AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 08:05 AM
Kris's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 554

$h|T.... I'm Screwed!!!

Was installing nVidia drivers, when Win 2K asked me to reboot.. I did so and get a bluescreen "can't access boot device"...

I gives me some advice about running chkdisk... tried it... no good... tried an Emergency Repair... no good...

am I as screwed as I think?????
__________________
Kris

Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
the existence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 08:23 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

are you using a raid/scsi controller?
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 08:44 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

go thru repair and hit f6 to reinstall the highpoint/scsi/whatever other 3rd party controller you have if you have one.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 03:11 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I ran into a similar problem. bottom line is I don't think the rescue function does anything useful. After many hours trying to restore, I finally broke down, formatted and started over. I don't have much tolerance for MS functions.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 03:37 PM
Kris's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 554

No controller or RAID, just IDE drives that seem OK...

Rather than dual boot, I use the BIOS to boot from an entirley different harddrive into 98SE... no problems... and I can access files stored on the harddrive that Wn 2K can't boot from...
__________________
Kris

Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
the existence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 07:21 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

If memory serves me correctly, you could only have gotten that config, if you loaded win2k first and then win 98. If you load win98 first, when win2k detects win98, it automatically sets up a boot menu so you don't have to go into your bios all the time. (sounds like a pain)

The best way to fix it would be either wipe out the win2k partition or reinstall win2k over it. Set your bios to boot from CD, and use the win2k install CD to boot. Win2k will detect existing OS's and after install should give you a menu to select either at boot up...

Once the install is complete, set your win2k drive as the 1st boot option, and you should now get a menu every time.

Come on, get that box folding again!!!
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 15th November, 2001 at 07:25 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 08:33 PM
Kris's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 554

Steve...

It is a little different... because I have each OS installed on a different drive & I use my BIOS to specify the disk to boot from--so in WIN98 the "C" drive is physically a different drive than the "C" drive in WIN2K....

It is an "odd" set of circumstances that lead to this configuration... and once I am satisfied with WIN 2K.. which i am... I planned to remove 98SE completely from my box... which I am going to do next week...
__________________
Kris

Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
the existence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 08:58 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by Kris
Steve...

It is a little different... because I have each OS installed on a different drive & I use my BIOS to specify the disk to boot from--so in WIN98 the "C" drive is physically a different drive than the "C" drive in WIN2K....

It is an "odd" set of circumstances that lead to this configuration... and once I am satisfied with WIN 2K.. which i am... I planned to remove 98SE completely from my box... which I am going to do next week...
ah. never done that before. so you don't run a highpoint controller?
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 11:07 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by Kris
Steve...

It is a little different... because I have each OS installed on a different drive & I use my BIOS to specify the disk to boot from--so in WIN98 the "C" drive is physically a different drive than the "C" drive in WIN2K....

It is an "odd" set of circumstances that lead to this configuration... and once I am satisfied with WIN 2K.. which i am... I planned to remove 98SE completely from my box... which I am going to do next week...
I understand. When you install win2k, be careful then. Since you no longer intend to dual boot (get rid of win98), make sure the win2k installer cannot detect the win98 OS. If you want the safety net (temporarily), unplug the power for that drive prior to installing Win2K. If it does detect win98, it will attempt to load & configure the boot menu, and may give you odd drive letters in the process.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 02:57 AM
Kris's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 554

Might be some of what happened last night that torched my OS... I am happliy installing WIN 2K again.... shame though, since I will be rebuilding the sytem over Thanksgiving & starting from scratch...
__________________
Kris

Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
the existence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 03:07 AM
Winkie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 987
Send a message via ICQ to Winkie Send a message via AIM to Winkie Send a message via Yahoo to Winkie

Just out of interest.. you couldnt use the last known good config?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 03:23 AM
Kris's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 554

Nope... didn't like it... was just doing some thinking & perhaps I installed the VIA 4in1 wrong...

Anyway reinstall seems to be going well *fingers crossed*
__________________
Kris

Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
the existence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 03:26 AM
Winkie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 987
Send a message via ICQ to Winkie Send a message via AIM to Winkie Send a message via Yahoo to Winkie

Fairy snuff, I always install 4in1s first, before everything and anything
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 03:38 AM
Kris's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 554

Yes... t'was silly of me... but the hour was late & I was playing

BTW, I am on the WIN 2K...
__________________
Kris

Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
the existence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 03:46 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

I try and stay away from the IRQ miniport in the 4in1 unless its actin silly
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 03:55 AM
Winkie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 987
Send a message via ICQ to Winkie Send a message via AIM to Winkie Send a message via Yahoo to Winkie

Quote:
Originally posted by Kris
Yes... t'was silly of me... but the hour was late & I was playing

BTW, I am on the WIN 2K...

Congrats @ win2k, i'm also on my win2k box, slaving over a very annoying webpage (a friend did it, but did it badly, so i'm fixing it into a usable and cross-browser compatable format and it's killing me)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 04:04 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I have a problem with leaving things alone. I always tweak until I bring everything to a grinding halt . Now I always make 2 HDD/partitions per PC, and always ghost right after I've installed the basics. This way if I can't fix something, I can always retrieve the ghost image quickly. Since you use 2 drives, having an known good image could come in handy.

BTW, is w2k folding yet?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 05:10 AM
Kris's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 554

Yep.. installed the OS... the LAN.. then Folding... in that exact order

Now I just gotta install email & a couple other goodies
__________________
Kris

Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
the existence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 05:16 AM
Kris's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 554

BTW, I did just get a copy of Systemworks 2001... when I get the new system up next week I WILL keep a known good image on hand... nice to have bootable CD too...

Better get all my drivers installed... LOL
__________________
Kris

Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
the existence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2001, 07:19 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

Quote:
BTW, I did just get a copy of Systemworks 2001... when I get the new system up next week I WILL keep a known good image on hand... nice to have bootable CD too...
Systemworks saved my ass once too. This is pathetic, but what I did was:

After I began having problems in Winblows ME, I reloaded the machine with 2K PRO. When I loaded 2K, I thought... what the hell, lets go for that NTFS file system... sounds good to me.

Well, when I decided that 2K was behaving even worse, I booted to a the ME floppy, ready to give ME another go.

I had to format the hard drive, because ME doesn't read NTFS. A:\ FORMAT C:

Figured it out yet?

Well, the ME disc didn't see the "C" partition, because it was NTFS. I was actually formatting my "D" partition, which is where I kept my "not backed up in over 2 yrs." 9 gig MP3 collection. GONE, alll GONE. 2500+ songs... countless hours of hacking stupid college kids' computers and swiping their whole collection... GONE.. The only way I could possibly get any of them back would be to call my evil ^$%&* ex-fiance`. She had the last backup, which was only 1500 songs or so.

I got lucky, though... systemworks can undo a FULL FORMAT. Now that is godlike power. *L*
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD

Last edited by Azriel; 17th November, 2001 at 07:27 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
We're screwed. cloasters Random Nonsense! 14 2nd October, 2006 04:10 AM
am i screwed? barneygumble742 AOA's Community Support 1 19th July, 2006 07:17 AM
...darn in screwed... Invalid AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 9th January, 2003 04:59 PM
Screwed up BIOS!!! Kpax EPoX MotherBoards 2 9th May, 2002 11:07 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0