AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2009, 12:42 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Quad core temps

I just installed a Quad. (CPU Type QuadCore AMD Phenom X4 9650, 2300 MHz (11.5 x 200)
The temps in Evererest are troubling me. It reads temps on the 4 cores at 20c EA. but CPU temp is 70c idle. Should I be concerned with this?
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2009, 01:03 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Too bad you didn't wait a week for stock; the 2.5G 9850 fell $30 to only $10 more than the 9650 a few days ago:

Weekly CPU Prices - Week of August 10, 2009 - www.sharkyextreme.com

Clearly the 20C temperature is incorrect. Do other temperature utilities read the same?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 21st August, 2009 at 01:03 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2009, 05:44 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Speedfan is a carbon copy on temps. SMP takes it to 80c-all cores at 100%. I don't like it reading that high-are quads higher temps or do I have a cooling problem?
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2009, 07:56 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

I removed the aftermarket cooler and installed the stock one.
Idle temps: CPU 80c
Cores 34c each
SMP temps: Cpu 96c
Cores 49c each
Speedfan records only one temp for cores-38c and 49c-and then temp 3 as 80c and 96c.

It looks to me like the core temp is behaving right-in the right range anyhow-but the readings of 80c and 96c are extremely bothersome.
Logic tells me the core temps are correct as a temp of 96c is a little readiculess, but if I'm wrong!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I've shut down SMP for now-temps are 76c CPU (Everest) and 28c cores.
Advice or thoughts are welcomed!!
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2009, 08:01 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorPorMe View Post
Speedfan is a carbon copy on temps. SMP takes it to 80c-all cores at 100%.
Still, 20C has to be wrong. That's under 70F-cooler than your current ambient in August, I would guess, so it can't be. It must be something with the way your board sensors are being read but I don't know enough to say.


Quote:
Originally Posted by PorPorMe View Post
I don't like it reading that high-are quads higher temps or do I have a cooling problem?
Q1:Yes.
Q2:Maybe. Or probably. 80C sounds too high, but I haven't used a Phenom. My Q6600 is 55-62 at 100% depending on the WU. I'd check the cooling. Then again, we're not sure the sensors are being read properly, are we. If the 20C is wrong then the 80C may also be wrong. See if there are any known issues with your board/chip/sensor combination. What does the BIOS report at idle?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 21st August, 2009 at 08:02 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2009, 01:30 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

I didn't think about the bios-36c CPU and 38c system temps. I set a 80c CPU warning and just kicked in the SMP.
CPU is at 98c-no bios warning-core is at 48c.
That CPU temp has to be wrong/speedfan is roughly the same. system 3 at 96c and core at 47c 100% on cores.
This is with the stock HSF. I'll let this run for a bit and reset the warning to 70c and even 60c on next run. I think I'm OK.

EDIT: No CPU temp warning at 70c, or at 60c. That is the lowest bios temp will give me.
Both programs are reading consistant except the first ru of 20 something. The readings of high nineties has got to be a bad sensor on the Phenom-a bad reading the first run of 20c.
everything is smothe,
Tomamarrow I'll reinstall the Thermaltake cooler and read how to set SMP up on Quads.
Houston-It appears we have no problem
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w



Last edited by PorPorMe; 22nd August, 2009 at 02:29 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2009, 03:48 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

did you replace from a dual or do a fresh install. because when i installed my quad from a dual on a old os i had some problems i dont know if amd will give you a hard time when doing that.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2009, 08:16 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

That's a good point. Many folks have had problems with dropping in a quad onto a dual setup without an OS reinstall. Usually it's with the OS seeing all 4 cores, although that's not a problem in this case AFAICT.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2009, 10:11 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

This was drop it in and go. I'm running 2 SMP clients and the GPU client.
I'll install this, the Thermaltake Spin Q cooler, and report new temps.
Then do a clean install of Win 7.
Attached Thumbnails
Quad core temps-dsci0124.jpg   Quad core temps-dsci0122.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2009, 11:32 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

We have a sensor problem-not a cooling one. Installed the squirle Q and IDLE temps are 68c for CPU and 20c fore cores.
With 2 SMP clients running, and GPU, 79c CPU and 37c cores.
I'll check bios agian and post that.

