AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2002, 02:29 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

what the hell is a CFM ?

see topic.

and could you compare XCfm to something in real life
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2002, 04:03 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Cubic Foot per Minute. It is a volume per time frame unit.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2002, 06:12 AM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

Or how many cubic feet (or foot or whatever they say in US?) of air a fan moves in a minute.
__________________
!!!!Leafs are still #1!!!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2002, 06:29 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

It's foot until you start talking plural. So 1CFM is "One cubic foot per minute", and 2CFM is "Two cubic feet per minute". As the question was asked in the singular form "what the hell is a CFM?", I gave the singular answer.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2002, 06:39 AM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
As the question was asked in the singular form "what the hell is a CFM?", I gave the singular answer.
No argument there! All my life I used metric system. Imperial is a new world to me...
__________________
!!!!Leafs are still #1!!!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2002, 09:08 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I thought it was an SAE unit of measurement, this is the first I have ever heard SAE units described as the "Imperial System". It must be an old school thing.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2002, 12:01 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

its called imperial cos it was used by the british empire, what does SAE stand for jeff?

wierdf point though, american gallons are smaller than imperial gallons, no idea why, an imperial gallon of avgas weighs 7.2 lbs, whereas a US gallon is 6 lbs
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2002, 06:26 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by Random Nonsense
its called imperial cos it was used by the british empire, what does SAE stand for jeff?

wierdf point though, american gallons are smaller than imperial gallons, no idea why, an imperial gallon of avgas weighs 7.2 lbs, whereas a US gallon is 6 lbs
SAE stands for society of automotive engineers.

And as for gallons, are you sure you have that right. I think a US gallon of water weighs closer to 9 pounds . . .

***EDIT***
Just looked it up, a US gallon weighs 8.33 lbs, I was thinking it was 8.66 lbs for some reason, but I was close.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 14th March, 2002 at 06:29 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2002, 07:11 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
SAE stands for society of automotive engineers.

And as for gallons, are you sure you have that right. I think a US gallon of water weighs closer to 9 pounds . . .

***EDIT***
Just looked it up, a US gallon weighs 8.33 lbs, I was thinking it was 8.66 lbs for some reason, but I was close.
i think an imperial gallon of water is 10 lbs, since avgas has an SG of about .7 i believe
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hell Yes~ The Spyder Random Nonsense! 1 16th November, 2002 11:09 PM
What the hell? Random Nonsense CRASHED! 25 8th October, 2002 01:24 PM
What the hell is this?? Pinky Random Nonsense! 18 15th September, 2002 01:44 AM
Hell? mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 0 1st August, 2002 02:47 AM
What the hell is this? pug ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 8 3rd October, 2001 01:17 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0