AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 23rd February, 2003, 06:50 AM

No Post No post

Ok so here is my tale of woa.
First off Ive been OCing and building rigs for several yrs so I'm no noob. This is kinda long but I think all the info is needed.
My wifes rig is the topic here specs are
ECS K7S5A and K7S5A pro (bought today), 1 gig duron and a 1600 palimino, 512 mg pc2100 and 256 pc2100, radeon 8500 and a gf3ti200, maxtor 20 gig 7200 and a maxtor 40 gig 7200, enhance 300w psu, asus 32x12x40/sony 16x dvd or 44x generic cdrom and a floppy.

I list two item because I have gone through this much stuff trying to get this going. So heres the tale,
This rig starts acting up (video problems) so I replaced the vid card. A AIW128pro to a radeon 8500. bought from a trusted source on forum. Things seem to be ok for about a week then the wifes calls me into the room to see a message at boot up. Message stated something about a windows file not loading correctly and she said the cdrom drives were flashing and would not stop. SO I pop in the handy win98 disk and install windows over the existing install. The install completed fine with no problems and the error message was gone. Cd-roms seemed to be ok.