AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2006, 02:52 PM
Member
Curveball Champion, Hexxagon Champion, Mahjong. Champion, Virus 2 Champion, King of the Hill Champion, Super Mario Boat Bonanza Champion, Zelda Champion
 
Join Date: July 2006
Posts: 76

7600GS, and on-die thermal diode

Hi all. I currently have a 7600GS, overclocked quite nicely, and would like to go further. I am a little confused about a couple of things however. Let me illustrate with a screenie.

In the system tray is the GPU temperature from ATITool - 66°. However, in RivaTuner, the temp is 57°. I noticed this difference after enabling the "on-die thermal diode" plugin in the RivaTuner setup. I also did some googling, and found that the on-die thermal diode would be the most accurate sensor for reporting temps. But this is confusing, since it reports lower temps than the "built in data provider". Could someone perhaps shed some light on this one?

Many thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2006, 03:25 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

In all honesty both are very inaccurate. Are these load temps, or idle temps by the way? because 60ish load is great for a 6600GT, while 60 idle isn't that good.

I would definitely lean more towards the rivatuner temperature though.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2006, 11:44 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

In all likelyhood, the Rivatuner reading is a direct diode reading, whereas the ATITool reading is a 'calibrated' reading, meaning that there is some offset or scaling applied to it to account for variations (both real and imagined) from unit to unit. I'm with Dsio, I'd tend to trust the Rivatuner reading more, but they are both going to be suspect. Without some method of calibration, you aren't going to get closer than about +/- 5 degrees of the actual temperature.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2006, 10:21 AM
Member
Curveball Champion, Hexxagon Champion, Mahjong. Champion, Virus 2 Champion, King of the Hill Champion, Super Mario Boat Bonanza Champion, Zelda Champion
 
Join Date: July 2006
Posts: 76

Alright, cool. I thought the thermal diode would be more accurate, but was just confused since it reported temps lower than the other. That's good - means I can o/c the core a fair bit more.

Those are load temps. It idles at around 30°C.

Hmm. Considering that both of these are inaccurate, what do you guys think would be a safe maximum temp, according to the Rivatuner thermal diode reading?

Thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2006, 11:53 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Till it artefacts
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2006, 01:58 PM
Member
Curveball Champion, Hexxagon Champion, Mahjong. Champion, Virus 2 Champion, King of the Hill Champion, Super Mario Boat Bonanza Champion, Zelda Champion
 
Join Date: July 2006
Posts: 76

Quote:
Originally Posted by MONKEYMAN
Till it artefacts
Ok. Artifacts hit at around 70°, so I'll stick below this. Managed 750Mhz on the core - a nice increase over the 450Mhz stock level.

Thanks for the help all.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2006, 10:02 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

WOW. Is the 7600GS AGP?

I want stock 3dmark scores and overclocked!
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th August, 2006, 07:22 AM
Member
Curveball Champion, Hexxagon Champion, Mahjong. Champion, Virus 2 Champion, King of the Hill Champion, Super Mario Boat Bonanza Champion, Zelda Champion
 
Join Date: July 2006
Posts: 76

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog
WOW. Is the 7600GS AGP?

I want stock 3dmark scores and overclocked!
Nay, PCI-e.

3dMark is too big for me to d/l on 56k. But you can check this review for 3dmark scores of a 7600GS with very similar speeds.

At stock, mine was 450/800. After o/c, it is 750/900. So the o/c speed is very close to the 7600GS in that review.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2006, 11:25 AM
Member
Curveball Champion, Hexxagon Champion, Mahjong. Champion, Virus 2 Champion, King of the Hill Champion, Super Mario Boat Bonanza Champion, Zelda Champion
 
Join Date: July 2006
Posts: 76

Ok, I stopped being lazy and d/l'ed 3dmark03.

System specs are Sempron 2800+ @ 2.7Ghz & 512Mb RAM @ 225Mhz.

450 / 800: 9200

750 / 900: 10950
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NF7-S CPU Thermal Diode Mod, Version 2.0 Gizmo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 56 14th October, 2006 08:34 AM
8RDA3+ CPU Thermal Diode Mod Per Hansson Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 1 20th October, 2004 03:02 PM
NF7-S CPU Thermal Diode Mod, Version 2.0 Gizmo AOA FAQ 4 13th June, 2004 04:52 PM
NF7-S CPU Thermal Diode Mod Gizmo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 9th June, 2004 05:20 AM
Where's the thermal diode? Wetling EPoX MotherBoards 13 23rd February, 2003 10:29 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0