AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2006, 07:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2006
Location: Niagara Falls Canada
Posts: 2

Talking CPU Temp. Monitoring

Hello all. N00btard to this forum. Looks promising.

I'm curious- Have any of you found a CPU temperature-monitoring app. that works with Windoze 64-bit Vista R.C.2 (build 5744)? The one bundled with my mobo (P5WD2) is not compatible, and it wasn't accurate at any rate. I found a 'desktop Gadget' that does, but I don't trust it.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2006, 08:37 AM
MrSeanKon's Avatar
OcBible Creator
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Athens in love with Anna :)
Posts: 788

Welcome to Aoaforums!
You should post more info.
What's your CPU and your mainboard?
Have you tried something of them click here I mean MBM, CoreTemp etc???
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2006, 01:14 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

None are going to be dead accurate. Use them only as a reference.

I use everest home as a quick check. Not sure if it works on Vista 64 bit.

Your probably ok using the mobo software.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2006, 01:52 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Speedfan offers all the features you need to monitor most mainboards and temperatures (as well as voltages and fan speeds).
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2006, 03:40 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I haven't used speedfan in a while...

Good on...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2006, 03:58 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Intels 'TaT' is good program that works in vista, and reads the on chip thermal monitor correctly. However it only supports pentium m, and core / core 2 chips.
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2006, 08:17 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

For nVidia chipsets, try nTune.

Don't know much about that motherboard, so I dunno whether it'll have a nVidia chipset or not.

And welcome to AOA! =D
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2006, 02:48 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

The P5WD2 i believe is on the i955 chipset, it predates the now commonly used and similarly named p5wdh which is a i975x board
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2006, 10:10 AM
MrSeanKon's Avatar
OcBible Creator
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Athens in love with Anna :)
Posts: 788

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
Your probably ok using the mobo software.
Honestly I use mobo's software cos I do not want many installed applications for the same thing.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2006, 12:40 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

I dont use any temperature monitors or anything, don't need them. I trust that my mobo is monitoring all the values by itself and will take the appropriate action when somthing goes a mis.

I do use TAT every once in a while for a giggle (mainly when its really cold outside and i've got my water coolent in the cold air almost freezing) It was funny to see the fully loaded temp of my system on die to read just over 30C (usually reads about 50c) and when i let it idle the cpu dropped to single figures.
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temp Monitoring Software for MSI k9n Plat. Mobo!?! thejamesvolta Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 7 22nd September, 2006 09:43 AM
temp monitoring a slot 1 P2 calgar Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 27th July, 2005 08:53 PM
Enabled temp. monitoring Gunny2times Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 5 1st July, 2005 05:24 PM
Temp monitoring Random Nonsense Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 11 4th December, 2001 04:48 AM
What's best for Monitoring temp? pony35th Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 5 20th October, 2001 02:21 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0