AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 10:59 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

reported temps.

Hope some one can explain please.

Mobo is 8k3a+ and using MBM5.?? new revision from aoafiles.

In bios cpu temp shows 42/43C while folding only. No other apps in use. MBM5 however shows 50/51.

Both show system temp at 23/24

Any one got any clues?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 11:44 AM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Quote:
Any one got any clues?
Yes plenty. If you read around past threads in this topic, you'll see the same message repeated many times: never believe the onboard temperature monitoring.

Basically, it's only there for emergency shut-down in case of gross overheating... the temperature "monitoring" functions are just eye-candy. The margin of error on the temperatures reported, both within BIOS and MBM5 is something like +/- 25C.

MBM5 is known to report temperatures as being higher than they are - there's something in the release notes about this. It's to do with the way Windoze affects access to the hardware, distorting the values just ever so slightly. Not that it matters much

Don't worry about it. If you want accuracy, then invest £20 in a handheld thermocouple reader.
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 11:57 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Thanks Kaitan. I had read the threads, and realised there was debate over the mobos temp readings, but didnt realise that mbm reporting could also be that inaccurate as well. I thought that if both were reading the same sensor then the temp should be more or less the same. Regardless of whether or not it was accurate.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 12:48 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Are you using a tbird or a palomino / tbred? If its a Tbird, TOTALLY ignore what the temperature sensor reports. The 8K3A can use the on core diode on the palomino and Tbred, which is probably fairly accurate, but with a tbird its the in socket one, which plain and simple sucks
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 01:30 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Its the palomino so its taking it from the core. I could have worded the question better I think. It wasnt so much whether or not the temp was accurate from the bios but why was there such a difference between bios and MBM. I was a bit surprised when I noticed.

But thanks I think Kaitan explained it.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Posts: 11

When you have said in BIOS, what do you mean?
That you have reboot and see it on bios health menu?
If so, with the 8K3A reading the internal diode temperature changes are really fast as the diode has an extremely fast response time.
So, in seconds you can go from 50 C to 40 C and the temperatures are correct and accurate.

And also they are 10-15 C higher than the socket sensor

Sorry for my bad English.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 05:07 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Thanks Oletros. Your English is better than my Spanish/Portugese?? In fact your English is better than my English.

I see what you're saying but I don't think it's that. I'll check it out when I get home tonight
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 05:46 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Re: reported temps.

Quote:
Originally posted by dod
Hope some one can explain please.

Mobo is 8k3a+ and using MBM5.?? new revision from aoafiles.

In bios cpu temp shows 42/43C while folding only. No other apps in use. MBM5 however shows 50/51.

Both show system temp at 23/24

Any one got any clues?
I dont quite understand.

In the bios you read 42-43 (with no load as your in the bios)

And once in windows the temp reads 50-51 when under 100% load running folding@home.

Getting a 7-8*c rise when running load to idle is perfectly normall.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 07:12 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

I am indeed the living proof of your signature. Folding hasnt started in the bios
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 07:32 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

I think all of us are at a certain point..............
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many 4PCA3+ users think their reported temps are too high? oxyprazolam EPoX MotherBoards 10 19th April, 2005 12:54 PM
Do temps tend to go up over time or is it the warm weather causing high temps? mookydooky AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 15th November, 2003 06:56 PM
How are these temps ffactoryxx AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 22nd August, 2003 08:18 AM
Temps Draqo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 12 6th June, 2003 10:01 PM
250mhz FSB SYNC reported and 8rda/+ North Bridge Stepping info EluSiOn EPoX MotherBoards 37 7th February, 2003 09:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0