AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2001, 10:51 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Anyone know where the in-socket thermistor of ECS K7S5A's is?

In my hurry to get my recently new ECS K7S5A up and running,
I neglected to look at the thermistor that(should) be inside the Socket A. Does anyone know if it's just barely sticking up above mainboard level, or if it's on a "spring" that keeps it suspended above the level of the mobo? Or is it designed to actually touch the bottom of the middle of the CPU?

An inquiring nerd would love to know. Thanks!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2001, 09:51 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Anyone? I know someone on this "BBS" other than me has the ECS K7S5A. LOL!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2001, 09:57 PM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

william does i think
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2001, 06:36 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

I have one! ill go look- its on my bro machine that i bilt-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2001, 08:08 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Thanks, Spyder462!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2001, 03:37 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I have it too. I'll look at it tonight, and since I killed the CPU, I get a clear look, just by sticking my head in the case.

btw, if memory serves me correctly, it is dead center under the cpu, it sticks up but just under the top of the socket. I doubt it would make contact, but I'll double check tonight.

SteveI.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2001, 12:15 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Thanks for looking, SteveI! The Asus A7S-VM's in-Socket thermistor was in the center, but barely above mainboard level. It consistently gave me ~5C higher temps(same Duron 850) than the ECS K7S5A's in-Socket thermistor reports. Which one tells the truth?

Why didn't I look before applying the most perfect coat of AS that I've ever done? Tsk, tsk.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2001, 01:46 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Yup, dblchecked. little blue thingy dead center. Reaches pretty far up actually. Maybe even a tad higher than the top of the socket.

SteveI.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2001, 05:22 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Here's a pic:

I took a dozen til I got one in focus that close...gotta learn to use this thing. Hopefully you can see it sticks up pretty good. No spring, soldered on. BTW, with the duron, I think I got pretty reliable temp readings: Duron800@994, 1.85v, WBK38, about 15-16c over ambient - folding.

SteveI.
Attached Thumbnails
Anyone know where the in-socket thermistor of ECS K7S5A's is?-untitled1.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2001, 07:11 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Thank you very much, SteveI! You're a gentleman and a scholar! Hmm. Looks like the thermistor "bead" winds up being ~a millimeter short of touching the bottom of the Duron. It doesn't make sense to design it to actually touch the CPU, at least as it's soldered to the mainboard as firmly as it is. I don't know why the Delta in CPU temp reporting is so great betwen the Asus and ECS mainboards.

Oh well. Calibrated thermal probes and Fluke meters to read them with are outside of my budget! Thanks again for taking the time and trouble!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2001, 08:57 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

np, my pleasure.
Aren't Asus probes notorious for overstating temps by as much as 10c? That much more reason to believe ECS's, at keast it sounds like it's in the right ball park.

SteveI.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 12:10 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Indeed, Asus Probe is known for inaccurate temp reporting. AP's reported temp, and the CPU temp reported in BIOS were quite close on the Asus A7S-VM. AP is APITA, as it won't let you dial in temp compensation. Thanks for reminding me!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Athlon 64 Socket AM2 CPU in a Socket 939 Motherboard Gizmo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 15th October, 2006 12:26 AM
socket 370 for P!!!? adam_van_2000 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 11th September, 2005 03:10 AM
epox 9NPA+ ultra thermistor louedwards General Hardware Discussion 2 11th July, 2005 06:24 PM
Waterblocks and Slot 1, Socket A, Socket 370 and so on Dieselboi Intel Motherboards & CPUs 9 18th November, 2002 06:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0