AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2002, 08:06 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Watercooling Finaly-

Alright- after not being able to sleep at night w/ my computer on- i want to water cool- over the past few months- i have gatherd all of these parts:
1. Maze 3
2. Ehime 1250
3. Heater core from dump..... $3 and exactly like the danger den ones
4. 20' of braided 1/2inch tubing
5. 4x high output 120mmfans low noise-

What i am lacking is the knowledge how to fit this system into my antec 1040- i do not want to loose my from drive bays, or make it look like ****z- I am planning a closed loop system that should cool better- and is more portable then a bong-
SPyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2002, 08:14 PM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Go to Google and search. All you need is a reservoir and radiator. If I remember correctly, you have room behind your CD drives and in front of your Power Supply to hang a radiator. Then you put the reservoir on the floor of the case under the 3 1/2" bays.
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2002, 11:19 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Obviously you do not understand the physics of silent watercooling- there are serveral flaws with your suggestion:
1. A closed loop system has no resivor-
2. A rad would not fit there because i would have no airflow- and piping would be too dificult-
3. HAHAHAHA
sPYDER
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2002, 11:22 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by Spyder462
Obviously you do not understand the physics of silent watercooling- there are serveral flaws with your suggestion:
1. A closed loop system has no resivor-
2. A rad would not fit there because i would have no airflow- and piping would be too dificult-
3. HAHAHAHA
sPYDER
Actually, you are part wrong. A closed-loop system CAN use a resivoir. I saw somebody use a watertight electrical box once to hold a pump that needed to be submerged (like my pump needs to be submerged).
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2002, 11:24 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

I know- i have an electrical box as a resivor in my first water attempt- but what i told him before- i never said a resivor-
SPyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2002, 06:52 AM
BongWater
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Side panel hole near the bottom between the lower 3.5" bay and wherever ur PCI / AGP cards start to interfere. It'd be REALLY tight. As I measured in my SX1030B I doubt it'd work because I only have 2.75" between side panel (inside) and AGP card. Pretty thin!

Fitting a 120mm fan with a rad in a 1030B case may be tough if you insist on not altering your hidden (lower) 3.5" clip-out drive bay. You have approx 4.25" below this bay and a 120mm fan requires about 4.75" so thats out if you won't mod the bay any.

And that doesn't even factor the size of ur rad as it could be taller than the fan..plus what is the thickness of the rad? Thickness of fan and rad together?

Or you draw through the top and mount rad horizontally and lose top 1 or 2 x 5.25" bays. Not the best option by any means.

I'd remove the lower 3.5" bay altogether or just hack the bottom off the bay enuff to fit it all nice and neat drawing through the front of the case...whata ya lose? At most 2 x 3.5" bays and I'm sure your not gonna use every available slot anyway.

Is that rambling enuff for you?

BongWater
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2002, 09:10 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Spyder, how are you going to cool the water down? Where will the radiator be? I would think you have room in that case. It’s pretty big.. I could fit one in my case, but I am going to do true silent water cooling. Yours will have some noise, because of the fans needed to cool the radiator to cool the water down. Once my water system is done, I will have 1 power supply fan going slowly, and no other fans. At all. I think I might still get sound dampening paneling though, because 3 hard drives will be somewhat loud.

My computer will also have a ‘closed’ water cooling system, as the copper (most likely copper, at least) tank will be sealed.

Do closed systems need refilling? Sypder mentioned to me that they don’t. I don’t see how that would work though…
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2002, 09:18 AM
BongWater
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Although the case appears large, his reluctance to lose the bottom drive cage and mounting a 120mm fan on a rad, makes it really a tough fit (at least as I see it)

And if you're worrying about the sound of ur HDDs, you must have Spock ears...sooooper sensitive! I can't remember the last time I heard my drives!

BongWater
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2002, 09:24 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

I live for speed and science. I had a Mac all my life, and they DON’T USE FANS. I have learned to hear the HD thinking. It bothers me now how loud my PC is. So I am looking at water cooling. And at sound dampening foam and whatnot.

I think he can work something out with his case. It’s not a huge case, but there is enough room. I can’t quite remember, but I don’t think all his drive bays are full, so that leaves 2 (I think) that could be used. And what about dual 80mm high RPM fans? Wouldn’t they work nearly as well as a single 120mm?
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2002, 09:42 AM
BongWater
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

What's the rad dims? And which bays does he have free? 5.25" or 3.5"?

