AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2007, 12:40 AM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

New toy for fun...but its broken :(

My friend saw the sale on the aquagates (cooler master), and he went ahead and bought one. After giving up setting it up ( I sat idly by and watched knowing what would happen...), he offered it to me to to set up and play with.

So I spent the day today hooking it up which proved to be a slight pain at times, but its more or less up and running now.

I got it turned on and the pump going, but no LCD! Oh well I thought, no biggie...so I go into windows.

The temps looked good at first but when I loaded up prime to generate some heat, the temps rose and rose....and rose......and rose.....and rose...

Obviously the cooling pro I am I realized the fan had to be not running. So I did what we all would do and ripped it open and found the fan, an 80mm blower of a fan hooked into the onboard LCD controller. Well, I guess that the LCD and the fan are linked (probably the former controls the latter).

I have everything hooked up as its supposed to, except the thermal probe is just sorta hanging there since I forgot to wedge it in there with the block. Anyone have any suggestions as to why the LCD and fan aren't coming on with this hunk of crap? I really wanna see what it'll do with a fan going....
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2007, 12:58 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Only thing I can think of is that you try to "wedge" the thermal probe in to the block and see where that gets you. If that doesn't work, it sounds like you might need an RMA.
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2007, 01:01 AM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

I put it on the proc and held it there, no dice, i don't understand this thing :-p
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help new parts broken? helpmeone Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 13th December, 2004 08:53 PM
something must be broken this time..... graftonater CRASHED! 8 28th May, 2004 01:41 PM
Modded My Broken GF2 GTS Biohazard Hardware Hacking 20 4th September, 2003 05:03 AM
CPU broken i think -=Matrix=- CRASHED! 16 31st August, 2003 09:37 AM
Help, I even can't detect what's broken oaydin CRASHED! 8 24th December, 2001 03:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0