AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 02:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 22

W2K with Graphic corruption part 2!

Ok I was wrong the crashing is still there with the Samsung Ram, it just doesn't crash as often (and doesn't crash at all in 3DMark).

I was in the middle of playing AC2 and the screen went garbled with blue lines & squares the same as before in 3DMark. Eventually the computer rebooted itself and as usual the corruption was still on screen after the reboot. I switched the PC off and on and then I found loads of errors in my Event Log (Not sure if these are related), heres a couple of examples:

Event Type: Error
Event Source: nv
Event Category: None
Event ID: 9
Date: 12/12/2002
Time: 12:47:12
User: N/A
Computer: GUIN
Description:
GR Instance Error on Channel 0000001e Instance 0000ff61 status 03000104
Data:
0000: 00 00 00 00 02 00 4e 00 ......N.
0008: 00 00 00 00 09 00 aa c0 ......ªÀ
0010: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
0018: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
0020: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........

Event Type: Error
Event Source: nv
Event Category: None
Event ID: 6
Date: 12/12/2002
Time: 12:47:12
User: N/A
Computer: GUIN
Description:
Parse Error on CMDCD 00000000 00001ff8 3f3f3fa7 00000000 3f3f3fa7
Data:
0000: 00 00 00 00 02 00 4e 00 ......N.
0008: 00 00 00 00 06 00 aa c0 ......ªÀ
0010: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
0018: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
0020: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........

I am really stumped now as I can't find any thing on these errors

All help appreciated

Tim

Edit: I found something on the MS site, it appears to be pointing to problems with Memory again, although it does say it can be Video Memory, L2 cache Memory (CPU), or System Memory.
__________________

Last edited by Bloodgurgler; 12th December, 2002 at 02:07 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 02:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 22

I Managed to run the MS Debugger software on a mini .dmp file from two days back and it reports back that the problem may be related to nv4_disp.dll. Although I have tried various different drivers, uninstalling each as I go.

When I tryed to run !analyze -v on the .dmp to get further info it rebooted my machine!! doh

Any idea's, maybe I could send the .dmp file to my work computer and analyse from there. Something wierd is going on though.

Edit: Managed to run the !analyze -v command without my PC rebooting, heres the details below. I know if the member "Drice" is around he knows alot about BSOD?

kd> !analyze -v
************************************************** *****************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
************************************************** *****************************

KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED (1e)
This is a very common bugcheck. Usually the exception address pinpoints
the driver/function that caused the problem. Always note this address
as well as the link date of the driver/image that contains this address.
Some common problems are exception code 0x80000003. This means a hard
coded breakpoint or assertion was hit, but this system was booted
/NODEBUG. This is not supposed to happen as developers should never have
hardcoded breakpoints in retail code, but ...
If this happens, make sure a debugger gets connected, and the
system is booted /DEBUG. This will let us see why this breakpoint is
happening.
An exception code of 0x80000002 (STATUS_DATATYPE_MISALIGNMENT) indicates
that an unaligned data reference was encountered. The trap frame will
supply additional information.
Arguments:
Arg1: c0000005, The exception code that was not handled
Arg2: ba7d0867, The address that the exception occurred at
Arg3: 00000001, Parameter 0 of the exception
Arg4: 00000000, Parameter 1 of the exception

Debugging Details:
------------------


EXCEPTION_CODE: c0000005

FAULTING_IP:
nv4_disp+73867
ba7d0867 8911 mov [ecx],edx

EXCEPTION_PARAMETER1: 00000001

EXCEPTION_PARAMETER2: 00000000

WRITE_ADDRESS: 00000000 Nonpaged pool

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR: 0x1E_W

TRAP_FRAME: b9ec7b70 -- (.trap ffffffffb9ec7b70)
ErrCode = 00000002
eax=e1dec0c0 ebx=e1dec0c0 ecx=00000000 edx=0004e000 esi=00000000 edi=00000000
eip=ba7d0867 esp=b9ec7be4 ebp=00000001 iopl=0 nv up ei pl nz na pe nc
cs=0008 ss=0010 ds=0023 es=0023 fs=0030 gs=0000 efl=00210202
nv4_disp+73867:
ba7d0867 8911 mov [ecx],edx ds:0023:00000000=????????
Resetting default context

LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from 00000000 to ba7d0867

STACK_TEXT:
00000001 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 nv4_disp+0x73867


FOLLOWUP_IP:
nv4_disp+73867
ba7d0867 8911 mov [ecx],edx

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

SYMBOL_NAME: nv4_disp+73867

MODULE_NAME: nv4_disp

IMAGE_NAME: nv4_disp.dll

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 3d94e7c9

STACK_COMMAND: .trap ffffffffb9ec7b70 ; kb

BUCKET_ID: 0x1E_W_nv4_disp+73867

Followup: MachineOwner
__________________

Last edited by Bloodgurgler; 12th December, 2002 at 02:21 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 02:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 22

Here's another detailed e.g of a crash today, I have reinstalled my drivers for my VGA card and when i run 3DMark now it just reboots my computer, and then I get the graphical corruption on boot up until I switch off completely.

kd> !analyze -v
************************************************** *****************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
************************************************** *****************************

PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
Invalid system memory was referenced. This cannot be protected by try-except,
it must be protected by a Probe. Typically the address is just plain bad or it
is pointing at freed memory.
Arguments:
Arg1: df18dc08, memory referenced.
Arg2: 00000001, value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation.
Arg3: ff10cfff, If non-zero, the instruction address which referenced the bad memory
address.
Arg4: 00000000, (reserved)

Debugging Details:
------------------


WRITE_ADDRESS: df18dc08 Nonpaged pool

FAULTING_IP:
+ffffffffff10cfff
ff10cfff ?? ???

