AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2002, 11:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 6

Can I wire 2 fans to ONE fan port???

This is probably a simple question but i dont wanna mess something up. My logic board has 2 case fan outputs. The little 3 prong plugs (or maybe 2 prongs), anyway, I have 4 case fans I wanna use. Is there enough voltage coming from thoses ports for 2 12v fans??? Or should I be wiring them straight to the power supply?

Thanks,

john
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2002, 11:38 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome to AOA Forums, PC_Dude! The 3-Pin fan riser's on mainboards can't handle much Wattage. To be absolutely safe, I limit fans plugged into the 3-Pin mobo fan riser's to 2.16 Watts.

As this is the power used by a 27 cfm 60mm YSTech CPU fan, any case fan that draws this much power has to be a very wussed(and near useless) fan. Therefore, I plug all my case fans into the Main Power "daisy-chain."
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2002, 01:07 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

You beat me to it cloasters.
Welcome PC_Dude to our little neck of the web. As cloasters pointed out you don't really want to draw too much power from your fan headers on the MOBO. It's always best to wire them to the power supply.

And after all that, check out our Folding @ Home section. We NEED YOUR spare cpu cycles.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2002, 01:13 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

What type of board do you have? On y abit at7 max- it has 5 fan headers~ and im running 2x 80mm enermax fans, 1x 120mm enermax fan, and 60mm delta 38- Havent blow it out yet-

Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2002, 01:22 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Humm........ perhaps the MOBO manufacs are thinking of things like this and giving the headers MORE POWER!?!?!?!?

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2002, 01:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 6

Great! I sorta figured but wanted to make sure. I think I will wire one to the MOBO just to monitor it.

Thanks for your help.

ps. glad to be here
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2002, 01:31 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Glad to you have you.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2002, 09:32 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by PC_Dude
Great! I sorta figured but wanted to make sure. I think I will wire one to the MOBO just to monitor it.

Thanks for your help.

ps. glad to be here
What you can do is cut the black and red wires from the plug and wire them to the PSU and keep the blue/yellow wire plugged into the header for RPM monitoring, that way you can monitor RPM and use any wattage of fan. (obviously you can only monitor one fan per header)
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2002, 04:19 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

There are now fancy adapter's that remove the need for splicing and dicing your fan's wires when you want the fan to run from Main Power, yet simultaneously monitor the fan's RPM from a mainboard 3-Pin fan riser. 2cooltek and probably many other etailer's offer these ~$3 adapter's.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2002, 07:32 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Found a link to show how some other guy did
it like Holst was saying.

http://www.modding.net/article.asp?ArticleID=8
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Down to the wire. mookydooky Random Nonsense! 93 4th November, 2004 11:23 PM
4x80mm fans v. 2x120mm fans LkyOldSun General Hardware Discussion 16 15th July, 2003 08:23 PM
Did the wire trick ral Hardware Hacking 2 27th June, 2003 09:36 PM
New wire trick, I call; "2-Big Trouble in Little Wire" Liquid3D AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 1st April, 2003 12:07 AM
Suggestions on case fans & heatsink/cpu fans Bucks Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 8 21st March, 2003 03:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0