AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2002, 08:21 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

DangerDen Maze3!!!!

I want one of these.............. I think ill have to do a review :-D

Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2002, 10:46 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

they do look nice dont they! wonder how they perform! let us know if you do decide to get one!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2002, 04:27 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Hmm, looks like they added turbulators to the channels. Also it seems they finally figured out that sand-blasting the channels increases turbulance and surface area, I've been doing that for like a year with my own stuff.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2002, 05:08 AM
Qube's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: :: Canada ::
Posts: 24
Send a message via ICQ to Qube

Performance is on par with the Maze 2 Not any worse but far more beautiful.
__________________
We're Cooling for a better Canada...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2002, 06:02 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

At $42 im orderin one!
spYDER
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2002, 06:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Beech Island,SC
Posts: 222

Ordered one of the Maze3 to replace my old Maze1 water block. The Maze1 still cools good but thought it was time to upgrade it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd April, 2002, 06:11 PM
BongWater
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Any concerns with the Lucite top? Just wonderin'
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 22nd April, 2002, 06:25 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by BongWater
Any concerns with the Lucite top? Just wonderin'
Looks like they sealed it up with an O-ring. Had they used silcone sealant or something similar I'd be concerned, but O-rings are quite safe and quite reliable in high pressure applications.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd April, 2002, 07:15 PM
BongWater
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Yeah that kinda confirms what I'd heard but it always pays to ask. They do look realy sweet.

Dimmreaper you have any particular blocks you'd recommend?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2002, 07:20 PM
Orbit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 466
Send a message via ICQ to Orbit Send a message via Yahoo to Orbit

I just bought one, too. It's on it's way, supposedly. I built an outside box for the rad and pump, if anyone's interested. I have some pix up, of the project so far, and plan to chronicle the rest of it when the pump and waterblock and stuff gets here next week.
We'll see if the Maze3 works or not, and I can't wait.

External Pump House

UPDATE: 5/01 - Got the waterblock, pump and hose today, still working on the box, proly get it installed on Friday if it don't leak tomorrow. Looking forward to it as you can imagine.

UPDATE: 5/02 - Thursday, got up early, got the hoses connected and on my way to leak testing. New pics up of the steps so far.
__________________

A Chieftec with a bunch of PCB's, Drives, Cables, and Water

-----------------------------------------------------------
Laws are for the lawless, who disregard them anyway... Crow

Last edited by Orbit; 2nd May, 2002 at 03:43 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd May, 2002, 12:01 AM
Orbit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 466
Send a message via ICQ to Orbit Send a message via Yahoo to Orbit

Project Completed !

Today's the day. I let it run for about 2 or 3 hours, no drips, so I just put it in. Cut out one of the rear fan grills on the case to get the block in, plugged it in, and it took right off. I have a 12v relay from the box's psu to the pump box to start the pump and fan when the main box kicks on. It works very well, I'm very satisfied.

The noise level went down as did the temps, both dramatically. It was a lot of work, but spread out over a couple weeks made it easy.

Any questions, just write me. ;0) Crow
__________________

A Chieftec with a bunch of PCB's, Drives, Cables, and Water

-----------------------------------------------------------
Laws are for the lawless, who disregard them anyway... Crow
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 3rd May, 2002, 06:09 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

What type of temps on what type of a processor w/ what rad?
SPyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 3rd May, 2002, 07:05 PM
Orbit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 466
Send a message via ICQ to Orbit Send a message via Yahoo to Orbit

The system is in my sig. The temps are running about 5 C over ambient when I'm running United Devices in the background. Also running o/c mildly at 139 fsb for 1600MHz. I'm running at 36C now on the cpu, running United Devices.
Radiator is a '93 Chevy P/U Heater Core. Works well.

What I like most is the quiet compared to before, and being able to 'go fast' without worrying about heat this summer.

