AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 03:19 PM
Garfield's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 81

Direct duct to my CPU

My temps are fine:
CPU Idle:35C
Full load:~42C

...right now. When the heat starts coming in from the summer (provided the AC isn't going to be on constantly) my temps will definitely raise. So, I'm going to put in a duct straight to my CPU. So the HSF can get direct fresh air.

This will definitely be done this summer. Any suggestions?
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 1600+ -- 1.4GHz @ 1.63GHz
Epox 8KHA+
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 04:55 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Ive seen quite a few people cut a hole in the side of there case and duct straight to the CPU.
Seems to give good results.

There was an article on overclockers.com where a guy made two ducts for his dual CPU system that worked well, shouldnt be too hard to find.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 05:59 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

probably the simplest method would be to just get an old bit of pipe about 60 mm, or 80 mm (depending on the fan on your CPU) and cut a hole in your case over the CPU, and stick the pipe onto the hole, and cut it to just the right length to fit to the fan.
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 06:26 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I got a piece of flexible air hose from Auto Zone. I've been meaning to post pix but I have to do it first!!!

When I do I will.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 08:51 PM
Garfield's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 81

Yeah, I'm thinking I'll just go an get some pipe reducer for the duct. I'm a little worried about cutting into the case. I'd really hate to screw that up!
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 1600+ -- 1.4GHz @ 1.63GHz
Epox 8KHA+
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 09:26 PM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

You can probably come up with something on your own but here's a link to a pre made duct.

Look for the: 80mm - 92mm Fan Duct. Create a Wind Tunnel Going Directly Into Your Case

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...ry=1281&DEPA=1
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------


Last edited by Southern Man; 11th May, 2002 at 09:29 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 10:35 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

The direct duct that pulls air in from outside the case to the CPU's fan seems to work very well. I'm not sure if a direct duct to exhaust CPU heat(with Alpha HSF's that love to work bassackwards) works as well?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2002, 02:47 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

It work's GREAT with my computer, but you must have cold air coming in. Also, make sure that there are not many (Or any) wires blocking the air from the front fans, so that the air flow is perfect.
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2002, 02:21 PM
Garfield's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 81

Sigma, won't any air from the outside of the case (provided it's cooler than the inside of the case) be fine? It doesn't have to be cold, right?
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 1600+ -- 1.4GHz @ 1.63GHz
Epox 8KHA+
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2002, 03:42 PM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

Quote:
Originally posted by Garfield
Sigma, won't any air from the outside of the case (provided it's cooler than the inside of the case) be fine? It doesn't have to be cold, right?
Just about any air from outside of the case would be better than the air from within but, the cooler the better.
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2002, 06:06 PM
Garfield's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 81

The outside air will be New Jersey summer air.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 1600+ -- 1.4GHz @ 1.63GHz
Epox 8KHA+
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2002, 06:42 PM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

As I remember the North East got fairly warm and humid last year. If you are running an air conditioner in the house I would suggest catching the conditioned air as best you can.

Here in the South East we play hell ( literally) trying to keep cool. I have made a duct from the back of several of my systems to get the heat from the PSU's out of the house so it won't counter the cooling from the A/C. Ambient stays around 72 right now, but I'm sure that will be higher as summer sets in.
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2002, 07:53 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I've used aluminum roof flashing to make duct work, it works well. I like to use a small blower fan to feed the duct, as blower fans create more pressure(which is why home furnaces use blower fans to force heated air through duct work, learn from the pros).
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 12th May, 2002 at 07:56 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2002, 09:17 PM
Garfield's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 81

Wouldn't more pressure mean loud air movement?
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 1600+ -- 1.4GHz @ 1.63GHz
Epox 8KHA+
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2002, 06:41 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Yes but foam padding would dampen that- i have 2x ducts on my dualt for each proc.
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2002, 01:46 PM
Garfield's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 81

Would this foam line the duct?
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 1600+ -- 1.4GHz @ 1.63GHz
Epox 8KHA+
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2002, 03:42 PM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Yes, any air is better then the internal air, but it would still be better to get cold air in to the computer insted of hot air. My computer has nice cold air coming over the CPU and AGP slot.
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 31st May, 2002, 04:03 AM
Orbit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 466
Send a message via ICQ to Orbit Send a message via Yahoo to Orbit

I did this mod last year to my old Tbird... here's a link with the results:CPU Duct

It works most excellent, however, with the Delta on the hsf, it got quite a bit noiser.

I'm now using water cooling on my new XP1800, and it's MUCH quieter, not to mention, cooler.

__________________

A Chieftec with a bunch of PCB's, Drives, Cables, and Water

-----------------------------------------------------------
Laws are for the lawless, who disregard them anyway... Crow
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 02:52 AM
Garfield's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 81

I'm thinking about making the leap to watercooling...
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 1600+ -- 1.4GHz @ 1.63GHz
Epox 8KHA+
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 02:56 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Its a smart choice- specialy since it cools so much BETTER- heres a good example-
Attached Thumbnails
Direct duct to my CPU-i-want-.jpg  
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fan duct WonderBread Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 1 21st April, 2005 03:06 PM
kayls direct die kayl Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 36 13th October, 2004 08:15 AM
CPU Fan Side Intake Duct RussianMissile1 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 12 18th October, 2003 10:38 PM
Jet Direct 500 Samuknow Mobile Devices and Networking 2 4th June, 2002 01:01 AM
dual CPU duct?? drow_elf Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 7 13th May, 2002 04:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0