EDIT: Bios temps are as follows,
System temp 44c - CPU is 27c
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w



Last edited by PorPorMe; 22nd August, 2009 at 11:44 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2009, 01:26 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

I'm still confused. How can the core temps be less than the CPU temp? It doesn't work like this: temp1+temp2+temp3+temp4=CPU temp. That is like saying that if you have a boiling pot of water at 100C and another at 100C, and measure them together, they are 200C. Core temps are always higher than CPU temps.

There must be an easy solution; surely it has something to do with how the software reports the sensor temps. Did you find any known issues?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2009, 02:06 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Everything is running fine. I ran win perfomance test and all #'s reflect the upgrades. (new memory as well)
I haven't run prime or any other stress program yet. Mabe I'll install 3Dmark Vantage and run that befor a clean install-that should pick up anything haywire-don't know what else to do.
It almost has to be a read sensors problem-not a temp problem. remember I have a bios warning set at 60c for the CPU and there hasen't been a peep out of it.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2009, 11:09 AM
JimF's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: South London/UK
Posts: 221

Might be worth trying Coretemp: Core Temp
or CrystalCPUID: Crystal Dew World - Software - CrystalCPUID

I've found these seem to handle sensor offsets better on some boards.
Crystal also permits tweaking voltages / multipliers etc.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2009, 02:24 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Clean install is done. I have 2 SMP clients running [4 cores at 100%] and the GPU client. 32c [impossible!] in Everest, Speed fan, and Core temps. Now I'll do Prime95 and see where the temps go.
EDIT:
Running prime95 on 4cores with a temp increase of only 4c. Is this cooler that good? I can't wait to start OC'ing this baby!
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w



Last edited by PorPorMe; 23rd August, 2009 at 02:43 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2009, 02:45 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

OCCT or the SMP folding client will both bring on higher temps than prime 95.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2009, 03:29 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

I added prime to the mix-on top of SMP. My gut says everything is fine.
The little guy on my shoulder says "Idiot, you can't afford the game your playing!"
The bios is set for 60c warning. If I can trust the bios readings, then I know it's the core temps I should focus on. so my next step is to turn the CPU fan down and start stressing again.
right now, the core temps are low but consistent, could it be that the cooler/case combo are that good?
The last prime run was 4 1/2hrs-
While I'm up-I'm going to turn the CPU fan down to nothing' and see I f I can't break 60c, While i can monitor it, Then I'll run Prime all night long. MY gut tells me everything is OK-but the numbers don't agree.
Time to go ride with the devil!

EDIT: Children, Don't try this at home!
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w



Last edited by PorPorMe; 24th August, 2009 at 03:32 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2009, 07:29 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Prime95 ran over 6hrs, with SMP running, no errors.

Minor OC was next step. Will run Prime agian tonite.
3Dmark Vantage somewhere in the mix.
Temps are great if I throw out that 90c SOB!
Attached Thumbnails
Quad core temps-my-rig005.jpg   Quad core temps-my-rig006.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2009, 12:27 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

What's causing the 90c reading? Seems rather high for whatever it is...

Anyways, the newest version of Speedfan is v4.39, so
you should be using that as it supports all the latest processors, chipsets & sensors on the mobos to give you the correct reading on them.

Speedfan: v4.39 download
Attached Thumbnails
Quad core temps-speedfan-4.39.jpg  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 2nd September, 2009 at 12:37 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
any one got a 775 quad core layin around?? bk2life Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 14th June, 2009 04:49 PM
Quad Core waterblock keithwalton Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 16 26th September, 2007 02:35 PM
Quad core Daston AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 13th September, 2007 01:15 PM
X2 vs Quad Core - is it worth? saquib AMD Motherboards & CPUs 25 1st December, 2006 10:40 PM
Quad core advances! Daniel ~ General Hardware Discussion 4 20th July, 2006 09:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0