AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2002, 01:16 PM
wonko the sane's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to wonko the sane Send a message via AIM to wonko the sane

radiator question

I was thinking about using a car radiator in my watercooling setup. would i need to use a stronger pump in order to get the water through it?
__________________
One of the major problems with time travel is not that of accidentally becoming your own father or mother. There is no problem with changing the course of history-- the course of history does not change because it all fits together like a jigsaw. The major problem is quite simply one of gramar...
--Douglas Adams

My Heatware
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2002, 02:42 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

a car radiator is WAY too big for watercooling, unless you have a truly vicious flow rate. what tends to happen (according to kaitain) is that the water will not actually pass through the entire radiator, there is too little flow. it just goes the most direct route between inlet and outlet therefore you dont get very good performance. A car Heatercore is just about the perfect size though, I suggest you look at these rather than full blown car radiators.
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2002, 03:03 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

hahahha way overkill. may not be super efficient but considering the size, it would definitly work
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2002, 08:05 PM
JFettig's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 132

actually if you would have the inlet to the radiator on the bottom and the outlet on top, i think it would work... water would be forced up thru all channels..
__________________
AGOIA 1600+@anywere between 1.4-1.9
EP-8k3a
watercooled
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th June, 2002, 11:16 AM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Quote:
Originally posted by Random Nonsense
a car radiator is WAY too big for watercooling, unless you have a truly vicious flow rate. what tends to happen (according to kaitain) is that the water will not actually pass through the entire radiator, there is too little flow. it just goes the most direct route between inlet and outlet therefore you dont get very good performance. A car Heatercore is just about the perfect size though, I suggest you look at these rather than full blown car radiators.
Hullo? Do I see my name used in vain

The dead-volume problem only occurs in enclosed pin waterblocks, and multi-pass/parallel radiators.

IIRC a car radiator is usually single pass, in which case maskedgeek's reasoning holds for getting the flow through the entire system.

BUT by having such a huge radiator volume, you're doing yourself no favours. The flow-rate will always be x gal/min, same everywhere in the system, but the flow velocity (water in metres/sec or feet/sec) will be minimal. Rate of heat flux is directly proportional to flow velocity: you really want a radiator to have skinny little tubes, as a result.

For a typical watercooling pump, you'll get nice turbulent flow (ie fastest heat transfer) in your waterblock, and either streamline or (worse) creeping flow in the radiator, giving pathetic heat flux out of the system. You might as well just use a reservoir then (y'all know what I think of reservoirs).

Either way, let us know how you get on
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th June, 2002, 10:23 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

you love proving me wrong dont you mate? oooooooh cunning plan, I dont have any money.

/me Hopes that Kaitain has to prove him wrong by sending him all his money.
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2002, 03:04 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Re: radiator question

Quote:
Originally posted by wonko the sane
I was thinking about using a car radiator in my watercooling setup. would i need to use a stronger pump in order to get the water through it?
Not unless your planning on strapping a small block to her.

A heater core works great...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2002, 09:20 AM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Quote:
Originally posted by Random Nonsense
you love proving me wrong dont you mate? oooooooh cunning plan, I dont have any money.

* Random Nonsense Hopes that Kaitain has to prove him wrong by sending him all his money.
But it's just so much fun

I can send you all my debts, how's that?
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2002, 02:04 AM
wonko the sane's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to wonko the sane Send a message via AIM to wonko the sane

the thing is i already have the rediator (would only get like 10 if i brought it back for core charge)
__________________
One of the major problems with time travel is not that of accidentally becoming your own father or mother. There is no problem with changing the course of history-- the course of history does not change because it all fits together like a jigsaw. The major problem is quite simply one of gramar...
--Douglas Adams

My Heatware
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2002, 10:47 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by wonko the sane
the thing is i already have the rediator (would only get like 10 if i brought it back for core charge)
Can you take a photo ?

It might work out Ok, id probably go ahead and buy a pump and waterblock and test it out. If you get poor flowrate or temperatures then you will have to find a heatercore to use instead.

Another thing to watch for is galvanic corrosion. WHere ions of copper will attack alluminium, if the rad is aluminium I wouldnt use it. THose bits of oxide can clog your waterblock (or in an extreme case cause a leak) Use glycol or waterwetter to reduce this efect.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a bigger radiator Samuknow Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 8 10th May, 2007 06:06 PM
New radiator? Bookmann Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 0 5th December, 2005 03:24 PM
Got another radiator!! QSDT Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 0 29th September, 2005 03:40 AM
Radiator Box Random Nonsense Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 30 12th August, 2002 05:15 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0