Again, I'd suggest dumping the bottom 3.5" clip-out bay altogether (still leaving 4x5.25" and 3x3.5" bays) This way you have a full 8.25"x9"x6" area at the front of the case free to install the fan and rad etc.
(you'd also have to yank off the little shelf that the tray sits on)

Still this would make for the cleanest setup and allow for the most room to work within the case thereafter.

BongWater
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2002, 06:47 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

The problem w/ loosing my bottom rack is the fact that i have 2x 80gig 2x 30gig 2x 20gig harddrives- this would make it so i could only have 2 harddrives- and i have no extra 5 1/4 bays either- im thinking of using a slim copper rad- that i can put 1 fan under at the bottom of the case- blowing air in accross the rad. into the system-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2002, 06:48 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Quote:
Originally posted by SiGmA_X
] And what about dual 80mm high RPM fans? Wouldn’t they work nearly as well as a single 120mm?
Noise- you get twice the db - when you can haev 1 super quiet 120mm sunon-
SPyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2002, 08:31 PM
BongWater
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

A couple points...why in god's name would you want 6 HDD? If its for the capacity, dump the 20GBs and the 30GBs and get one 100GB...problem solved. And you have what exactly planned for the 4x5.25" bays?

Even if you lose the entire bottom bay, you still would have 2x3.5" and 4x5.25" bays.

But the better way...and really not so tough, is to take out the bottom bay including the shelf. And make some simple mounts below the upper 3.5" bay to attach 2 HDDs. Heck I think you probably could slip a 60mm fan in the existing fan spot to blow onto those 2 HDDs and still have room for the 120mm and the radiator....that'd leave you 4x3.5" bays and 4x5.25" bays AND the 120mm fan and radiator....all nice and neat.

Remember all you need is less than an inch more room and you can then slip a 120mm and the rad in the front super easy.

Seems like a no brainer to me.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2002, 08:37 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

good point- i do file transfers on this machine- i have a dvd- burner- Rheostat- removable drive tray- buy you may be right.... i think ill put the 2 x 20gig in my duall pIII- and 1 of the 30's-
SPyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2002, 08:40 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

I will probably end up pulling the front two fan- replacing the top ones w/ those- and put a 120sunon quiet in its place w/ a copper rad. Ive seen some good results w/ them-
SPyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2002, 08:44 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

"You could always put the radiator where the lower 3.5" (removeable bay) is now and you'd have the grill already there where you could put a fan blowing on the radiator. You could then use one of the upper 5.25" bays for a second hard drive...don't put 2 in the 3.5" bay where the FDD is...they'll get too hot.

Obviously this wouldn't work if you're using a RAID setup with 4 HDDs.

BongWater"

I use a raid setup :-D 2x 80's srtiped w/ 2x 30's for divx video encoding-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2002, 08:47 PM
BongWater
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

The rheostat is no problem...mount it right below the reset switch or even IN the door. Plenty of options there. So if all you have is a DVD, a CD-RW and a removeable drive that's only 3x5.25" bays.
Pop a DigiDoc5 with one of your HDDs in the last 5.25" bay, put 2 HDDs in the remaining hidden 3.5" bays and if you need a 4th HDD, just mount it to the bottom of the upper 3.5" clip-out holder.

A quick measurement on mine shows that setup would leave you 7.5"H x 7"W x approx 9"L area to place the 120mm fan and rad!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2002, 08:57 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

If i can find a cheap enought digidoc i will- if not i might build a plexiglass case-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2002, 09:22 PM
BongWater
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

$46 at NewEgg
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 22nd April, 2002, 12:44 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

$35 at computergeeks.com :-D
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finaly pics. of my entries for UWB morphling1 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 17 3rd October, 2002 02:44 PM
i FINALY got a new monitor :D fireball_87 Random Nonsense! 20 8th July, 2002 07:46 PM
I can finaly fold at HOME! The Spyder ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 13 12th April, 2002 05:16 AM
Hey Guys, finaly got my butt over here. Treker Random Nonsense! 11 17th February, 2002 10:28 PM
New stuff finaly!! TranceBear AMD Motherboards & CPUs 13 27th December, 2001 09:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0