AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2003, 12:27 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Everything was going well.....

My system had been on for about 4 days continuously downloading some stuff. This morning it had finished, so I turned it off and went to work. When I turned it on I got a win.sys.config file mising error...restart with your XP disc...press r.....
Well I had to reinstall XP all over again, luckily most of my data is on another partition, so I still have it.

Here is my question. My "new" C/Programs folder is empty. My C partition is 10GB, but Win says that I've only got 3.6GB left! If I use Win Explorer and explore "C" I find that all my old files and programs are still there, in the old C/Programs folder??

I thought reinstalling would have formatted the drive. Anyway, is there anyway that I can get the old C/Programs folder into the new one? Or do I have to format C completely and begin afresh?

Thanks!
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2003, 01:15 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

First guess, run a virus scan!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2003, 04:07 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

when you reinstaled, there were a few menu options, repair, instal in diff dir, remormat...

you can'y use the programs from the previous install, so refomat, and start over so you get your old programs back.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2003, 08:08 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Thanks for the replies.
When re-installing I chose to repair. It did what looked and seemed like a new install. Except that my new C/Programs folder is empty (only has the default stuff in it) and if I use Windows Explorer I can navigate to C/Programs, and find all my old apps in there! The question is, is it possible to get the old Prgrams folder back into the new one as it should be? So that ->START->PROGRAMS-> will list all the programs installed in C:?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2003, 08:18 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Sorry, I think there must be, but I don't have a clue!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2003, 09:56 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by Lazgoat
.... The question is, is it possible to get the old Prgrams folder back into the new one as it should be? So that ->START->PROGRAMS-> will list all the programs installed in C:?
Unfortunately, the answer is no. The programs and groups on the start button are no more than shortcuts placed there by the programs.... that's the easy part. Windows has not registered each of these programs, and even if you manually went to the executables and ran them, in all likelihood you would end up with a ton of headeaches... back up your stuff... and reformat.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2003, 12:38 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Hi SteveI and Dan. I'm going in the process of backing up and I'll reinstall tomorrow.
SteveI, you said that Windows will not register the programs from the earlier install. Funnily enough they all work ok so far! I cant explain it. Thanks for the help though.

BTW where did you get that 22.9GHz CPU in your sig from?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2003, 02:50 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Ya know I remember when windows 3.1 would search out programs on your hard drive and install them.

But windows 95 would not, and non of the other OS's would.

I liked that feature, I just wish that they still had it.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2003, 02:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Quote:
Originally posted by Lazgoat

BTW where did you get that 22.9GHz CPU in your sig from?


That's a total number (he has several machines)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0