AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2002, 06:19 PM
Orbit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 466
Send a message via ICQ to Orbit Send a message via Yahoo to Orbit

Air Bubbles ???

Well, let's see, I've had my water going for about 3 months, and I have to add more coolant every once in awhile, because of air bubbles that just 'seem' to get into my system.
I'm using an external rad/pump system, and I've checked everywhere for leaks or signs of leaks, and NOTHING, no wetness, no drop marks, no dry spots, nothing on all connections and the rad itself.

It IS a rather large rad, out of a '93 Chevy P/U heater core, and I'm thinking maybe, just maybe, I still don't have all the air out.

It keeps my cpu around mid 30's at load, so it's not doing that bad of a job.

I only have to add like a 1/4 cup of coolant, if that much, but it's sort of driving me batty trying to figure out where the bubbles come from.
One would think that if the system is under 'pressure' from the pump, it's not going to be sucking air in, eh?

Any clues out there? Anyone else have to add small amounts of coolant every once in awhile?
__________________

A Chieftec with a bunch of PCB's, Drives, Cables, and Water

-----------------------------------------------------------
Laws are for the lawless, who disregard them anyway... Crow
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2002, 10:21 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

air may be being pulled in on the suction sode of the pump if the pump is inline, the negetive pressure on the suction side would just suck the air in, not dripping at all. Or the water may just need proper de-aerating or you may even have things living in it and respiring, therefore you get air bubbles
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2002, 10:31 PM
Orbit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 466
Send a message via ICQ to Orbit Send a message via Yahoo to Orbit

Well, it IS an Eheim, that might be it.
As for things *living* in it and respiring... OMG.... if there's something in there that can live on Water Wetter and Antifreeze, I ain't messin' with it. heh.
__________________

A Chieftec with a bunch of PCB's, Drives, Cables, and Water

-----------------------------------------------------------
Laws are for the lawless, who disregard them anyway... Crow
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2002, 12:19 AM
drow_elf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 721
Send a message via ICQ to drow_elf Send a message via AIM to drow_elf

if it were suction it would leak when the pump was off though....

after filling it up + turning it on try jiggling the rad see if bubbles pop out.... i dunno....
(i'm not w/c but i have worked on a lot of pool pumps....)
__________________
"Pointillists shouldn't use Scantrons" -me
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2002, 03:36 AM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

You're probably right about the radiator not being entirely filled - after changing the coolant in my car usually it takes a little while before I can stop topping it up - and that's with it running under pressure. Also, you probably do have a leak or six, and again, I'd blame the radiator. It's probably not a large leak and if you've been following all advice you'll be using de-ionised (or demineralised at least) water, so you won't see a mark from any leakage.

Other parts of the system that can leak in tiny amounts are the pump-seals and even the tubing itself can have a porosity. To determine once and for all where the water's going, just dump some bright food colouring into the water supply, and look for a colourful stain later.

If you can get hold of some fluorescene in place of the food colouring, that's even better, 'cos you'll be able to see any microleaks by inspecting your case with black light!
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2002, 07:37 PM
Orbit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 466
Send a message via ICQ to Orbit Send a message via Yahoo to Orbit

heh. I like the black lite idea... but then again, i'm an old hippy.

De-ionized. well, I used pure distilled with water wetter and antifreeze, so it won't have the ionization effect on dissimilar metals, as well as being a more effective coolant.

Some day, when I get REALLY bored, I'll take the external box apart and check. I've been thinking of going to a smaller unit, but that's just because I get tired of the same ol' stuff, and the motions of change seem to alleviate the boredom some.

As long as the waterblock isn't the problem, which it isn't, I was just curious as to if adding small amounts of coolant was normal.
__________________

A Chieftec with a bunch of PCB's, Drives, Cables, and Water

-----------------------------------------------------------
Laws are for the lawless, who disregard them anyway... Crow
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0