AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2002, 12:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 12

Unhappy BURNING hot celey

hi all,

i just changed my motherboard to an asus p3v 4x and i'm running a socket 370 celeron 1 gig with a socket370-->slot 1 converter.

i went into bios to check the temperature, and it reported my mobo temp to be 33C and cpu at 56C. i seem to remember it running at around 30-40C before...

so then i go into winxp, and i run some kinda monitoring program, which i think is less accurate than the bios hardware monitor, and it reports my cpu to run at 38-41C at idle and up to 56-60C under full load - 100% cpu usage. i'm sure this can't be right when everyone else is getting full load temps around 40C.

although, i was trying to put my celeron onto another mobo, a socket 370, and when i was trying to get the heatsink off, a piece of the platic clip, that came with the stock hsf broke off... ...but i still managed to fasten the heatsink onto the cpu afterwards. still, i don't think it fit too well, it's probably not as secure as it was before.

is this probably why my cpu is so hot? i've heard a lot of great things about the people at this forum and i hope someone can offer some insight.

thanks a lot
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2002, 02:10 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

if the heatsink is not seated proprely your temps will be too high. that is probably your problem, try reseating it, and be sure to apply new thermal compound each time you remove/replace it
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2002, 02:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 12

yeah, i think cause the clip is sort of missing a tiny piece, the pressure isn't balanced, so it's not being seated very well...

thanks for replying
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2002, 12:24 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome to AOA Forums, tiburon!
Above 50C enters the danger zone for P3E/CII's. Intel's published heat limits for these processors are pure fantasy.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2002, 12:03 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

ask around, you may find a clip that attatches to the outside lugs , I know PC power and cooling used to make one...
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2002, 08:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 12

Talking

the hunt begins
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2002, 09:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 12

does anyone know if there's a program that will accurately monitor my cpu temperature , and preferably keep a log. my motherboard is sort of screwy, it's not displaying my multiplier properly...it shows 6, when my multiplier is actually 10. so i'm not too trusting of the way it shows my cpu temp at 46-50 on boot up from having been left alone for several hours.

i used speedfan 4.02 and it shows my cpu temp at 42 idle and 48-50 under full load. this probably isn't as accurate as the bios monitor SHOULD be though...

also, is my cpu usage supposed to fluctuate so much? for a second, it's at 100%, then 2%, then 95%....etc. that's happening now, as i type this post, and the only thing on is IE and task manager. using winxp pro, do all those 'processes' contribute a lot to this?

thanks for any help
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2002, 11:56 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by tiburon
does anyone know if there's a program that will accurately monitor my cpu temperature , and preferably keep a log. my motherboard is sort of screwy, it's not displaying my multiplier properly...it shows 6, when my multiplier is actually 10. so i'm not too trusting of the way it shows my cpu temp at 46-50 on boot up from having been left alone for several hours.

i used speedfan 4.02 and it shows my cpu temp at 42 idle and 48-50 under full load. this probably isn't as accurate as the bios monitor SHOULD be though...

also, is my cpu usage supposed to fluctuate so much? for a second, it's at 100%, then 2%, then 95%....etc. that's happening now, as i type this post, and the only thing on is IE and task manager. using winxp pro, do all those 'processes' contribute a lot to this?

thanks for any help
in this case no program will accurately detect your temps because the temp probe itself isn't accurate.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th March, 2002, 04:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 12

ahhh, i see. i guess to be on the safe side, i should really replace that hs and clip..

does an overheated cpu progressively display symptoms of overheating? or does it just suddenly cease to work?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Burning in RAM Cproflow General Hardware Discussion 2 25th August, 2005 03:10 AM
Burning VCD on to DVD-R Rondog OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 6th July, 2005 01:53 PM
Burning in? slack AMD Motherboards & CPUs 12 24th October, 2002 09:44 AM
Burning in RAM dod General Hardware Discussion 5 29th August, 2002 08:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0