AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2002, 06:13 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Read that thermal diode in your MP, XP, T-Bred or Rev7 Duron!

Yesterday's(May7) Front Page at www.overclockers.com featured a link to an article by Hoot. This article tells you how to build a gee-gaw that will read your Athlon XP's, MP's, T-Bred's or Morgan-cored(Rev7) Duron's internal thermal diode. Just as if it was a P3, CII, Tualatin or PIV.

Don't ask me why, as of yet, no @%$&(*^*&!!, Squared manufacturer of mainboards that host AMD CPU's has built-in thermistor monitoring capability. They should be shot! But I never said that.

This gizmo doesn't look all that easy to build. Drat!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2002, 12:09 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Im reliably informed that the 8K3A and + do!!! will have to do some digging but its what i've been told!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2002, 01:47 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by Random Nonsense
Im reliably informed that the 8K3A and + do!!! will have to do some digging but its what i've been told!
Ive heard the same rumors, although ET has catagorically stated that they dont.

I might do some digging and see if I can come up with some sort of test.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2002, 02:23 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

I just had a quick search around.

I found allot of people claiming that it reads the diode with no supporting evidence.

It looks like a case of people adding 2 to 2 and getting 6 to me.

I got my 8k3a+ now ill post a quick review/summary in the epox section tonight.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2002, 03:33 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

i was emailed by EPoX about it. It was something i mentioned in my application to the EPoX UK competition. but they said it has it!

edit: perhaps it is in an upcoming revision of the board?
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2002, 06:13 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by Random Nonsense
i was emailed by EPoX about it. It was something i mentioned in my application to the EPoX UK competition. but they said it has it!

edit: perhaps it is in an upcoming revision of the board?
Ive not seen anything from epox to that effect, i would expect the diode to be supported by future boards, and possible another later revision of the 8k3a+

My tempertures seem identical to the 8kha+ there certainly ist a 10*c descrepancy as some people have had.

The tamperature did seem to react more quickly to increase load, but id need to do some propper tests to be sure.
Is there a program avalable that will allow me to log temperature measurments in rapid sucsession. So I can approximately measure the responce time of the temperature measurment.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2002, 01:30 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

this thread needs renaming to "the MOM only thread"

Holst, YGPM
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2002, 08:12 PM
Jazz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 1,105
Send a message via ICQ to Jazz Send a message via AIM to Jazz

Quote:
Originally posted by Random Nonsense
this thread needs renaming to "the MOM only thread"

Holst, YGPM
Not anymore... sorry had to do it....
__________________
AOA Team fah
"Remember there is a time to pray and there is a time to fight, anything can be a weapon if you are holding it right "
Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
"Folding protiens and taking names"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2002, 09:43 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

hmmmmmmm its an omen ! your next in line! lol
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 12:31 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

After looking at Hoot's article at OCer's again, I personally would not build it. Putting the pieces together isn't too difficult--it's the soldering it to the Socket A that really scares me. Looks like you can order it from Hoot, at a "nominal" fee. But taking a soldering iron to three of the 'six thousand' tiny joints under the Socket A?

C'mon Abit, Asus, Shuttle, ECS, QDI, DFA and so on! WTF is your excuse, if I may be impolite. You HAVE NO excuse!
Sure, Intel owner's need an accurate(+- 5C) internal CPU temp. Like AMDer's DON'T?? We're supposed to gratefully receive +- 15C temp info with a smile? Kiss my [transcript becomes garbled].
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NF7-S CPU Thermal Diode Mod, Version 2.0 Gizmo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 56 14th October, 2006 08:34 AM
8RDA3+ CPU Thermal Diode Mod Per Hansson Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 1 20th October, 2004 03:02 PM
NF7-S CPU Thermal Diode Mod, Version 2.0 Gizmo AOA FAQ 4 13th June, 2004 04:52 PM
NF7-S CPU Thermal Diode Mod Gizmo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 9th June, 2004 05:20 AM
Where's the thermal diode? Wetling EPoX MotherBoards 13 23rd February, 2003 10:29 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0