AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2002, 10:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

Watercooling, 2 RADS???

In a watercooling setup, will it help a lot if you have 2 radiators instead of 1???

If you have 2 radiators, is it necessary to have a strong pump???

__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2002, 12:29 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

in serial the second rad will not be too effective, but using them in parrallel you will get a lot better performance, 1, you are doubling the surface area exposed to the air. 2, you are halving the flow rate through both radiators so the water has more time to cool, and 3 you are actually reducing resistance to flow!!! so flow rate through the block will increase!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2002, 12:53 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Quote:
in serial the second rad will not be too effective, but using them in parrallel you will get a lot better performance, 1, you are doubling the surface area exposed to the air. 2, you are halving the flow rate through both radiators so the water has more time to cool, and 3 you are actually reducing resistance to flow!!! so flow rate through the block will increase!
Um, not really. You will see a performance gain, but it won't be a case of "2 rads are twice as effective". You might see a degree or two come off your steady state temperature - which might be your target, I guess.

1) Although you are doubling the surface area, you are also hindering the ability of the water to transfer heat to the metal because of 2)

2) By halving the water flow rate, you're at risk of creating streamline flow through the radiator rather than turbulent flow. Streamline's the goal of aeroplanes and the nemesis of heat exchangers. If the flow pattern dips into streamline, you'll need the water to remain in the radiator for up to 10 times longer to get the same result.

3) True for the radiators, but it'll make no difference to the flow rate through the waterblock. A 1gal/min pump will pump 1 gal/min and no more than 1 gal/min, and be limited by the part of the system with the most resistance to flow. In all cases, this is the waterblock. You won't see any real improvement in flow rate through the block as a result.

Where having 2 radiators in parallel is most effective is when each radiator has 1/4 the tube diameter of the single whole radiator. Then you do get near the "two rads give twice the performance" mark. Merely duplicating a big radiator is pointless.

Oh, and forget radiators in series
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2002, 01:04 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Show off! :-D
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2002, 01:06 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Well, I have to make the degree count for something
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2002, 01:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

Thanks guys!!

But wait a minute.....whats da diff bet serial and parallel setups???
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2002, 01:16 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Serial: You have two radiators. The outlet of one radiator connects to the inlet of the second radiator. That way the second radiator is taking partially cooled water, and trying to cool it more. Not very effective for this application.

From block-----------Radiator---------------Radiator--------To pump


Parallel: You have two radiators, set up to share a common inlet and a common outlet. More effective than serial.

Code:
                           -----Radiator-----
                           |                |
          From Block-------                  ----------To Pump
                           |                |
                           -----Radiator-----
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...

Last edited by Kaitain; 6th June, 2002 at 01:20 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2002, 01:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

Oh I see

Thanks
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2002, 01:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

So who should I believe???

Random Nonsense or Kaitain??? heheheheheheh

Jst kidding!!!! :-D

I really appreciate the short lesson guys.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2002, 01:39 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

We basically said same things, kaitain is just a little pedantic :nervous:, if your pump is up to it, 2 in parrallel is better.
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2002, 01:50 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Quote:
kaitain is just a little pedantic
Be afraid! Be very afraid, chicken boy

__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2002, 03:05 PM
Winkie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 987
Send a message via ICQ to Winkie Send a message via AIM to Winkie Send a message via Yahoo to Winkie

And I would say that if you're using a cpu block and a gpu block, series rads == win


pump>rad>cpu>rad>gpu>res


__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2002, 03:12 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Quote:
And I would say that if you're using a cpu block and a gpu block, series rads == win
Why?

I know twin loop/multi pass systems are harder to monitor and assemble, but they will produce vastly better results than single pass setups, guaranteed!
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2002, 06:57 PM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

One way I have heard of using multiple radiators, is to have a good radiator with a good pump on the water blocks, and the other radiators and pumps just cooling the reservoir. So the order of pumps would be the following:
Reservoir 1 -> Pump 1 -> Radiator 1 -> Water block 1 -> Reservoir 1
Reservoir 1 -> Pump 2 - > Radiator 2 -> Reservoir 1

That will increase the cooling, by having colder water.
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 02:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

Quote:
Originally posted by Random Nonsense
We basically said same things, kaitain is just a little pedantic :nervous:, if your pump is up to it, 2 in parrallel is better.
I know I know!!

I was just fooling around
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2002, 05:18 AM
JFettig's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 132

actually the first 2 are kinda rite.. but 2 rads will do nothing for a small cpu, 2 rads will do a LOT for a cpu like mine that puts out 134watts overclocked, or with a pelt setup it would be nice, basicly 2 rads dont double your performance, but it kinda doubles your cooling capasity, lets say one rad can cool 100watts down to ambient, then you take and add those extra 34watts, that brings you up to 5c above ambient, then stick the second in parallel, and your back down.. till you add like 46more watts....
__________________
AGOIA 1600+@anywere between 1.4-1.9
EP-8k3a
watercooled
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 01:08 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Ok now you have my attention.

I was planning on building a computer inside of a coffee table (don't ask) around chistmas. I was tinkering with the idea of useing the swifttec water block with the 226watt peltier built in. I was thinking:

Pump> CPU> Rad1> GPU> Northbridge> Rad2> Resivoir> Pump.

any sugestions on a better way?
Please don't say 2 pumps.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 01:18 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

That will actually be very effective because you are removing heat after each time you add heat.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 03:45 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by Staz
Ok now you have my attention.

I was planning on building a computer inside of a coffee table (don't ask) around chistmas. I was tinkering with the idea of useing the swifttec water block with the 226watt peltier built in. I was thinking:

Pump> CPU> Rad1> GPU> Northbridge> Rad2> Resivoir> Pump.

any sugestions on a better way?
Please don't say 2 pumps.
I wouldnt want to run it that way.

Your much better off with two loops the northbridge and GPU blocks will be too restrictive of flow, and you need flow when running a 220watt pelt putting out 400watts of heat (inc CPU and approx) You will also need a good radiator as if you run your water too hot then your northbridge and GPU will be running hotter than on air cooling.

Ill draw you a pic. (warning extremely bad pic alert)
Attached Thumbnails
Watercooling, 2 RADS???-waterdia1.jpg  
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 10:23 AM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Why not go 3 pass?

Code:
         -------CPU------
         |              |
From Pump-------GPU-------To Rad
         |              |
         -------N/B------
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
watercooling graftonater AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 26th November, 2003 12:44 AM
watercooling graftonater Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 2 25th November, 2003 10:24 AM
Which watercooling kit to get? nucl3arboNg Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 29th December, 2002 12:13 AM
New to watercooling Claudius Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 12 26th June, 2002 02:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0