AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2006, 02:50 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Its cold outside :-)

Quite possibly the coldest i've had my cpu's to date, its a good thing i've got anti freeze in my coolent!

Note TAT reads about 15C warmer than the motherboard probes, and this is both cores fully loaded and overclocked by nearly a GHz!

2nd image is with the cores mostly idle (no thermal monitoring or slowing down or anything like that!)
Attached Thumbnails
Its cold outside :-)-cold.jpg   Its cold outside :-)-cold2.jpg  
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah

Last edited by keithwalton; 22nd December, 2006 at 02:58 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2006, 03:15 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

This is what the bios reads, first is same full kilt settings, the second is the system rebooted to stock speeds of course there will be latent heat in my coolent from the previous settings so it could get cooler!
Attached Thumbnails
Its cold outside :-)-img_0294b.jpg   Its cold outside :-)-img_0296b.jpg  
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2006, 03:44 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Have you got a rad outside?

Watch you don't get any condensation in there when it warms up again!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2006, 01:15 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I usually put my radiator outside in the winter. It is mounted in my case at present. Nice temps...How far can you push it now?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2006, 02:54 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Its not the water you need to worry about. Its the condensation formed by the temp difference on the waterblock. You WILL get condensation.

Post again when you have to insulate/ seal the board with a rubberized coating to prevent condensation from using a vapochill or LN.....
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2006, 09:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

I think the lowest CPU temp I've ever had is 16 Celsius indoors!
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2006, 09:41 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Yes the rads are as good as outside, they are wedged in the opening of my window, its quite abit warmer now so temps are upto around 40c using tat. I should really of checked the waterblock when temps were that low, the rest of my case is warm which should help.

As for overclocks, it posted at 4GHz but vista threw a hissy fit and xp was as stable as a 3 legged mountain goat (see ancient simpsons) getting the voltage correct would appear to be the key. i use 1.5875v normally, to get 4GHz i needid 1.625v just to post, increasing the voltage abit made it more stable / able to boot into xp.
increasing it past 1.65v however made it restart on loading xp.
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2006, 10:14 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

selecting higher than 1.65 introduces huge vdroop in cpu votlage, and hence your issues.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another look at cold fusion. mookydooky Random Nonsense! 0 26th March, 2004 03:58 AM
PC too cold? doogie_howser Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 5 10th November, 2003 09:09 PM
Help! My CPU is too cold LOL Soul99 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 8 7th October, 2003 04:34 PM
cold front kat Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 2 17th April, 2003 09:42 PM
Looking for a cold solution JINXED02 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 19 23rd August, 2002 09:17 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0