AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2001, 05:29 AM
William's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 371
Send a message via ICQ to William Send a message via AIM to William

Duron 700-900

You think a chrome orb will decently cool this puppy? I have one and would not like to have to buy a new heatsink. it just going to be a folding box and maybe a take to the lan party box.
__________________





Allied Sites Support Team - Content/Design (director)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2001, 06:31 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

It might be OK, but it won't be that good. Maybe if you just don't OC it, it will stay at reasonable temps . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2001, 07:04 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

YUCK! I hate em, but if you don't overclock it, and are careful, you'll be fine.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2001, 07:30 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

You may get by if you undervolt it. Just run it at stock speeds and under cut the stock voltage by .1-.15v. My 800 took a 17% overclock at stock voltage fine. Just make sure you don't let everyone know you're going to use one of those things or people might lose respect for you.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2001, 11:56 PM
William's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 371
Send a message via ICQ to William Send a message via AIM to William

its not like I WANT to use one of those, but I got a couple a while back when I found them for $5 and thought they might make good chipset coolers. I will probably put an SVC Golden Gate on it eventually. And yeah, it is just a temporary solution.
__________________





Allied Sites Support Team - Content/Design (director)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2001, 08:37 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

While Durons don't rival their more capable siblings in heat production while run at "stock," all of the K7 family are hot, hot, hot!! processors.

'Fraid that this chrome pos just isn't up to the task, even at stock. Thermaltake's marketing was very shrewd. They simply rode the coat tails of the "ooh's" and "ahh's" generated by the original H-P Polar Logic "Orb's."

There are still people that believe that their original GORB's are high performance HSF's. Poor deluded idiots!

Why not slap a $20(including Delta 38) Vantec FCE-62450D on it? These feature the easiest to use steel clip that there is, AFAIK.

This econo-HSF may not be up to the task of cooling an OC'd Duron when summer rolls around, btw.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2001, 06:34 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Re: Duron 700-900

Quote:
Originally posted by William
You think a chrome orb will decently cool this puppy? I have one and would not like to have to buy a new heatsink. it just going to be a folding box and maybe a take to the lan party box.
Hell, ill send you a better heatsync then that! or try the gladiator for $16- works great for my friends tbird 1.2 at 1.4 -46c room temp oof 39c

Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2001, 03:41 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

What is stock voltage on the particular Duron you are looking at? I know they go as low as 1.5. My dead 800 defaulted at 1.6.

The lower the stock voltage, the better your chances of not overheating. Just stating the obvious.. don't shoot me.

SteveI.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2001, 02:00 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

Tt vocano 6cu = coolerguys has them for 10$ and is donating the money to the american red cross. this will make your Duron very happy
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th November, 2001, 04:14 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by surlyjoe
Tt vocano 6cu = coolerguys has them for 10$ and is donating the money to the american red cross. this will make your Duron very happy
Is that the 6cu or the 6cu+? There's a big difference, noise and performance wise. The "+" version is the one with the 7,000rpm fan that roars like a lion and cools like a lion (a lion that cools anyway). The sinks are the same and they are massive. I was tinkering around in my machine and when I put the door back on I dislodged the fan connector. My system ran for an hour without the cpu fan on and my cpu temp only got to 59c before the system gave a spontaneous reboot!!!!! It crashed, but it didn't burn!!!!! Running stable now.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2001, 08:02 PM
286 Rocks's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to 286 Rocks

My dad got one for his Duron 700 and just let me say they are the biggest PITA to put on! There clip absolutly sucks! As far as cooling goes It does the job; it just does it crappy.
__________________
--------- There are 3 types of people in this world, those that can count and those that can't---------
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I O/C a Duron? ignite AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 10th October, 2003 03:51 PM
Err no more Duron..... Jazz Random Nonsense! 6 20th April, 2002 01:04 AM
Old Duron SteveI AMD Motherboards & CPUs 40 30th October, 2001 05:36 AM
Duron f@h sys down Lionfish ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 4 8th October, 2001 11:21 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0