AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2002, 08:25 PM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

my problem

i have an external fishtank that cools my computer....so i need to take my pipes out the back of my case....to do this i use my PCI slot....but wat i have to change water or mave it around...i have to take over 2-3 feet of piping out of the PCI slot....and this is without spilling it on my computer...(i have already spilt water on my mobo accidently....becuz of thiss) now wat im thinking is to get some sort of valve/barb combo in which i will cut holes on the side of my ccase and put the barbs on the inside and outside of the side and then a valve inbetween....so when i want to take the pipes apart....i close the vavles and take the pips off on the outisde...and im set to go....now tell me....is this feasible if this is...wat would i need?
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2002, 09:17 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Time for experienced water cooling folks to jump on this thread, please. It sounds logical, but water cooling remains an unknown for me.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2002, 10:30 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

You need a pair of no-spill couplers, but they're not cheap, they're not easy to find, and they will impede water flow quite a bit . . .

As far as were to find them . . . I recommend trying some place that services things like fountain soda machines. Soda machines use such couplers for the hoses that connect to the syrup box or canister . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2002, 10:45 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

phiber, if you dont mind draining the system before disconnecting i have just the things for you, Festo quick release fasteners, they are made for pnuematic systems but are fine for liquid too. you will need a barb with female threads for inside the case, but they are probably easy enough to get made. heres the pic of the kind of connector
Attached Images
 
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2002, 11:48 PM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

half of the problem is that its hard to drain out the system....
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2002, 11:50 PM
kplonk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 101
Send a message via ICQ to kplonk

If size is not an issue then you can use hozelock system 2 connectors (uk only I think) they are cheapish and will connect to 15-19 mm hose. Check out b&Q or homebase

there are also lots of connectors on that will be worth a look. You have to watch flow rate though
flowtech
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem running 1T, Possible bios problem? Jay T EPoX MotherBoards 9 7th August, 2005 11:23 PM
o/c problem,KHX 3200A or NF7-Sv2.0 problem bostjan AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 2nd December, 2003 02:16 PM
8rda+ problem? or cpu problem? m1ke101 EPoX MotherBoards 4 15th May, 2003 09:58 AM
Big problem with 8k5a2+ new problem Raedon EPoX MotherBoards 17 8th November, 2002 06:34 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0