Since I don't have the extra money to invest in an Innovatek block, my first choice, I have no way to compare real differences on my system, sorry. I just know from what I USED to be at to what I'm at now, and overall, the cpu temps are down about 7 to 10 C below what they were with the V77-L HSF, which wasn't a bad little noisemaker, btw, for cooling.
__________________

A Chieftec with a bunch of PCB's, Drives, Cables, and Water

-----------------------------------------------------------
Laws are for the lawless, who disregard them anyway... Crow
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 4th May, 2002, 11:35 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Is there a reason that your cpu is clocked so low?- my 1800 does 1813 :-D air cooled-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2002, 07:21 AM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

I broke down and dusted off the Visa card and sent DangerDan what he wants for one of those babys.

Now I have a qusetion to put to you guys.

I'm running one copper block from a pump sitting in a 5 gal. paint bucker on the floor. It does a good job of keeping my xp1700+ cool with a little clocking from the multiplyer. I personally think it moves the water a little too fast through the block for a good transfer of heat. Has anyone ever tried to run 2 cpu blocks from one water pump. I was thinking Y adapters. Or should I get a new pump and stick it in the same 5gal. bucket with the other pump?

Or better yet....Get a little hightr volume pump to distribute the flow to the blocks and use the old pump to lift the water for a ping pong ball bong tower made from the existing bucket and a piece of pcv pipe bolted to the edge.

I already have my heat buildup problem in the computer room solved by ducting the heat from the back of 2 boxes for now ( soon all 4) out the window using a bathroom vent fan mounted in a cardboard box and pointing out the window. Ambient has dropped 10deg C in here in an hour. It looks ugly but she works.

Here's a couple of pics after the project is done. I build it with cardboard first and then progress to better materials after I get an Idea of what it's going to act like, and if I need changes.
Attached Thumbnails
DangerDen Maze3!!!!-p0001382.jpg  
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------


Last edited by Southern Man; 6th May, 2002 at 07:30 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2002, 07:22 AM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

The shroud around the backs of the computers where all of the heat blows off.........
Attached Thumbnails
DangerDen Maze3!!!!-p0001380.jpg  
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2002, 07:23 AM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

And the cardboard box where I put a bathroom 70cfm fan to draw the heat from the room.

Definatly a prototype in this stage of develpoment but it has brought the ambient temp in the room down 7deg. C and the 1.4 athlon in the box on the left has dropped 5deg. C. I think it was just sucking the hot air from the back reflecting off of the wall, right back into the box.

I'll be working on getting all 4 boxes under the shroud and see what results I have then.
Attached Thumbnails
DangerDen Maze3!!!!-p0001381.jpg  
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------


Last edited by Southern Man; 6th May, 2002 at 07:27 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2002, 05:11 PM
Orbit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 466
Send a message via ICQ to Orbit Send a message via Yahoo to Orbit

Spyder462:

I tried running higher fsb's but this XP1800 has the crisped out L1 contacts on the L3 side, and is almost impossible to unlock to change the mulitplier.

It runs 2 degrees cooler with a fsb of 139 than it does at stock 133, don't ask me why, but I like it.

In real life, I didn't notice any difference between 1.66GHz and 1.53 GHz, when I ran the fsb up to 145--the only way I can tell is with Sisoft. And, since it runs stable at 139, and the CPU temps are in the 30's with virtually no noise compared to the previous aircooled setup, I'm a happy camper.

Not all of us water people are hardcore overclockers. I use my system to make money, not just to see how high of a theoretical benchmark I can post, and I want it to run as long as it will without resetting the BIOS, etc. Been there, done that.

I figure I'll just wait until the Thoroughbreds are out, and go that route.
__________________

A Chieftec with a bunch of PCB's, Drives, Cables, and Water

-----------------------------------------------------------
Laws are for the lawless, who disregard them anyway... Crow

Last edited by Orbit; 8th May, 2002 at 05:17 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the difference between a Dangerden TDX and a Dangerden RBX cooler? Rondog Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 17th August, 2005 09:08 PM
mcw5000 vs maze3 ichorid Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 9 5th June, 2003 08:07 PM
8RDA+ and DangerDen Chris`I EPoX MotherBoards 4 19th January, 2003 12:07 AM
8RDA+ and Maze3 [H]eadup EPoX MotherBoards 1 1st December, 2002 01:32 AM
D00D~ Dangerden DELIVERS~ The Spyder Random Nonsense! 3 30th June, 2002 10:31 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0