MM_INTERNAL_CODE: 0

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR: 0x50_W

TRAP_FRAME: ba0efaf8 -- (.trap ffffffffba0efaf8)
ErrCode = 00000002
eax=ffffffff ebx=00008000 ecx=ba0efb90 edx=81f39b88 esi=00000000 edi=00000001
eip=ff10cfff esp=ba0efb6c ebp=e1ddc050 iopl=0 nv up ei ng nz na po nc
cs=0008 ss=0010 ds=0023 es=0023 fs=0030 gs=0000 efl=00010286
ff10cfff ?? ???
Resetting default context

LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from ba78acfa to ff10cfff

STACK_TEXT:
WARNING: Frame IP not in any known module. Following frames may be wrong.
ba0efb68 ba78acfa 81f39b88 ba0efb90 b79eb458 0xff10cfff
e1ddc050 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 nv4_disp+0x2dcfa


FOLLOWUP_IP:
nv4_disp+2dcfa
ba78acfa ebc8 jmp nv4_disp+0x2dcc4 (ba78acc4)

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

SYMBOL_NAME: nv4_disp+2dcfa

MODULE_NAME: nv4_disp

IMAGE_NAME: nv4_disp.dll

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 3d94e7c9

STACK_COMMAND: .trap ffffffffba0efaf8 ; kb

BUCKET_ID: 0x50_W_nv4_disp+2dcfa

Followup: MachineOwner
---------
__________________

Last edited by Bloodgurgler; 12th December, 2002 at 03:21 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 06:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 22

Ok I have found another possibilty, and this one makes sense. All those symptoms I have been describing "Blue squares on corruption and then after a reboot the Bios screen is corrupted until I actually switch the PC off & back on"

Well it seems like hundreds of people are having the same problem with Gainward GF4 Ti4200 64MB cards, see link

Here

I am pretty sure this is my problem also, its to much of a coincidence. Look like I won't be buying Gainward again!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 06:45 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Damn, I'm sorry your answer turned out to be...Such a bummer!
Can Gainward make it right with a BIOS update?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 22

No its a faulty capicitor or regulator on the cards aparantly, they are offering to fix them for free in the US if you send them direct to Gainward; I'm in the UK so no free fix for me.

I have read on various message boards that the cards are coming back with the same fault in some cases though, so I am reluctant to go through this through a third party retailer.

I'm going to try and get Komplett to trade the card for a MSI TI4200 128MB. I just hope they can find the random fault that its got, otherwise I'll be stuck with £100+ worth of junk!

My other worry is that its still my system with the problem & I'll end up with 2 VGA cards that I still can't use. But without another hi-spec VGA card to test with I don't really have any choice.

Thanks all, and wish me luck
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 07:17 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

It REALLY pisses me off that a company can sell international, then hide behind borders when it comes to warranties, should be illegal !You paid for the thing, they got the money, they should have to treat all customers the same!

And Yes! The very best of luck!!

Look if that doesn't work out and you think it will work send me the card, I'll process it for you and send it back. Unless they have a way of knowing where it was sold?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 12th December, 2002 at 07:19 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 04:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 22

Well I am talking via e-mail with the German office of Gainward at the moment and hoping they can repair it, my reseller won't give me a refund only an exchange (they are getting reported to trading standards).

I would rather have the repaired one knowing it should be ok, than a brand new one with the possibilty of it having the same problem.

Thanks for the kind offer Daniel, I hope it won't come to having to send in to the US.

Its just lucky I had a spare card to use in my current PC, I can hardly afford £100 for another with Xmas and all.

Thanks again,

Tim
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 05:34 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Bloodgurgler
Ok I have found another possibilty, and this one makes sense. All those symptoms I have been describing "Blue squares on corruption and then after a reboot the Bios screen is corrupted until I actually switch the PC off & back on"
Interesting.. I wonder if this might be related to the little problem with exploding capacitors a little while ago, or just poor quality components.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing graphic? Favu Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 3 13th February, 2007 02:26 PM
Graphic artists look here! Allan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 11 16th March, 2004 02:36 PM
W2k Crashes with Graphic Corruption Bloodgurgler CRASHED! 10 12th December, 2002 01:06 PM
2.11 For Graphic Version Is Out Southern Man ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 1 26th October, 2001 10:32 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0