0