AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2001, 05:37 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

VOLCANO 6Cu+

The other day when I was over my buddy's house getting my Abit BIOS chip hot-flashed he showed me his new Soyo Dragon and VOLCANO 6Cu+ , he put his T-bird 1.2 @ 1.4 in it.

The temp surprised the heck out of me, case 24c, cpu 34c.


Not to bad for a $17.00 HSF from Fry's

http://www.thermaltake.com/v6+.htm
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2001, 09:22 PM
sonny's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Really Hot Place on Earth
Posts: 77

Were those load temps or just the few minutes of putting it on? Could have been a little cold if it was just sitting around outside of the case.
__________________
¤ABIT KT7A-RAID 3S BIOS
¤1.1GHz 200FSB AXHA-9 1.75V @ 1.434GHz 286FSB 10 X 143 1.93V
¤28°C idle & 44°C load DOrb3 + PC70 w/ 6 X 80mm & 120mm(131CFM)
¤GF2MX 230core/205mem
¤431W Enermax PSU
¤2 X 20Gig Barracuda III RAID0
¤WXP Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 04:19 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Quote:
Originally posted by sonny
Were those load temps or just the few minutes of putting it on? Could have been a little cold if it was just sitting around outside of the case.
It had been on for about a week.

Not under any load just idle but still cool

And they have two different fans, he has it with the delta 60.
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys

Last edited by Lionfish; 14th October, 2001 at 04:25 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 09:01 AM
sonny's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Really Hot Place on Earth
Posts: 77

How does it do under load? If you guys could do a full test on the cooling it would be something good for all the members here & new comers.

1. 12hr loop of 3DMark2001
2. Full Self Test on Prime95
3. Full Torture Test on Prime95
4. 500 loops Burn-In Wizard with all the components in SiSoft Sandra2001

This should give us all the details. Nice to finally have a dirt cheap & reliable HSF for people who don't want to spend
__________________
¤ABIT KT7A-RAID 3S BIOS
¤1.1GHz 200FSB AXHA-9 1.75V @ 1.434GHz 286FSB 10 X 143 1.93V
¤28°C idle & 44°C load DOrb3 + PC70 w/ 6 X 80mm & 120mm(131CFM)
¤GF2MX 230core/205mem
¤431W Enermax PSU
¤2 X 20Gig Barracuda III RAID0
¤WXP Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 12:20 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

I have a couple of these, for the price there hard to beat! , also coolerguys has them for 10$ and is donating the money to the american red cross. a damn good deal it is!!
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 05:40 PM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Quote:
Originally posted by sonny
How does it do under load? If you guys could do a full test on the cooling it would be something good for all the members here & new comers.

1. 12hr loop of 3DMark2001
2. Full Self Test on Prime95
3. Full Torture Test on Prime95
4. 500 loops Burn-In Wizard with all the components in SiSoft Sandra2001

This should give us all the details. Nice to finally have a dirt cheap & reliable HSF for people who don't want to spend
Like I said it's my buddy's not mine.

He does not mess with his as much as I do so I can't tel much.

But like SJ said hard to beat for the price.
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 08:23 PM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Mine's running 40c SETI load as I type and that's as high as it gets unless I reconnect my board's volt mod. If the volt mod is hooked up then it tops out at 48c @ 1150mhz @ 2.06v.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 11:04 PM
Walter:-)'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark :)
Posts: 190

Quote:
Originally posted by eobard
Mine's running 40c SETI load as I type and that's as high as it gets unless I reconnect my board's volt mod. If the volt mod is hooked up then it tops out at 48c @ 1150mhz @ 2.06v.
Why have you removed the voltmod?
__________________
Epox 8K7A
1200MHz AXIA "9" T-Bird@1490MHz 1.95V
256Mb DDR RAM
Asus GeForce2 MX 191/221MHz (Mem/Core)
45 Gig IBM HD

Avatar by reddeathdrinker
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2001, 01:20 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by Walter:-)


Why have you removed the voltmod?
Without the volt mod my 5v line fluctuates from between 4.901v at it's highest to 4.857v at it's lowest and the system is 100% stable. With the volt mod my 5v line fluctuated from 4.859v at it's highest to 4.791v at it's lowest. When the 5v line drops low enough the system either stalls until the 5v comes back up or it crashes. I need to figure out how to up the 5v line by about .2v or buy a new ps.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2001, 12:35 PM
sonny's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Really Hot Place on Earth
Posts: 77

Quote:
Originally posted by eobard


Without the volt mod my 5v line fluctuates from between 4.901v at it's highest to 4.857v at it's lowest and the system is 100% stable. With the volt mod my 5v line fluctuated from 4.859v at it's highest to 4.791v at it's lowest. When the 5v line drops low enough the system either stalls until the 5v comes back up or it crashes. I need to figure out how to up the 5v line by about .2v or buy a new ps.
I posted a PSU voltmod in General Hardware that I found at another Forum. It's for an Enermax but should work for most PSUs.
__________________
¤ABIT KT7A-RAID 3S BIOS
¤1.1GHz 200FSB AXHA-9 1.75V @ 1.434GHz 286FSB 10 X 143 1.93V
¤28°C idle & 44°C load DOrb3 + PC70 w/ 6 X 80mm & 120mm(131CFM)
¤GF2MX 230core/205mem
¤431W Enermax PSU
¤2 X 20Gig Barracuda III RAID0
¤WXP Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2001, 05:38 PM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by sonny


I posted a PSU voltmod in General Hardware that I found at another Forum. It's for an Enermax but should work for most PSUs.
I know but here's my problem with that:

Quote:
Originally posted by sonny


The voltmod should work for your PSU. You just need to find the right resistor & your good to go
How much destruction am I going to bring down on my system while searching for that right resistor? I may attempt a semi-informed mod but not until 1) I've tried to find a fully explained way to mod my specific ps and 2) I'm feeling good and stupid.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Volcano 11 vs Volcano 12 Extreme? bluestreak84 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 13 20th April, 2004 07:18 AM
Volcano 12+ better than SLK-900/947? ral Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 3 9th January, 2004 06:22 AM
volcano 7 chris4521 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 16 5th March, 2003 08:21 PM
Volcano 9 Thundr7 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 3 16th July, 2002 09:49 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0