AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2003, 10:33 AM
w0x's Avatar
w0x w0x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 1

Unhappy What´s wrong with my 8RDA+? (Display says 6b)

Hi, first off all you´ll have to excuse my spelling. I´m not from an English-spoken country.

I´ve got following stuf:

Epox 8RDA+
2x TwinMOS PC2700 CAS 2.5
Amd Athlon XP 2000+ (Boxed with fan included)
Creative GF3 Ti200
SB Audigy 2
WD 120 GB 8mb Cache
Lite-ON 52x24x52x
Cheiftec miditower with 360 PSU

Here´s the problem:

When i start it, it runs ok in bios (Stable voltage and temp)
Then after a while all fans stops rotating and it beeps like this:

beep-BEEEP-beep-BEEEP

And the small display says 6b. It allso has issues to hold my memory settings, it sometime change to Auto timings and then the mobo thinks it´s a PC1600 CAS 2.0 memory, but if i change to By SPV or Expert, it´s normal again...

I realy need to get this computer to work as quickly as possible, or else im out of buisness... :devil:

Flashing the BIOS is not a great idea because it hangs all the time....

And yes, i´ve cleared the CMOS..


I´ll treat the one who helps me get the right fix with icecream
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 06:50 PM
Betty's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Port Alberni, B.C., Canada
Posts: 3,668
Send a message via ICQ to Betty Send a message via MSN to Betty

Have you checked the beep codes in your motherboard manual?

I don't have an epox board, so, I don't know if it actually tells you or not....

Have you checked the PSU? That's the only thing I can think of with the fans stopping.
__________________
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming... Boy, What a ride!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 07:35 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

How about temps?
The 8rda has temp safety features... if your CPU is too hot, AFAIK, it might shut the system down.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 09:43 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome to AOA, w0x!

Is the mainboard the only new component in this system?

If it is, it's possible that it's loading the power supply too much. nForce and nForce2 motherboards are power hogs.

Have you found what "6b" means?

If you live in a hot weather part of the world, the heatsink and fan that came with your Retail Boxed XP 2000+ may not be quite enough cooling. AMD's heatsink is OK, but the fan is too weak, IMHO--- even for Canada.

Is your "screen name" spelled w, Upper case "O" x? Or, w,"Zero," x? I'm just asking.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 11:29 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

There is not a 6b in the manual, there is 6h but it shows as reserved which doesnt help much.

The default for thermal shutdown is disabled. Have you enabled it and set it too low? If the machine is running for a while and then shutting down I would go with CPU overheating. Check out section 4-7 of the manual.

When it powers down like that it seems to automatically reset the FSB to 100 , hence the PC1600.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new 8rda+ bios has gone wrong, any ideas? JamesUK CRASHED! 8 4th May, 2003 06:52 PM
No display when installing my realmagic xcard on my 8rda+! Epox support has no idea oqvist EPoX MotherBoards 15 28th January, 2003 11:48 PM
Notebook Display to VGA?Possible? Bergfuerst Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 21st January, 2003 06:10 PM
LCD display loop Case Modifications 1 1st September, 2002 02:34 AM
LCD Display AvACore Case Modifications 5 13th June, 2002 05:47 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0