AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2006, 05:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 61

Cooling problem

I'm running an AMD athlon64 3700, with no overclocking at the moment. Here's my problem:
I recently replaced my stock AMD fan with a Thermaltake x-blower and added some Arctic silver 5 to try and lower my temps a few degrees without buying a new HSF. However, after my modifications the temps are way higher than they were. (idle 37-38c)
I followed the application instructions from the arctic silver website exactly as they said, but the only thing is that after I applied it, I left for the day and didn't get a chance to run any stress tests to heat it up first, I also can't remember if I left the PC off or on during the time I was gone.

It's been more than a week, so I know the AS5 has cured by now, but the temps are definatley too high as they are. Should I clean the AS5 off and re-apply, or am I just going to have to live with these temps until I can buy a new HSF?
Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
__________________

Last edited by Toastmaster; 3rd April, 2006 at 05:47 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2006, 05:33 AM
QSDT's Avatar
Member
Alien Clones Champion
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Queensland Australia ''Oh'' the beauitful sunny coast!
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to QSDT

What chip are you using?
__________________
Abit NF7, AMD XP(not mobile) 2000+ @ 2.315Ghz with L12 mod.
Abit AN7, AMD XP(not mobile)2500+ Barton@2.442Ghz
MSI 6600GT Core@618Mhz / Ram 1.21Ghz Pencil volt modded @ 1.66volts.
Monitor Dell 24'' 2407WFP ''WOW that's all I can say''

Why is Phonetic not spelt Phonetically, and why is the word Abbreviation so long?

My Ex gives 100% sound adivce, 99% sound, 1% adivce.

69% of all statistics are made up!

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2006, 05:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 61

Quote:
Originally Posted by QSDT
What chip are you using?
Ah, sorry. Forgot to add that.
It's an AMD athlon64 3700, I have cool'n'quiet enabled, and I'm not overclocking anything.
I think I'll edit that into the first post.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2006, 06:07 AM
QSDT's Avatar
Member
Alien Clones Champion
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Queensland Australia ''Oh'' the beauitful sunny coast!
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to QSDT

Well the artic silver worked for my temps and I didn't follow any instructions, does the quite n cool adjust your fan speeds? If so maybe the blower needs some different settings than your standard one.
__________________
Abit NF7, AMD XP(not mobile) 2000+ @ 2.315Ghz with L12 mod.
Abit AN7, AMD XP(not mobile)2500+ Barton@2.442Ghz
MSI 6600GT Core@618Mhz / Ram 1.21Ghz Pencil volt modded @ 1.66volts.
Monitor Dell 24'' 2407WFP ''WOW that's all I can say''

Why is Phonetic not spelt Phonetically, and why is the word Abbreviation so long?

My Ex gives 100% sound adivce, 99% sound, 1% adivce.

69% of all statistics are made up!

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th April, 2006, 05:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 61

Sorry for the late reply, but I think I've figured it out.

The problem wasn't the fan, because I had it hooked up to the external controller, and I'd been leaving it on high due to the temps.
Part of the problem was the arctic silver, I mentioned I didn't get a chance to heat it up then let it cool when I put it on, so I went ahead and re-applied, and my temps are already about 5 degrees lower.

The other part of my problem is that I think my temp monitor is wrong by 5 or so degrees.
I read that if you let your cpu cool down to room temp, then turn it on and go to bios, the temp should be within 5 degrees of room temperature.
So I let it cool overnight, turned it on, and in bios it said it was already 34 degrees, but room temp was 19!

I guess I need to buy an external sensor to make sure.
__________________
Biostar n4sli-a9
AMD athlon64 X2 4600+ @ 2.6
XFX 8800 GTS 320
2x 1 Gb g.skill PC3200
Maxtor 100GB SATA
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will water cooling be better than air cooling (PLEASE READ) Blackmyst Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 34 17th August, 2003 01:42 AM
Water Cooling - Cooling Agents? bradmax57 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 5 18th July, 2003 05:58 PM
My cooling problem....need help? danaltick Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 8 24th May, 2002 06:02 PM
My cooling problem....need help? danaltick EPoX MotherBoards 5 23rd May, 2002 10:56 PM
New P3 .... cooling problem Holst Intel Motherboards & CPUs 13 9th March, 2002 02:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0